United Health Care is a registered trademark of United Health Care and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

United Health Care

For over thirty years, United Health Care has been providing strong, high-quality, cost effective healthcare coverage. The company works closely with groups as well as individuals to offers a vast, comprehensive array of options to choose from. They also offer the convenience of online tools, which are designed to allow members to administer their accounts quickly and easily.

United Health Care Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.7
    cost
  • 1.0
    service
  • 1.0
    claims
  • 1.3
    overall rating

Based on 131 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

United Health Care works closely with its partner organization Uniprise, Inc. in order to attend to and serve over 18 million individual health insurance plans. They offer a large comprehensive network of over 550,000 physicians and nearly 5000 hospitals in every state as well as 4 international markets.

United Health Care works tirelessly to ensure their members receive the best healthcare at the most affordable prices. United Health Care has strived to build a high-quality system, which gives members access to healthcare programs and innovative services and products, thus improving the overall strength of the nation’s healthcare system.

United Health Care offers consumer-oriented health benefit plans and services, 24-hour support access, and streamlined online resources for consumers, employees, brokers, and physicians.Simpler processes, smarter solutions, and better results – that’s the promise of United Health Care, and that’s what theyto everyone that purchases their products and services.

Click here to submit your review.

United Health Care

Rating 0
    cancel

Nightmare

Jul 12, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have been trying to get a prescription filled for 2 weeks. After another HOUR on the phone, they tell me there is a misunderstanding between my doctor's office and the local pharmacy, that my prescription does NOT require pre-approval.


Loopholes Galore!

Jul 11, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Count on them trying to avoid payment in every possible situation where they can. They have given themselves loopholes and use them whenever they can. And don't bother appealing their claim determinations. It just gives them another opportunity to turn it down. It's not like the claim is reviewed by an outside source.


Poor Out-Of-Network Coverage

Jun 25, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Out-of-network is covered in the case of an emergency with my policy, but I had to highlight it and mail it in. I am still appealing this over a year later on the state level.


Difficult To Work With

Jun 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

You have to jump through hoops to get pre-certified for a procedure or test. If the doctor refuses to do the peer-to-peer you stuck trying to get them to go ahead and authorize.


Former Employee POV

Jun 08, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I worked for them and it was the worst job ever. We got no raises and no bonus. The big bosses keep it for themselves. When you contact HR, they do not have half a brain. Avoid getting a job here because they rip you off.


Poor Reimbursement To Providers

Jun 08, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

UHC's poor reimbursement rates to providers leaves members with the most uneducated providers to choose from. Just because your provider is on their list, doesn't mean they accept UnitedHealth care. The best providers are de-paneling because United pays them so poorly. Opt for an insurance company that takes care of their providers. The panel of providers is really what insurance companies are selling.


BAD Company

Jun 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

On paper this looks like a decent health insurance policy until you use it. Then their business model turns on you and denies your claims. Then you have to appeal while collection agencies go after you, threatening your credit rating. All the while, UMR takes It's sweet time to "look into" your appeal. don't believe them if they say you are covered for a procedure.


Slow Claim Processing

Jun 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I've had four new insurance cards in one month and they keep dropping our coverage. It's taken two months and I just got a response that my request for reimbursement was declined and I have to start the whole process over.


No Coverage For Diabetics

May 30, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I only had this health coverage for less then a year and they are terrible. Diabetics have to wait 1 year to get coverage as it is considered a pre-existing condition. They automatically turn all claims down and make you fight for what you pay for. They lose paper work, hang-up on you, and are down right BAD.


won't Pay For What Was Promised

May 29, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We were told twice on the phone that something could be covered. When the claim was filed, UHC refused to stand by what they had told us. They rejected the claim in spite of what they had said. Who can you trust?


Insurance USA , USA 6.0 127.0 131 131 I started the process of joining UHC in January and still do not have an ID card, cannot get any information or talk to the same person twice. They have no problems cashing my che