United Health Care is a registered trademark of United Health Care and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

United Health Care

For over thirty years, United Health Care has been providing strong, high-quality, cost effective healthcare coverage. The company works closely with groups as well as individuals to offers a vast, comprehensive array of options to choose from. They also offer the convenience of online tools, which are designed to allow members to administer their accounts quickly and easily.

United Health Care Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.7
    cost
  • 1.0
    service
  • 1.0
    claims
  • 1.3
    overall rating

Based on 131 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

United Health Care works closely with its partner organization Uniprise, Inc. in order to attend to and serve over 18 million individual health insurance plans. They offer a large comprehensive network of over 550,000 physicians and nearly 5000 hospitals in every state as well as 4 international markets.

United Health Care works tirelessly to ensure their members receive the best healthcare at the most affordable prices. United Health Care has strived to build a high-quality system, which gives members access to healthcare programs and innovative services and products, thus improving the overall strength of the nation’s healthcare system.

United Health Care offers consumer-oriented health benefit plans and services, 24-hour support access, and streamlined online resources for consumers, employees, brokers, and physicians.Simpler processes, smarter solutions, and better results – that’s the promise of United Health Care, and that’s what theyto everyone that purchases their products and services.

Click here to submit your review.

United Health Care

Rating 0
    cancel

Employee's POV

Nov 08, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

UHC has self-funded plans. "Self-funded" means that your employer decided on the medical benefits. UHC just administers them. If you don't like what your plan covers, call your HR department. They are the ones who make the decisions.


Nothing is Covered

Oct 11, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was satisfied with our insurance coverage via UHC until this year - when suddenly, without us making any changes to our plan, and without any notification - we start getting bills for things which were covered in previous years (even though we've used the same doctors, had the same tests, etc.). We find out we all (my husband, me, and our infant daughter) have LARGE deductibles out of the blue this year (and we're not paying any less plan-wise). Okay, distressing enough, but we deal with it, we figure times are rough for everyone. However, add to that we get a bill, pay it, and THEN, a month or two later, are sent ANOTHER bill for "adjustments" to the previous bill, which we had thought were all settled with our previous payment. Some of these "adjustments" are quite large, while others are in the realm of $8-$11, with no explanation. Okay, we figure, whatever, that isn't a huge deal, even if it IS quite annoying to think a bill has been settled and then get hit with ANOTHER charge. Then I show up for a doctor-prescribed test that I've had before with no problems, and I am told I can't have the test because UHC hasn't approved it. They've started requiring pre-approval ahead of time for standard tests that didn't require it before. At that point I began to lose patience.


Uncaring

Oct 09, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This company does everything they can to not have to pay for medicine. My husband has Rheumatoid Arthritis. He has painful joint damage, especially in his hips. He takes Ebrel, an expensive, injected medicine. Without it, he has difficulty moving and is in constant pain. Every month when he tries to reorder, United Health Care puts up so many barriers that he often has to go without his medicine for several weeks. United Health Care has done everything they can to get out of paying for his medicine.


Not Bad

Oct 08, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had issues with this company, but nothing like everyone else. Yes, the price is a bit high and it does get raised, but when it comes to approved surgeries or procedures I have had no problems with some getting approved on the same day (MRI). Every once in a while for some reason (sometimes I think to just test people to see if they will pay it out) they will claim something is out-of-network even though it is in-network and try and get me to pay the entire cost (out of network for me means I pay 100%). In general the people I talk too are willing to work with you with a few having issues (bad day's for them too). It seems to me that their customer service is in the USA and if not the people I talk too speak better English than many people here in the states. I am not sure if the negativity is due to individual coverage or through medicare as mine is through my work. However, my mother who I go over her medical bills has had not issue with them either and has only had to pay for one item through a few surgeries (knee surgery at 88) and that was a transfer from hospital to rehab center.


Poor Customer Service

Sep 09, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

When I call instead of just being put on hold they often have the recording say to call back later in the week! I'm usually on hold for 10 minutes before they can get me to someone who can't answer my questions. I find they're so poorly trained though that if you can spare the time to keep calling back you will eventually find someone who slips and reads the policy wrong. Write down the time, date, and that person's name, as you're sure to need it during the 6 month appeal process.


Provider's POV

Sep 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I called to ask a simple question on behalf of a patient and after being transferred for the 3rd time, I finally got an answer. All I wanted was for someone to verify for me that a form letter meant what I thought it did. This was in relation to one of their Medicare Part D plans. Medicare has examples of typical letters they send to Medicare beneficiaries on their website. It was a general question - there was no need to give out any of the patient's personal information. Indeed, when I've called Medicare and Medicare Part D plans before, they will NOT give out information unless the client is present (a little thing called HIPAA). I told them they did not need any patient information - I just had a general question; all I wanted was to verify what a letter the patient received meant and that it was a typical form letter. When I've called other Medicare Part D plans, I've been able to immediately connect with someone who is very friendly, knowledegable, and helpful. I told them that their customer services were not very user friendly and they might want to list several different phone numbers for various types of questions if the number given for their Part D plan was not actually going to take a caller to someone in the Part D plan.


Terrible UHC Medicare Complete

Sep 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Their "free dental" through Solstice Dental is also a joke. I have tried to get our mailing address changed from street to PO Box for 9 months, to NO avail.


$10,000 Out-Of-Pocket

Aug 04, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I got insured by United Healthcare through work. With the supposed insurance I had to pay $2,000 for just 4 stitches. This when I thought I had a $500 deductible. It turns out you have to pay 80% of the bills until you reach $10,000 out-of-pocket.


Different Excuses

Jul 17, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They tell me something different every time I ask the same question. They are terrible with out-of-network, gap requests, and do not pay claims!


Employee's POV

Jul 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

If it makes you guys feel any better they do not pay their employees claims either. If you obtained insurance through employer/commercial your calls go overseas. If you are on a medicare, medicaid, or medical assistance plan you will speak to a rep in the states. Extensive training program for their systems and just enough real info for them to TRY to interpret your claims. You get 3 different answers? Reps get 10 different answers when trying to verify through the channels. However, part of it is due to the "beast" and the other part, well yes...there are just some stupid reps out there AND if you have an overseas rep they really don't care about you. But reps have no knowledge that they are being trained to skirt the "system". if they are fine with being little drones the job is great and they don't have a clue. If they are a little more inquisitive they realize real quick whats up and jet, especially with the new healthcare plan coming up. The ones who understand and have ethics RUN.


Insurance USA , USA 6.0 127.0 131 131 I started the process of joining UHC in January and still do not have an ID card, cannot get any information or talk to the same person twice. They have no problems cashing my che