USAA is a registered trademark of USAA and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

USAA

United Services Automobile Association (USAA) is a dedicated fully to the business of auto insurance, which shall guide you on how to save money in the business of autoinsurance. It was in the year 1922, that 25 officers of the army took a decision to insure one another vehicles, and slowly in this way became a fully integrated financial service company of the United States. We have always remained true to the founding values, of service loyalty as well as integrity. Since we are not a public traded company, we are not answerable to our stockholders, but only to our members. Most of our members rely on our product and services, in order to meet the financial needs. The privilege of membership can be handed down to the children and grandchildren.

USAA Ratings

  • 2.6
    coverage
  • 2.6
    cost
  • 2.1
    service
  • 2.0
    claims
  • 2.3
    overall rating

Based on 175 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

The following people are eligible to join as member:
• National Guard and Selected Reserve Officers.
• Officer candidates in the commissioning programs ((Academy, ROTC, and OCS/OTS).
• There are former spouses and adult children of USAA members.

Superior products and services
We provide more than 50 products and services for all our customers. We are also committed to provide excellent kinds of products and services. We have many credit cards that are highly competitive, that includes auto, home and personal loans, in this way we can eliminate the services of a branch. It has been observed that since 80 years, there are many military servicemen, who have turned their services to the USAA.This is mainly due to the excellent services that we provide to our members. We have been highly successful in all our endeavors, and that has been mainly due to precious employee resources. We seek to provide world-class benefits and also top rated training facilities to most of our employees that helps us to support and successfully manage work as well as personal life. There are many services and facilities that are provided by us, that includes excellent online facilities, along with financial services and planning from the certified products.

Click here to submit your review.

USAA

Rating 0
    cancel

Best Customer Service

Aug 23, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have several accounts with USAA: car insurance, renters insurance, credit card, investment advice, etc. In each of these accounts I have had a few reasons to call the customer service line and EVERY time, the experience has been wonderful. I always dread making the 1-800 call to any company, but with USAA, I know It's going to be a painless experience. The representatives are EXTREMELY patient, friendly and knowledgable. Best of all, they understand that every caller is on a busy schedule and do their best to make sure the call goes quickly. It is truly a pleasure to call USAA and get their help!


Hail Claim Denied

Aug 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My son had a fender bender in which USAA paid $5,000 for repairs. About a month later, the car was in a bad hail storm. This hail storm was one of the worst in Colorado history, but USAA said the car was beaten with a blunt object, NOT hail. We have been treated like criminals by the USAA investigator and they are not going to pay for the hail damage AND are threatening to cancel our insurance. After being members for around 25 years and never having had any problems, we are very disappointed.


Great!

Jul 27, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I may have made few good decisions in my life and one of them was insuring my auto and home (and banking) with USAA. Their rates beat the competition by a large factor. Their attendant service is immediate and complimentary. They adjudicate and honor claims fairly and swiftly.


They Are Awesome

Jun 30, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Whenever I have an issue I angrily pick up the phone and call them. 15 minutes later I hang up, with the issue resolved, and I'm in a pleasant mood.


NOT The Company They Once Were

Jun 07, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Our car was pounded by huge hail that came through our town. I immediately online registered a claim and they sent an adjuster out. I had a check three days later, but they gave me a pittance and have ignored my repeated calls since then. The problem was that not only was the hood bombed, the windshield cracked (these were fixed) but the metal strip/gasket along one of the side windows was damaged and now my door is full of water from subsequent rains. They are sure helpful in the 23 years of my making payments to them but try and get a supervisor to call you back.


Low-Ball Total Loss Estimate

Jun 01, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

USAA failed to pay fair value for a total loss car accident claim regardless of substantial factual data showing the correct value. This low ball tactic is a reprehensible practice to the many military families that pay their premiums. The only way to stop this practice and ensure you are not the victim of their policy is to cancel your coverage and protect yourself by getting a policy from a "real" insurance company.


Refuse Any Coverage After 1 Claim

May 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had insurance with USAA years ago. Our boat was stolen and USAA paid the claim. I now find out that I have been DENIED any further coverage through USAA because my husband "misrepresented" the claim. HUH? They basically will never insure me again - even 20 years later because they had to pay a valid claim.


No Breaks For The Unemployed

May 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was a 24 year customer of USAA when they cancelled my auto policy after I told them I lost my job. I was never told that I needed to pay my balance in full before it would be cancelled regardless of the long time I have been a customer. I was thrown to the curb with no attempt on their part to work things out. Heck my car company of 2 years was willing to work with me and so did everyone else when I lost my job.


Nightmare Claims Process

Apr 16, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My family was involved in an accident with a USAA insured member. Police cited her at the scene for careless driving, automatically deeming her at fault. We were contacted by USAA, who tried every angle to get us to admit some sort of fault, until we faxed them a copy of the police report. A week after the accident, they set us up with a rental car, since our car was totaled. That following Monday, a claims adjuster contacted us with a ridiculously low offer on the car. I'm talking 75% below its value. We couldn't buy a junker for the low amount they were offering. They told him that they were deducting money for the condition of the front tires (75% tread), a broken windshield (which broke in the accident) and other ridiculous things. My husband turned down the offer and requested that they reevaluate the value and contact him with something more reasonable. After hearing nothing from USAA we received a voicemail from the rental car company on Friday afternoon stating that we needed to bring the car back by 6pm as USAA had contacted them. My husband called them back and they said to hold onto the rental until Saturday morning as they were awaiting confirmation from USAA on an extension. We left several messages from the USAA rep regarding this matter with no response. Upon returning the rental, we are now being charged $75 as apparently the car was due back on Thursday. WTF? We are now without a car, need new car seats for our kids, reimbursement for the tow bill and their offer won't buy us a car, let alone cover the costs of our other losses. This morning USAA contacted my husband and became very rude when he couldn't provide a claim number since he was at work. He called them back with what we were originally told was the claim number and they had no record of our incident. After much hassle and attitude from USAA, it turns out they changed the claim number and refuse to negotiate their offer despite documentation that we have to prove out vehicle is worth more. Of course their paperwork states that the value is based on out zip code yet they are comparing our vehicle to ones in other states. Not to mention, USAA has knocked their values down by half. This is an absolute effing nightmare.


Too Expensive For A Good Driver!

Apr 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Fortunately, I have a clean driving record so I can't say much about dealing with a claim. Also, every time I've spoken to a representative, they've been as helpful as possible. My only complaint is the price. Every other agency has quoted me a much cheaper price, and all USAA can say is "Well...they may be cheaper...but we have better service." Since I have yet to experience that service...I'm just paying more, period.


Insurance USA , USA 7.4 127.0 175 175 A true victim is being treated like a criminal