Connecticut Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Connecticut
Most people don’t give much thought to their insurance coverage until something happens and they need to file a claim. Motorcycle owners are required by the state of Connecticut to carry adequate liability coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle on the road. It’s important to remember that this is for your protection. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance also protects you in case your vehicle is damaged or stolen. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. You may want to look into other types of coverage such as medical payments, no-fault or personal injury protection, and property damage liability.

Riding Motorcycles in Connecticut
In the state of Connecticut, an individual must already have a valid regular driver’s license before they can apply for a motorcycle license. The reason for this is that the motorcycle license is actually a class M endorsement to the regular driver’s license. Although not required, the state of Connecticut encourages any prospective motorcycle driver who is at least 16 years old to apply for a learner’s permit first. This optional step allows the novice driver to practice operating a motorcycle on Connecticut highways legally.

Learner’s permit requirements include a vision and knowledge test and payment of a fee.

Motorcycle License Requirements are:

  • Valid regular driver’s license
  • Notarized parental consent certificate (if under 18)
  • Application with $40 fee
  • Vision and Motorcycle knowledge exam
  • Motorcycle safety course

Connecticut Insurance Requirements
All motorcyclists are required to have adequate liability insurance when operating a vehicle within the state of Connecticut. The following amounts are the minimum as required by law. You may want to consider purchasing higher amounts, depending on your situation and budget.

  • $20,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Drivers must keep proof of motorcycle insurance coverage in their vehicles at all times. This document must be shown to any law enforcement officer upon request. If you are found to be driving without the proper insurance, your license may be revoked and you could possibly be fined and sentenced to jail. It’s not worth the risk. Make sure you have comprehensive coverage when driving your motorcycle and obey the safety rules and regulations. They are in place for your protection.

Connecticut Motorcycle-specific Laws:
In Connecticut, a motorcyclist should follow all state-specific motorcycle laws. This is for the driver’s protection as well as the public at large. Some of these laws are listed below:

  • Minors must wear approved safety helmets.
  • Motorcyclists must wear eye protection unless there is a windscreen.
  • Use daytime headlights for all motorcycles made after 1980.
  • Passenger seats and footrests are required when carrying a passenger.
  • At least one side mirror is required.
  • Obey sound restrictions.
  • Handlebars above shoulder height are not permitted.
  • Two motorcycles can share one lane.
  • Overtaking another vehicle in the same lane is prohibited.

Do some research and compare rates online from multiple low-cost Connecticut insurance providers before purchasing motorcycle insurance. This will allow you to get the legal coverage you need at a price you can afford.