Nevada Motorcycle Insurance
Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Nevada
Most people don’t give much thought to their insurance coverage until something happens and they need to file a claim. Motorcycle owners are required by the state of Nevada to carry adequate liability coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle on the road. It’s important to remember that this is for your protection. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance also protects you in case your vehicle is damaged or stolen. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. You may want to look into other types of coverage such as medical payments, no-fault or personal injury protection, and property damage liability.
Motorcycle Riding in Nevada
A Class M license is required to operate a motorcycle in Nevada. An individual may receive an instructional permit at the age of 15.5 years. However, to receive a full motorcycle license, an applicant must be at least 16 years old. Nevada allows transferring of motorcycle endorsements and Class M licenses from other states. For new applicants there are only two options. First, an individual must complete an approved motorcycle driving course from a third party provider. Then he or she must pass the knowledge and skills test conducted locally by the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) Office.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Application form from DMV Office
- Proof of Identity and Residence
- Must pass both Vision and Knowledge Tests
- Must pass Motorcycle Operators Skill Test
- Parent or Guardian is required to sign the statement of financial responsibility on the application form at the DMV Office, in person (if the applicant is under 18 years old)
- $25 Examination Fee
Applicants who complete a Nevada Rider Program sponsored by the Office of Traffic Safety and certified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation will not be required to take the written and skills tests. The Certificate of Completion and a valid Nevada driver’s license are sufficient to obtain a new license that has a Class M designation. Additional examinations are not required.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nevada
All motorcyclists are required to have adequate liability insurance when operating a vehicle within the state of Nevada. The following amounts are the minimum as required by law. You may want to consider purchasing higher amounts, depending on your situation and budget.
- $15,000 for bodily injury of one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
- $10,000 for property damage in one accident