Wyoming Motorcycle Insurance
Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Wyoming
No matter where you drive in the state of Wyoming, it is important to have the right insurance coverage. Motorcycle insurance protects owners if there is ever an accident. But it does more than that. Adequate coverage gives policyholders peace of mind that no matter what unexpected situation may arise, such as theft, vandalism, or damages due to weather, they are financially protected. Imagine having no coverage and being forced to pay out of pocket for repairs, medical expenses, or total replacement of your vehicle. These scenarios should be enough to convince even the most hardened skeptic of the value of motorcycle insurance. Wyoming requires that all motorcycle owners purchase and maintain a minimum amount of liability coverage to legally drive within the state. Don’t risk the serious consequences of driving without proper insurance. The penalties are just too great.
Motorcycle Riding in Wyoming
A motorcycle is described by the Wyoming Legislative Service Office as follows:
- Any motor vehicle with a saddle or seat where the rider can straddle and traveling with a maximum of three wheels touching the ground
- This excludes off-road recreation vehicles except when the recreational motor vehicle for off-road use is ridden astride and is designed for the sole purpose of traveling on four wheels
To legally operate a motorcycle in Wyoming, a Class M license is required. The Class M designation allows the driver to operate a motorcycle or motorized three-wheeled tricycle. Other license classifications such as Class A, B, or C licenses can be endorsed with the Class M classification. If the applicant is 15 years old, only an instructional permit with restricted use will be issued. This allows the applicant to operate a motorcycle provided all other requirements are met.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of Identification
- Payment of Fees
- Written motorcycle knowledge test
- On-cycle road skills test
- Screening test for vision
- Parental permission (if younger than 18)
Successful completion of a state approved Basic Rider Course developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation will enable an individual to waive all tests for a motorcycle operator’s license for a period of two years from the date of completion. To enroll, students must be at least 15 years old and have written parental consent.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Wyoming
Liability motorcycle insurance is a requirement in the state of Wyoming. The minimum coverage amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
- $20,000 for property damage in one accident
There are two others ways to fulfill these requirements besides purchasing liability coverage from state-licensed insurance companies. These are:
- A Liability Bond
- A Deposit of Cash or Securities
Motorcycle operators must carry proof of insurance at all times when driving their vehicles. If you are stopped for any reason by a law enforcement officer and are unable to provide proof of insurance coverage, you may be hit with a hefty fine. If you are found guilty of driving without the proper insurance coverage, you could be sentenced to jail.