Nebraska Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Nebraska
Like many states, Nebraska uses the ‘tort’ system of insurance. If you are a resident of Nebraska and own a motorcycle, you should become familiar with this type of insurance system. The tort system simply means that when a collision occurs, the proper authorities determine which party is “at fault” in an accident. The party identified as “at fault” is responsible for paying all accident-related medical expenses incurred by the other individuals. This also includes any property damage. Traditional liability insurance is what most people purchase to protect themselves from this type of situation. Without the proper coverage, the person found responsible for an accident can face overwhelming medical and property damage expenses. Don’t risk financial ruin by driving without adequate liability coverage. It’s just not worth it!

Motorcycle Riding in Nebraska
A motorcycle is defined by Nebraska state law as a motor vehicle with a seat or saddle for the rider which is designed to move with no more than three wheels touching the ground. This definition excludes tractors. Drivers must hold a Class M license to legally operate a three-wheeled motor vehicle or motorcycle in Nebraska.

To be eligible for a Nebraska motorcycle license, a driver must be at least 18 years old. Individuals who are at least 17 years of age may still apply for a license as long as they have held a provisional operator’s permit (POP) for a period of one year or longer. They also must not have accumulated more than three points during this time period.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification and Residence
  • Successful completion of tests: Vision, Knowledge, On-motorcycle skills test
  • Payment of Fees

For those individuals who complete a motorcycle safety training class approved by the state of Nebraska, the motorcycle written and road skills tests will be waived.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nebraska
Riders may choose to get their liability insurance with a car insurance provider that insures motorcyclists as well. Another alternative is to pick an insurance company that specializes only in motorcycle insurance. If you insure two vehicles with the same company, be sure to ask about available discounts.

Nebraska requires all motorcycle owners to purchase and maintain liability insurance to legally operate their vehicles. You must carry at least these minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

Motorcycle drivers in Nebraska must also carry proof of insurance when operating their vehicles at all times. The consequences of driving without proper insurance coverage are severe: heavy fines and penalties, imprisonment, and in some instances, the suspension of driving privileges.