United Health Care is a registered trademark of United Health Care and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

United Health Care

For over thirty years, United Health Care has been providing strong, high-quality, cost effective healthcare coverage. The company works closely with groups as well as individuals to offers a vast, comprehensive array of options to choose from. They also offer the convenience of online tools, which are designed to allow members to administer their accounts quickly and easily.

United Health Care Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.7
    cost
  • 1.0
    service
  • 1.0
    claims
  • 1.3
    overall rating

Based on 131 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

United Health Care works closely with its partner organization Uniprise, Inc. in order to attend to and serve over 18 million individual health insurance plans. They offer a large comprehensive network of over 550,000 physicians and nearly 5000 hospitals in every state as well as 4 international markets.

United Health Care works tirelessly to ensure their members receive the best healthcare at the most affordable prices. United Health Care has strived to build a high-quality system, which gives members access to healthcare programs and innovative services and products, thus improving the overall strength of the nation’s healthcare system.

United Health Care offers consumer-oriented health benefit plans and services, 24-hour support access, and streamlined online resources for consumers, employees, brokers, and physicians.Simpler processes, smarter solutions, and better results – that’s the promise of United Health Care, and that’s what theyto everyone that purchases their products and services.

Click here to submit your review.

United Health Care

Rating 0
    cancel

Telephone UnHelp

Feb 13, 2015 by Anonymous

trying to get help by telephone is miserable. I was on hold for 20 minutes (after being told it would be 10 minutes) and then the person i talked to said she could n't help, transferred me to another, which was disconnected. Called back. waited 10 minutes for agent to be told she couldn't help me because i was in Virginia. Huh? Third person was less helpful. I give up. Will change providers when i can.


United Healthcare RX Plan

Jan 21, 2015 by Anonymous

Every year I seem to have one or two questions on my Prescription drug plan I have through AARP/United Healthcare. So I have to call customer service. This year was no exception and when I called I was on HOLD for 39.35 minutes. Every year it get's worse, not better. I asked why the long hold time and the person indicated they we very busy and apologized. But that's what they always do, apologize, but nothing every changes. All told it took me almost 1 hour to get my needed answer in order to get a very important prescription filled.

I'm very unhappy with the customer service I have gotten from them and find it unacceptable.

Since they never change it evident to me that they really don't value their customers.

I suggest that people call the customer service line of any prospective RX provider before signing up at least 2-3 times. That way you'll have an idea of how they operate.

AARP/United Healthcare RX plan will not be the one I choose this year. Every year since 2011 it's gotten worse.


Impossible Company

Jan 17, 2015 by Anonymous

After enrolling in Medicare Part D, and given a monthly rate, the premium suddenly tripled when the coverage began. After waiting more than an hour on hold, the company representative tells me that I have to complete some forms to cancel the coverage. The customer service is beyond horrible. I'm surprised that AARP endorses this hideous company.


advocate

Jan 09, 2015 by Anonymous

I deal with insurance companies all day long advocating for health care needs of patient for treatment. UHC is the worst health insurance I have ever come across in my 20 years of experience. They try changing their name to OPTUM but under whatever name they use their only goals is to NOT PAY FOR PATIENT CARE. They care more about keeping money than helping their consumer all in the name of managed care. This company is the poster example that gives managed care a bad rap.. MY ADVISE IS TO NEVER OPT FOR THEM IF YOU HAVE ANY OTHER CHOICE.....


Holding prior approval until January

Jan 02, 2015 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Surgery scheduled for late December, the approval was delayed and surgery had to be cancelled. Why was the approval delayed, because delaying until the new year dictates Client has to out of pocket and deductible. Makes Financial sense for the insurance company.


Customer Service

Dec 12, 2014 by Anonymous

I was on the phone for a hour and thirty minutes and spoke with 6 different representatives before I got my problem resolved. It seemed each did not know what the other was doing. Being transferred and kept on hold for this long is inexcusable


Dealing with United Healthcare Will Actually Make You Feel Sick

Sep 02, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I wish there were zero stars. I have had nothing but problems with simple claims and UHC blames it all on "the way the bill was coded." Run away from UHC if you can. They are expensive on their premiums and they'll find a way to not pay. Then when you appeal.. they'll get a bunch of people from their company to say they see your point, but, nonetheless, the appeal was denied.


Dental Coverage Denied

Aug 26, 2014 by Anonymous

Constantly denying dental coverage after contacting UHC prior to the dental work being done. It has been well over 3 months since the work was completed; a simple crown. United Healthcares Dental coverage is a joke and a disgrace. A UHC representative informed my dental office that my portion would be $500.00, so I agreed to have the work done; now UHC is denying the entire claim of upwards of $1,332.00. This type of treatment by insurance providers must end.


Pre-Existing Condition Difficulties

Aug 06, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have diagnosed sleep apnea from my previous carrier Blue Cross Blue Shield. My endocrinologist had a new sleep study completed recently which indicated my condition had worsen. My current CPAP machine is over 6 years old and does not work properly. It sometimes will not come on or stop working in the middle of the night. My primary care doctor was given the sleep study to order a new machine which was denied by UHC. They stated a peer review was necessary to authorize the machine. I have been on the phone for 1 hour and 5 minutes. I have spoken to 11 representatives including two in the Philippines who cannot deal with state of Texas claims.


Deny, Deny, Deny

Jun 21, 2014 by Anonymous

Their mantra is deny deny deny....if you fight them and appeal for months on end you may win but...I cannot wait to go back to BCBS. I chose UHC instead of BCBS because they were a tad bit less expensive. Huge mistake on my part.


Insurance USA , USA 6.0 127.0 131 131 I started the process of joining UHC in January and still do not have an ID card, cannot get any information or talk to the same person twice. They have no problems cashing my che