Iowa Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Iowa
The number of motorcycle enthusiasts is increasing every year. Today, riding motorcycles is a popular hobby for people all across the country. Unfortunately, this increase in the number of motorcycle drivers has coincided with an alarming rise in the fatality rate among Iowa motorcyclists. This rate doubled during the period of 1997 to 2004 from 22.73 to 39.89 per million miles traveled.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration of Iowa, motorcycle drivers are 35 times more likely to be killed in accidents during their first year of owning their vehicles than are automobile drivers. Moreover, statistical data have shown that almost 100 Iowans die each year and hundreds more are seriously injured due to motorcycle accidents. Having adequate insurance is an important way to protect both you and your assets in the event you are involved in an accident or become a victim of theft or vandalism.

Motorcycle Riding in Iowa
It is relatively easy to obtain a motorcycle license in Iowa. As long as you are at least 16 years old and have a current driver’s license all that is required is to pay the $2 fee and take the motorcycle operator’s examination. This consists of both a written and road skills test. However, if you need more time to practice your driving skills the state of Iowa also can issue a motorcycle permit which enables you to ride with other licensed drivers. To obtain a motorcycle instructional permit (C), simply pass the written knowledge test and pay an $8 fee.

Motorcycle operators aged 14 to 17 who hold a motorcycle instruction permit (C) may legally drive, provided they are accompanied by:

  1. An immediate family member who is at least 21 years old
  2. A licensed parent or guardian with a motorcycle endorsement
  3. A licensed adult who is at least 25 years old with a valid motorcycle endorsement and written consent from the parent or guardian

A parent or guardian’s consent is not required if the driver is already 18 years old. Motorcycles with sidecars are described as three-wheeled vehicles and they require a separate test and a different license classification in Iowa. Other types of motorcycles recognized by Iowa are mopeds and scooters.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Application form and fee ($2 with a driver’s license, $14 without driver’s license)
  • Motorcycle operator’s examination (written and skills)
  • Motorcycle Instructional Permit

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Iowa
Iowa law mandates that all motorcycle owners purchase and maintain liability insurance. The minimum amounts required are:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury of one person.
  • $40,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties.
  • $15,000 for property damage in one accident.