Rhode Island Motorcycle Insurance
Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Rhode Island
Many people think motorcycle insurance is a waste of money and just isn’t that important. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, to legally operate a motorcycle in the state of Rhode Island you MUST carry at least the required minimum amount of liability coverage. This is for your protection as well as for the safety of the general public. Motorcycle insurance offers policyholders financial protection in the event of an accident. But it also covers the owner if the motorcycle is ever lost, stolen or damaged. Motorcycles, by design, are lightweight and relatively small- making them easy targets for thieves and vandals. Having adequate insurance can save you needless worry. It also lessens the risk of a financial disaster if you are ever involved in a serious accident. Motorcycle insurance is a real bargain when you consider the alternatives.
Motorcycle Riding in Rhode Island
Rhode Island state law defines a motorcycle as a motor vehicle with no more than three wheels touching the ground and equipped with a saddle for the driver to sit astride (excluding motorized bicycles).In Rhode Island, applicants who wish to operate a motorcycle will need to secure an (H) restriction on their operator’s license or add it to their existing commercial driver’s license. In order to attain this endorsement, applicants must be at least 16 years old and pass a motorcycle driving course prior to applying for a motorcycle permit. If the applicant is under 18, parental consent is also necessary. Once a permit is received, the applicant must hold it for 30 days before applying for a full license endorsement.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- At least 16 years of age. Need parent’s consent if younger than 18
- Motorcycle safety certificate from Community College of Rhode Island
- LI-1 form
- Commercial driver’s license or a valid Rhode Island operator’s license
- $26.50 License Fee
- Written, Visual and Road Skills Examinations
Rhode Island recognizes endorsements issued by other states. There is no need for a motorcycle license holder in another state to retake any examinations or enroll in an additional educational course for riders in Rhode Island. The applicant can request that the endorsement be transferred to their Rhode Island driver’s license immediately.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Rhode Island
Liability motorcycle insurance is a requirement in the state of Rhode Island. The minimum coverage amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
- $25,000 for property damage in one accident.
Proof of financial responsibility is a pre-requisite prior to vehicle registration in Rhode Island. This proof must be carried by the rider at all times while operating the vehicle. Methods, other than insurance, of proving financial responsibility in Rhode Island include:
- A Liability Bond
- A Deposit of not less than $60,000 in cash or securities