Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual Group is an Insurance company that was founded in Boston in 1912. The chief feature of this company is that it was able to stay away from the world of television and radio advertisements, and was able to maintain its marketing abilities. It has always been our aim to make the world a more safe and secure place to live in. Many of our innovative products have helped to reduce the injury, illness and disabilities that occur in the workplaces. Those people who are the member of this group are provided with a facility of discount, due to their status, as good education is considered to be one of the greatest signs of good insurance risk. Liberty mutual takes the next step, and relies on advertising within the accounts, in order to promote growth. Today, the company boasts of 39000 employees, with more than 900 offices around the world. There is also a hiring a large number of accounts executives, who are responsible of maintaining a good relation with most of the employees of the company. In the early part of 2006, it was number 39 on Equal opportunity magazines Top 50 Employers list.

Liberty Mutual Ratings

  • 2.0
    coverage
  • 2.0
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.5
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 139 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More about Liberty Mutual Group
This is a Boston based group that has become the sixth largest property and casualty insurer, and has the business of private passenger automobile, that is based on 2004.It was in the year December 31,2005, LMG had $ 78.8 billion in consolidated revenue. The company has 102-nd rank on the Fortune 500 list of largest corporations of the United States. The group has been offering wide range of products that include personal automobile, assumed reinsurance, group disability and among other things fire and safety insurance. It was in the year 2001 and 2002, that the group was reorganized as a mutual holding company structure. There are three principal mutual companies of the group, that are known as Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and Employers Insurance Company of Wausau, and each of these companies are separate from one another. There are four strategic business units of the group, but none of the single units, contribute more than 30% of the net premium. Liberty Mutual has always been “helping people live safer, more secure lives.”

Personal Market
Our largest business segment provides the full line of coverage for many private passengers automobiles, homeowners and valuable possessions, through its own sales force in more than 400 offices throughout the United States, with two response centers, appointed by Prudential agents and the internet. The biggest source of new business is more than 9000 affinity group relationships that include employers, credit unions and other alumni associations.

Commercial Markets
Liberty Mutual’s Commercial market has been able to provide sophisticated risk, along with disability management and also risk transfer services. There is a national market that serves complex needs of many large companies and also Business Market, that serves the needs of middle market businesses, which provides full lines of insurance and also creative risk transfer products. We provide short and long term disability products and services for many large business houses. There are markets that offer a comprehensive array of captive services that includes rent-a-captive service that includes fronting, claims management, loss prevention and also underwriting.

Agency Markets
The markets of Liberty Mutual Agency, consists of property and casualty insurance, that includes carriers distributing their products and services through many independent agents and brokers The following companies shall provide you with a comprehensive list of personal and commercial coverage’s.

America First Insurance (Gulf Region);
Colorado Casualty (Mountain Region);
Golden Eagle Insurance (Pacific Region);
Hawkeye-Security Insurance (North Central Region);
Indiana Insurance (Midwest Region), which also includes Go America Auto Insurance;
Liberty Northwest (Pacific Northwest Region);
Montgomery Insurance (Southeast Region);
Peerless Insurance (Northeast Region)
Wausau Insurance Companies (National)

We provide you with many kinds of specialty operations that include Liberty Mutual Surety and also Summit Holding Southeast, Inc.

International Operations

We provide international services in 11 countries that include Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Hong Kong, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, and Venezuela. There are also international underwriters, which provide you with global specialty lines insurance and reinsurance through writes casualty, specialty causality and also marine energy engineering

Integrity
We are required to behave with integrity, because there are many people who build their lives on our promises and trust us thoroughly, so that we keep our promises.

Dignity and Respect
We believe in treating all people with dignity and due respect. We can build long lasting relationships, only by treating our customers and each other with dignity and due respect.

Superior Products and Services
It has always been our aspiration to provide you with superior products and services at rates that are comfortable to the customers, and also allow us to make a reasonable amount of profit. It is through this shared commitment that helps us to create a culture of performance and growth.

Click here to submit your review.

Liberty Mutual

Rating 0
/ /
    cancel

Insurance Consultant Opinion

Apr 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Liberty Mutual is currently providing some of the most incompetent, careless, and lack of good faith claims adjustment I have seen in 25 years.


