SafeCo is a registered trademark of SafeCo and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

SafeCo

Safeco is a famous American Insurance company that was founded in Seattle, Washington, in the year 1923.The Company was formed in the year 1923, by Hawthorne K Dent, who was a property and casualty insurer. It was thirty years later, that the company founded Selective Auto and Fire Insurance Company of America, or SAFECO. The first headquarters of the company was located in Seattle, which later moved to an 8th storey Brooklyn building. It was in the year 1957 that the company first started selling insurance, and after selling insurance for eleven years in that name, the company changed its name from SAFECO to Safeco. It was during this time only that mutual funds and commercial credits were also offered to the public.

SafeCo Ratings

  • 1.9
    coverage
  • 1.9
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.5
    claims
  • 1.7
    overall rating

Based on 143 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

There have been man developments in the company since its incorportation. It was in the year 1997, American States Financial Corporation was purchases, followed by Washington Mutual’s WM Life Insurance Company. Just two years later R.F. Bailey (Underwriting Agencies) Limited of London was purchased by the company. The company witnessed a major economic downturn, and there was a restructure of the company. In the next two years nearly 40% of the workforce of the company was laid down, and the commercial credit operations were also sold in the year 2001.It was on March 15 2004. The company sold its most profitable division, the life insurance and investment business. On April 2006, there was an announcement of consolidation of operations of the company. In the following year on January 19, 2006, there was a report that Safeco would be selling its Redmond campus, to Microsoft Corporation. Other plans were also announced for a new 125 feet office, across the street who would be employing nearly 1300 employees.

Safeco History
The history of Safeco dates back to 1923, when Hawthorne K Dent made a radical approach to business. A group was organized to make a combination of the financial stability and responsibility of a stock company, with the preferred risk underwriting. He later violated the conventional wisdom by making the base of the company in Seattle, quite far from the recognized insurance centers of the metropolitan Northeast. It was during the year of 1957 that the company entered the business of life insurance, and in the following years, board of directors recorded a massive growth and development of the company. In the 1960 s there was a further diversification of business, and financial services and mutual fund was introduced. The company took a major step in the year 1997, when it acquired American States Financial Corporation. The presence of the company was felt more in the year 1998, when naming rights to Seattle Mariners ballpark will be purchased. Today the company is still making its growth and also increasing its popularity. At the present day, it is serving the insurance needs of the drivers, home owners and owners of small and mid sized business houses.

Safeco in the Workplace
Safeco is a company employing the best and the broadest talents of the industry. There are diverse range of programs that are carried on by different class of people, who are unique n terms of national origin, race religion, values, as well as gender and marital status. The diverse range of programs is carried on by different class of people, and most of the employees’ focus groups that are recommended for the success. The company is committed to include people of different origins in its employee structure. There are many distribution partners that represent the customers of the company. We design different kinds of products so that each cater to a specific kind of customer. The business goals of the company is such that it helps to broaden the customer base of our company, while making initiatives and marketing materials, that represent the diverse needs of our society. The diversity program of Safeco is designed in such a way, so that you are provided access and information on Safeco. There are specific policies and guidelines that are developed by the company that help to build excellent customer relationships, with diverse enterprises also that include women, children and people with disability.

Click here to submit your review.

SafeCo

Rating 0
    cancel

Safeco is a Rip Off!!

Mar 07, 2015 by Anonymous

I paid for a 6 month policy the 2nd or 3rd week of January, 2015. Then, on Feb. 20, I got a bill that wanted me to pay them $257 MORE! So I called them and the rep did not know why I got another bill and didnt help get it taken off. So I made a few calls and got a policy with an insurance company that I used to use, on a Saturday morning even! So I called and cancelled my policy with Safeco and told them that I wanted a pro-rated refund. I just received a check for $16.07!!!
They kept a lot of my money and I am very angry. I will tell all of my friends and family what they did to me and that they will be sorry if they ever use them.
DO NOT get your insurance with them!!! You will regret it, BIG TIME!!


Non-driving adults

Mar 04, 2015 by Anonymous

My husband is from London, and has never driven in his life and has no need to. I am the only driver in the house and after paying for my auto insurance, for the year, I get a bill saying I own 468.26. The reason, because my husband does not have a drivers license and may back into someone since I "always ask" his to pull the car out of the driveway. I have never asked my husband to do such a thing, and he wouldn't to begin with, since he does not drive. Talk about lack of logic and discriminating against those from big cities who make the choice not to drive.


Stay away not worth it

Feb 26, 2015 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had some damages inside the cab of my truck brought it to the attention of my Ins. Rep who recommended I make a claim to be on the safe side as I do have full coverage. The adjusters and claim rep couldn't figure out times and pushed my estimate review out almost 3 weeks past the claim date. This seems to be more of a tactic then an actual miss communication seeing if you will forget your story or just drop the claim.
Communication was horrible between the adjuster, rep, and keeping me in the loop to view my vehicle. The call center when I made the claim hire people who have no clue on what they are doing and who won’t communicate anything you say to the claim rep.

