New Hampshire Motorcycle Insurance
Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in New Hampshire
Many people think motorcycle insurance is a waste of money and just isn’t that important. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, to legally operate a motorcycle in the state of New Hampshire you MUST carry at least the required minimum amount of liability coverage. This is for your protection as well as for the safety of the general public. Motorcycle insurance offers policyholders financial protection in the event of an accident. But it also covers the owner if the motorcycle is ever lost, stolen or damaged. Motorcycles, by design, are lightweight and relatively small- making them easy targets for thieves and vandals. Having adequate insurance can save you needless worry. It also lessens the risk of a financial disaster if you are ever involved in a serious accident. Motorcycle insurance is a real bargain when you consider the alternatives.
Motorcycle Riding in New Hampshire
Anyone who has a valid New Hampshire driver’s license is eligible to get a motorcycle endorsement. Individuals without a New Hampshire driver’s license may obtain a Special Motorcycle License instead. New Hampshire law requires any applicants between the ages of 16 to 18 years old to complete the state conducted Motorcycle Rider Training Course with their parent or guardian’s consent. Individuals 18 years and older can either complete a Rider Training Course or pass the written and motorcycle road tests at a DMV testing location in order to legally operate a motorcycle in New Hampshire. The state of New Hampshire also recognizes endorsements issued by other states.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of Identity and Residence
- Passing score on the written knowledge test
- Passing an on-cycle road skills test
- Applicable Fees ($30 for learner’s permit)
Successful completion of the Motorcycle Rider Training Course allows an applicant to waive the written and skills tests. This course must have a curriculum which was developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. If an applicant waives the aforementioned tests, he or she must still comply with the other requirements needed for a motorcycle permit.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in New Hampshire
Motorcycle owners are required to purchase and maintain liability insurance coverage. New Hampshire sets the same minimum amounts for motorcycle owners as it does for automobile owners. These amounts are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
- $25,000 for property damage in one accident
Drivers must keep proof of motorcycle insurance coverage in their vehicles at all times. This document must be shown to any law enforcement officer upon request. If you are found to be driving without the proper insurance, your license may be revoked and you could possibly be fined and sentenced to jail. It’s not worth the risk. Make sure you have comprehensive coverage when driving your motorcycle and obey the safety rules and regulations. They are in place for your protection.
- New Durham
- New London
- North Conway
- North Hampton
- West Lebanon