SafeCo is a registered trademark of SafeCo and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

SafeCo

Safeco is a famous American Insurance company that was founded in Seattle, Washington, in the year 1923.The Company was formed in the year 1923, by Hawthorne K Dent, who was a property and casualty insurer. It was thirty years later, that the company founded Selective Auto and Fire Insurance Company of America, or SAFECO. The first headquarters of the company was located in Seattle, which later moved to an 8th storey Brooklyn building. It was in the year 1957 that the company first started selling insurance, and after selling insurance for eleven years in that name, the company changed its name from SAFECO to Safeco. It was during this time only that mutual funds and commercial credits were also offered to the public.

SafeCo Ratings

  • 1.9
    coverage
  • 1.9
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.5
    claims
  • 1.7
    overall rating

Based on 143 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

There have been man developments in the company since its incorportation. It was in the year 1997, American States Financial Corporation was purchases, followed by Washington Mutual’s WM Life Insurance Company. Just two years later R.F. Bailey (Underwriting Agencies) Limited of London was purchased by the company. The company witnessed a major economic downturn, and there was a restructure of the company. In the next two years nearly 40% of the workforce of the company was laid down, and the commercial credit operations were also sold in the year 2001.It was on March 15 2004. The company sold its most profitable division, the life insurance and investment business. On April 2006, there was an announcement of consolidation of operations of the company. In the following year on January 19, 2006, there was a report that Safeco would be selling its Redmond campus, to Microsoft Corporation. Other plans were also announced for a new 125 feet office, across the street who would be employing nearly 1300 employees.

Safeco History
The history of Safeco dates back to 1923, when Hawthorne K Dent made a radical approach to business. A group was organized to make a combination of the financial stability and responsibility of a stock company, with the preferred risk underwriting. He later violated the conventional wisdom by making the base of the company in Seattle, quite far from the recognized insurance centers of the metropolitan Northeast. It was during the year of 1957 that the company entered the business of life insurance, and in the following years, board of directors recorded a massive growth and development of the company. In the 1960 s there was a further diversification of business, and financial services and mutual fund was introduced. The company took a major step in the year 1997, when it acquired American States Financial Corporation. The presence of the company was felt more in the year 1998, when naming rights to Seattle Mariners ballpark will be purchased. Today the company is still making its growth and also increasing its popularity. At the present day, it is serving the insurance needs of the drivers, home owners and owners of small and mid sized business houses.

Safeco in the Workplace
Safeco is a company employing the best and the broadest talents of the industry. There are diverse range of programs that are carried on by different class of people, who are unique n terms of national origin, race religion, values, as well as gender and marital status. The diverse range of programs is carried on by different class of people, and most of the employees’ focus groups that are recommended for the success. The company is committed to include people of different origins in its employee structure. There are many distribution partners that represent the customers of the company. We design different kinds of products so that each cater to a specific kind of customer. The business goals of the company is such that it helps to broaden the customer base of our company, while making initiatives and marketing materials, that represent the diverse needs of our society. The diversity program of Safeco is designed in such a way, so that you are provided access and information on Safeco. There are specific policies and guidelines that are developed by the company that help to build excellent customer relationships, with diverse enterprises also that include women, children and people with disability.

Click here to submit your review.

SafeCo

Rating 0
    cancel

Canceled on After Claim

Mar 11, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

After 10 years of no accidents, we had two minor fender-benders - backed another car in a parking lot and backed into a mailbox. Safeco paid, then cancelled us. This made it very difficult to find another carrier. My advice - stay away from this company.


Great Service and Steady Pricing

Mar 11, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had a great experience with Safeco - they have kept their pricing very fair and their claims service was awesome when I had to file an auto claim for damage, after going in the ditch.
My friend also has Safeco and had a homeowners claim after a tornado tore off siding and shingles and he said his experience was great as well.
I would recommend them to anyone!


Very Rude Adjuster

Feb 26, 2014 by Anonymous

I was backed into by a person who had SafeCo insurance. My adjuster and the entire experience was awful. The adjuster was so rude, unprofessional, and tried to ask me leading questions (IE: Did you see him backing into you?). Also, she called me a liar and laughed about the situation. I felt like she had no care or concern to help me whatsoever. Even getting a rental car was a pain because it took days for them to accept liability when the case was obvious that it was 100% their client\'s fault. They claimed she was out of the office due to weather and that was why it was taking so long, however the rental car company had no problem getting in touch with her office. I have never dealt with such a rude adjustor or shady company before. I was left with a very bad taste in my mouth concerning SafeCo.


Turn Customers Off

Feb 15, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

its been about one year and a half since he have been with safeco insurance for both house and cars. 4 months ago my son got in a car accident rear- ended by someone else. safeco totaled the car and valued it 3 grands lower the car cost at the time. now its time to renew the insurance and believe it or not our premiums are as high as 13000 for 3 cars. having a no-fault accident.i believe they dont want us as costumers anymore. dont recommend it to nobody.


Four Days After Accident and Still No Contact

Feb 12, 2014 by Anonymous

So I got in to my first accident on Friday which I was at fault for technically. Safeco is a sorry excuse for a insurance company. I've been trying to get a hold of them for the last four days and I haven't heard one word from them. I've had a policy with them for over four years and never had an accident. My policy ends in June and I will be switching. Seriously pull it together.


Canceled After One Claim in 10 Years

Jan 18, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We\'ve been with Safeco home insurance since 2003 and filed our first claim for a stolen bike last year (2013). Safeco\'s response? They handled the claim and then sent us notification that our policy was being cancelled and have made it difficult to obtain insurance with a few other carriers because of a negative report access able to other insurance companies. We\'ve never missed a payment with them in 10 years and they never spoke with us about any concerns. I strongly recommend - STAY AWAY FROM SAFECO!!!


Excellent Insurance Company

Nov 30, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I've had excellent experiences with Safeco. When it comes to roadside assistance, they are quick and friendly to deal with. When it comes to claims, they quickly reimbursed me for using a local locksmith to help me when i locked my keys inside. As far as costs (personally), we found it to be the best deal around. For two vehicles, we pay only $80.00 a month.


Quick Repairs After Hail Damage Claim

Nov 30, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This claim was handled in less than 30 days. Full roof replaced, doors, paint and gutters. Evan window screen and address numbers replaced.
More than I expected and very fast.


Overcharged and Made to Pay

Oct 21, 2013 by Anonymous

I got over charged, so I called and they told me that they don\'t know what happened, but I still have to pay.


I Was Hit, My Liability: 15%

Oct 11, 2013 by Anonymous

The other person make a left turn and hit me. Safeco said I still have 15% liability. The policy report said the other person have 100% liability. I can not argue with them. That just waste my time.


Insurance USA , USA 7.9 127.0 143 143 I paid for a 6 month policy the 2nd or 3rd week of January, 2015. Then, on Feb. 20, I got a bill that wanted me to pay them $257 MORE! So I called them and the rep did not know wh