Drafted My Account Without My Permission

Mar 22, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This was the worst experience ever. I contacted a salesman that gave me a great rate on homeowners as well a auto. I went ahead and had him to write the policy. My policies were due to cancel with SF and start with LM on the end of the month. LM drafted my bank account without my approval 9 days prior to my policy going into effect. I contacted them.... and that's where it all went down hill from there. I didn't care who needed to be blamed, I just wanted the money placed back into my account. So began my game of cat and mouse with them. After burning approximately $20 of gas going to my bank to provide proof to them. I was told it would take 3-5 business days to have the funds placed back into my account. I contacted them today and was told a check would be sent out today. I am beyond upset at this time and have no idea what to do next. I guess I'll call tomorrow to see what they'll say tomorrow...


Extremely Happy Customer

Mar 22, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Liberty Mutual certainly took care of us when one of our cars was totaled in an accident. I had just put a new engine in the vehicle and new tires all the way around. They told me to submit my receipts for the work done to them and refunded those costs as well as giving me a very fair settlement for the replacement cost of the vehicle. They were on top of my claim, it didn't matter how many different people I spoke to over the course of several days, each one knew every aspect of what had taken place and what needed to be done. I didn't have to retell the story once. They got the replacement check mailed to me very promptly. It was the best service I have ever received from any insurance company I've been with. I'll never leave Liberty Mutual! I see a lot of negative reviews on this forum, but I cannot say one negative thing about my experience with Liberty Mutual. They are the best!


Found Same Coverage For 75% Less!

Mar 14, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We used to have Liberty Mutual for about 30 years. After refusing to pay for several claims we submitted, we shopped around and shockingly discovered we could get the same coverage for 75% less elsewhere. They should be investigated.


Given No Chance To Make Repairs, Just Cancelled On

Mar 10, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had Liberty Mutual for over 40 years. During that time I never entered a claim and never was late on a payment. One day I made some adjustments to my policy. They said that they had to come and check my home. The next week I received a letter canceling my policy. Why? For " MOLD ON THE ROOF ". I was given no chance to take care of the problem... Nothing. My policy was just canceled !


Poor To Non-Extistent Customer Service

Feb 24, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had multi-policy coverage (house, rental, and 2 cars) with Liberty Mutual. We had no claims, so one would think the company would want to retain my business. Within 1 year after my policies went into effect, my rates started to go up drastically. I couldn't even get a return call or explanation as to why this was occurring. Needless to say, I have cancelled my coverage with them. In my opinion, LM will give great rates and lots of deductions in the beginning and hope you don't notice the rapid and continuous increase in premiums!


Low-Ball Estimate

Feb 21, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Our home is condemned by the city due to snow load, a cover-able loss. Liberty Mutual's first offer was $20,000 for an $85,000 job. We have been out of our house for a year. They offer just got up to $74,000 after we filled a presidential complaint. They try to make that sound good, but they knew we would get that anyway. It's still not much of an offer... They refuse to extend our living expenses even though they swore they would. Their contractor knowing underbid by $20,000 and said we would have to pay the difference.


Sent To Collections For Not Renewing

Feb 16, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

If you are considering Liberty Mutual for any type of insurance, don't! These idiots sent me to a robo-call collections agency because I did not renew. Bad business deserves no business. Stay away!


I didn't Ask For This Nightmare

Jan 26, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was stopped at a red light when another driver insured by Liberty Mutual / Safeco hit the rear of my car. Now, it is months later and this mess is still not fixed. This is a simple claim. There were no injuries, just bent metal. This should have been finished up in a matter of days. Instead, they have fought and fought every bit of the way and we are still not over. I finally got escalated to their "Presidential Services Group," but they have also been unable to get this matter resolved for me. In fact, a man who works for that Presidential unit, who tells me that he reports directly to the company president, just told me that he would not help me and literally hung up on me. Obviously, this attitude runs all the way through the company from the ground-floor claims adjuster to the president himself. Remember, I did not ask for this. I was the injured party here. I was hit by their insured.


Peerless Insurance Low-Balled Us

Jan 26, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We recently filed a claim for commercial property damage related to the heavy snow load on a flat roof last winter. PEERLESS INSURANCE, a division of LIBERTY MUTUAL, only agreed to pay less than 25% of the total loss. They were slow to respond, used every "catch phrase in the book" to deny coverage, even though the contractor who did the repairs is a maser builder and was willing to sign an affidavit stating that all repairs were related to storm damage and not deterioration in the building.


Insurance USA , USA 3.5 127.0 139 139 Well, after many years of loyalty to Liberty Mutual, I've finally pull the trigger and switched. I faced another substantial rate increase after enduring several years with increas