Claim rep finally contacts me and I explain what happened thinking it would barely go over my 500 deductible. The guy comes out to my house reviews my account and again what I sent in for the claim does not match what he has in his system. I explain the incident again for the fifth time to a third person and let him do his thing. Well it then turns out I have 4500 in water damages to the interior and seating and he submits my adjustments to the claim rep who is a bit hard to get a hold when you need him.

I Get a phone call 24 hours later from the Claims Rep who is all eager to be contacted and have a conversation explaining that my claim might not be covered… even though the original claim I submitted wasn’t even close to what their own adjusters had found but said it was covered and said “good thing you made the claim.” My adjuster was cool, knew his stuff, very polite, the claims rep was clueless to half of what I have explained to him several times in the previous phone calls, now asking me to give a verbal statement on a recorded phone call as he forgot to write down and save our previous conversations… His words not mine.

Stay away from this company, they have no clue on what they are doing w/ your claim and seem to play the run around game. My Claims rep gave me no ETA when a decision will be made and yet I have to leave my vehicle as is incase another person needs to do an overview of their first adjusters estimate. Full coverage not worth it and hidden clauses in the contract that will prevent claims for being paid is what this is turning out to be, even better you will be left in the dark unless you constantly blow up your claims rep voicemail.

GO WITH SOME OTHER COMPANY !!!!!


SafeCo Unfair and Distrustful

Dec 02, 2014 by Anonymous

After reading everyone's review's I know I'm not the only that they are taking advantage of or least trying to. I am overwhelmed with the knowledge that SafeCo is a rip off and has caused so much stress and aggravation to people who only want to have their cars fixed after being hit by a SafeCo driver. I live in Texas and SafeCo has been giving me the go around from day one. My daughter was driving my car and was hit by a SafeCo drive coming out of a mini mall parking lot. Shot across three lanes to hit her. Now they are telling me that my daughter is 20% responsible. According to the police and their report only one person was responsible for this accident and it wasn't my daughter. Safeco has yet to send an agent out to take photo's and do an assessment on the damage because they say the are allowed to into where the car is impounded. I contacted my insurance agent and was informed that they should have already done that and yes they can go in and take the photo's and assessment. Received an email today saying they can't proceed until we provide that information. Hmmmm I can't make an assessment, the car was impounded because it can't be driven. These people are cheaters, liars, and will do anything not to pay 100% of the damages. I don't know about the rest of you but I'm not going to take this sitting down. If I have to bring attorney into this, then I will do that. Companies like should not be allowed to operate any where. Shame on you Safeco. I do know this I would never work for a company like Safeco. As they say what goes around, comes around and from everything I have beem reading on many complaint forums regarding Safeco their comupings will be happening soon.


Poor Customer Service

Oct 14, 2014 by Anonymous

We recently received our bill for our car insurance and it increased over $300 in one year. We called and asked why and our agent checked with the company and they told him there was no explanation. We then told him we wanted to put our truck and travel trailer in storage for the winter with just comprehensive on it and the quote came back raising the price to insure our car by $250. When I called and asked why I was told they would no longer give us a multicar discount even though they did it last year. We have subsequently received quotes from three other companies and they were all cheaper and everyone of them said we absolutely qualify for multi car discount. Obviously Safeco doesn't care about their members, or should I say ex=member.


Roadside Non-Assistance

Sep 27, 2014 by Anonymous

We had a dead battery, and called Safeco Roadside Assistance. 30 minutes later, we were still waiting for a call-back to say they were on their way. We called Les Schwab--they were there in 5 minutes! We are dropping the Safeco "assistance" and joining AAA.


Didn\'t Want to Pay 100%

Aug 09, 2014 by Anonymous

Safeco is a fraudulent company. A person with safeco insurance backed into my son and they want to say it's 10% my son's fault because they don't want to pay for the damages. Worthless company should be investigated and shut down!


You Get What You Pay For

May 19, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

As a young adult Safeco made its way to be my insurance provider because it was the 'cheapest' rate. Well you get what you pay. Long story short.. I am now with State Farm and still paying off a +$500 balance with Safeco even though I made all my payments on time (I had an automatic payment withdrawal) but they are now 'just adjusting the rate'. The service is 'friendly' but helpless. STAY AWAY. Cheap is never the best solution.


Bills Just Piling Up

May 14, 2014 by Anonymous

I was involved in hit and run accident. Safeco is responsible for my salary since I\'m out on disability, they are the worst.
The other party information was retrieved at the scene, all information was given to Safeco.
I\'ve already waited two months. My lawyers have called them repeated; without response.
Instead they want me to pay my monthly premium, I have no car. I was told it would be returned to me later.


Non-Renewal After 1 Claim

May 13, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had my home and auto policies with Safeco for 8 years and after 1 minor homeowner's claim, they sent out a non-renewal letter. If looking for insurance, I would look elsewhere.


Insurance USA , USA 7.9 127.0 143 143 I paid for a 6 month policy the 2nd or 3rd week of January, 2015. Then, on Feb. 20, I got a bill that wanted me to pay them $257 MORE! So I called them and the rep did not know wh
Page:
123»