Nationwide is a registered trademark of Nationwide and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Nationwide

Nationwide Insurance Background
Nationwide Insurance is the largest insurance and finance company in the world with $157 billion in assets. Nationwide Insurance is the fourth largest homeowner insurer and sixth largest for auto insurance on premiums written. Nationwide Insurance is also the tenth largest commercial insurer and the sixth largest for total property and casualty insurer. Nationwide Insurance is committed to meet the financial and insurance needs of its diversified customer base. Nationwide Insurance is dedicated in offering full range of products and services linked to your homes and autos, family as well as a wide range of diversified financial services. The agents of the Nationwide insurance help you to make smart decisions, to ensure that you and your family are prepared for different emergency changes. Nationwide Insurance is committed to help you in every possible way.

Nationwide Ratings

  • 2.7
    coverage
  • 2.6
    cost
  • 2.0
    service
  • 1.9
    claims
  • 2.3
    overall rating

Based on 32 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

History of Nationwide Insurance
Nationwide Insurance provides insurance and financial services including auto, fire, life, health, commercial insurance, administrative services, annuities, mutual funds, pensions, and long-term savings plans. Nationwide Insurance ranks 98th on the Fortune 100, has about 35,000 employees and more than 16 million policies in force. Nationwide Insurance is the largest insurance and finance Company located in Columbus, Ohio. Nationwide insurance was founded in 1925 when the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation incorporated Farm Bureau Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Nationwide insurance started with 100 policyholders. Automobile insurance was the first product developed by the company. In 1955, the company changed its name to Nationwide Insurance.

Click here to submit your review.

Nationwide

Rating 0
    cancel

Best Total Solution

Apr 06, 2015 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Nationwide offers what I consider the best total solution for insurance, and allows me to combine auto, home, life and annuity in a single location. Included in my assessment of Nationwide, is my agent, and her staff. Plus, I have Identity theft and Roadside assistance (which I've used 3 times).


Missing Adjuster

Apr 07, 2014 by Anonymous

I had an accident and called for assistance and was put on hold for 30 minutes, TWICE! Then, once I got an adjuster for my claim, she was out of the office for 5 days and was told that no one else could help me. I finally got the name and number of her manager and he NEVER called me back so, I am waiting on day 4 and no one has gotten back with me YET! UNBELIEVABLE!


My Son And My Dogs Destroyed My House

Jan 16, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I went on vacation for 2 weeks and left my son to take care of my three dogs. When I returned, I found my house completely torn up! There was trash was all over the place. The carpet was completely ruined. It was chewed up in high traffic areas. Nationwide said they are not liable to cover this damage. Before this we had only made one other small claim. I have severe fibromyalgia and have mobility trouble. I have rugs and plastic coverings over the really bad areas. I am unstable as it is. I only want them to replace the carpet, not replace the tile, clean and paint the walls.


Poor Customer Service

Jan 15, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I dropped by my local Nationwide office to file a mini tort claim. The agent was busy on the phone, so I happily waited for a short while. The agent made sure I waited until closing time before answering my question. I tried to apologize and ask what I specifically did wrong, but the agent refused to discuss it and told me to go out the door.


Unfair After Fire

Jan 11, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had a house fire and been homeless since. Nationwide has sent over numerous investigators and adjusters. Every estimate that they have provided is on the low side... so are their settlement offers.


No Explanation Of Differences In Coverage

Jan 11, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My agent did not explain the difference between Nationwide's agreed value insurance and the company's replacement value insurance for jewelry and other valuables on their homeowners policy. The former means what you get what your appraisal value was if anything ever happens, but the latter deceptively means you get only a wholesale or discounted value. To make things worse, they use costs from online only for their replacement quotes.


Missing Adjuster

Jan 08, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had an accident and I was given an adjuster. The phone number was long distance so every time I have to call he,r I have to pay for that! She has not contacted me even though I was told by the claims department that she "tried to call me" on the day of the accident. She didn't leave a message. I have made numerous calls to Nationwide and of course that make all kinds of excuses for her.


Extortion

Jan 02, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I bought a business policy from my insurance agent with Nationwide. I already had life, auto, and home with Nationwide so everything was done over the phone with my agent. I received a policy in the mail, signed it, and returned it with payment. Each month after, I paid $69.14. Then I received my bill stating that my policy had gone up and the new payment due was $140.25 each month. It stated that they had an audit and this was the reason for the change. Also, the statement said they were charging me for the 12 months prior to the present date and that I owed Nationwide $535 for back charges. I called my agent seven times trying to get an explanation on this and never got a call back from him. I called Nationwide and could not get an answer from anyone over this. I cancelled all policies with Nationwide over this and now I have this lady from Nationwide calling me with threats if I do not pay this bill from them.


On Our Side!

May 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We decided to change companies and went with them due to the cost, but mainly the customer service. My car was rear-ended and it was the first time I dealt with them, as they insured the person that hit me. No headaches at all. Now I have just been in a fender bender and oh my, the other insurance company I have to deal with is terrible, and borderline abusive. More than once I felt some level of prejudice towards me by their adjuster. So thank you NW for taking good care of us! Even when you were not on our side, you WERE on our side!


Living In A House With Mold

Nov 28, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We are currently very ill and wondering what to do as even though mold isn't typically covered. They caused the mold when they neglected to have the restoration company check all rooms for water damage. I am severely allergic to mold as are my 3 kids. Why are we still in this house? After being shoved into hotels repeatedly for about 6 weeks, we still haven't heard back from our adjustor.


Insurance USA , USA 6.0 127.0 32 32 Nationwide offers what I consider the best total solution for insurance, and allows me to combine auto, home, life and annuity in a single location. Included in my assessment of N
Page:
1234