United Health Care is a registered trademark of United Health Care and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

United Health Care

For over thirty years, United Health Care has been providing strong, high-quality, cost effective healthcare coverage. The company works closely with groups as well as individuals to offers a vast, comprehensive array of options to choose from. They also offer the convenience of online tools, which are designed to allow members to administer their accounts quickly and easily.

United Health Care Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.7
    cost
  • 1.0
    service
  • 1.0
    claims
  • 1.3
    overall rating

Based on 131 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

United Health Care works closely with its partner organization Uniprise, Inc. in order to attend to and serve over 18 million individual health insurance plans. They offer a large comprehensive network of over 550,000 physicians and nearly 5000 hospitals in every state as well as 4 international markets.

United Health Care works tirelessly to ensure their members receive the best healthcare at the most affordable prices. United Health Care has strived to build a high-quality system, which gives members access to healthcare programs and innovative services and products, thus improving the overall strength of the nation’s healthcare system.

United Health Care offers consumer-oriented health benefit plans and services, 24-hour support access, and streamlined online resources for consumers, employees, brokers, and physicians.Simpler processes, smarter solutions, and better results – that’s the promise of United Health Care, and that’s what theyto everyone that purchases their products and services.

Click here to submit your review.

United Health Care

Rating 0
    cancel

Terrible Customer Service

Feb 20, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

UHC has terrible customer service. No one at this company seems to know what they are talking about when you call with a problem. I have done business with three previous insurance companies and this one is the absolute worst!


I Payed, They Want More Money

Feb 13, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

UnitedHealth is the same as United 1, which is the same as GoldenRule/Golden Rule. Just 1 month after I paid for a 6 month plan, I was notified that in order to cover the last month, they now wanted an extra 2 months pay! I already paid the non-refundable administration fee. Is that even legal? When I later called for a simple request, it took me 3 hours to speak with a rep and get the information I needed. I was put on hold 7 times and left to wait for over 12 minutes each time.


Won\'t Cover Needed Tests

Feb 12, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My husband is paying for this insurance through the company that he works for. I have had to fight them tooth and nail to have ANY prescriptions filled since we got the policy. I have gone to their approved doctor for the past 3 weeks about unknown swelling in my face and head. I was referred to the local hospital for x-rays to check my sinuses and so far have not gotten a bill that they will not pay. However, the x-rays did not show anything, and my doctor wanted to send me for a CT scan in case something more severe was going on. They have refused to pay for the CT scan, and stated that they will not pay for it unless it is stroke, or facial trauma related. I called their nurse line tonight because it feels like someone is stabbing me, and I have palm sized goose eggs on my head and face from the swelling. They tell me to \"call your doctor in the morning\". WTF?


Bad Customer Service

Feb 05, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

UHC has high premiums to start with. Then, when I switch jobs and got different coverage, they couldn\'t get their act together to send the proper paperwork to me. I\'ve called three times and they have the same excuses as to why it is not done. It seems that they are only trained to run you in circles.


Good Luck Trying To Find A Doctor

Jan 30, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I\'ve been trying to find a Rheumatologist for the last week. Every doctor that they have listed will not accept anyone new! I called for help they just gave me the same list that was on the website.


Not the Same Kind Of Coverage I'm Used To

Dec 21, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was switch to United Health Care. I went to get a physical at my local clinic where I used to go when I was insure by my other insurance company. My doctor, after the physical, recommended a blood test. I got this blood test always thinking that my old insurance always covered this type of test. To my surprise, I received my first bill from United Health Insurance telling me that because the clinic was not part of their network, my claim was going to be denied. Now I am stuck with 100% of the bill. I went a whole year paying for this insurance and I am now being denied even the smallest claim!


Wouldn't Cover Physical

Dec 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I went in for a regular routine check up. I had to pay $150 for a co pay just for a physical and pap. 3 months later I get a bill from Providence Hospital saying "your insurance provider denied paying for physical". I had contacted UHC and they said that they were going to look into it. One year later I'm getting my paycheck garnished. They are just a waste of time and money.


Terrible Prescription Coverage

Dec 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Absolutely the worst coverage I've EVER had!!!! This company will do almost anything to keep you from getting coverage. I have been on two controlled substance meds for over 5 years, which I 100% need. UHC has a $3,300 deductible on meds which once you fulfill, they will only pay between 50-80% of that med. So, I finally reach my $3,300 deductible later and they now decide they will only pay for 8 days of meds at a time. I ask my pharmacist, who has gotten used to seeing me every few days now, why they are making me come every 8 days and SHE gives me some addiction rhetoric about LUNESTA being an addictive drug! "UHC recognizes that Lunesta is an addictive drug" is exactly what she said. I can't even fill my RX without someone treating me like a drug addict. We need to fix healthcare in this country(somehow) and stop being so judgmental of others.


No Coverage

Dec 04, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Why have insurance at all? The insurance doesn't cover anything. Every doctor visit is followed by a two page letter requiring proof that the visit was not for a pre-existing condition. United Health Care spends more time and resources on try not to give you coverage than what they spend on actual coverage.


High Co-Pays

Nov 09, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My mother was hospitalized recently for hip replacement and then transferred to a rehab facility. I believed that Medicare would cover all her rehab cost, which it would have if she did not have the UHC plan. Instead, she is paying $50 a day! This is because United becomes the primary insurer and medicare becomes secondary, and United's so called "benefits", come with a co-pay of $50 a day. This is her second round of care for this leg. Earlier this year she was hospitalized (couldn't walk, but no one found out why even after scans, x-rays, and an MRI) and discharged after a two day "observation stay" in the hospital. This meant that she had to private pay $10,000 to stay in the rehab facility since Medicare does not pay for rehab without a 3 day hospital admission, the private policies like United don't pay either!


Insurance USA , USA 6.0 127.0 131 131 I started the process of joining UHC in January and still do not have an ID card, cannot get any information or talk to the same person twice. They have no problems cashing my che