Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual Group is an Insurance company that was founded in Boston in 1912. The chief feature of this company is that it was able to stay away from the world of television and radio advertisements, and was able to maintain its marketing abilities. It has always been our aim to make the world a more safe and secure place to live in. Many of our innovative products have helped to reduce the injury, illness and disabilities that occur in the workplaces. Those people who are the member of this group are provided with a facility of discount, due to their status, as good education is considered to be one of the greatest signs of good insurance risk. Liberty mutual takes the next step, and relies on advertising within the accounts, in order to promote growth. Today, the company boasts of 39000 employees, with more than 900 offices around the world. There is also a hiring a large number of accounts executives, who are responsible of maintaining a good relation with most of the employees of the company. In the early part of 2006, it was number 39 on Equal opportunity magazines Top 50 Employers list.

Liberty Mutual Ratings

  • 2.0
    coverage
  • 2.0
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.5
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 139 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More about Liberty Mutual Group
This is a Boston based group that has become the sixth largest property and casualty insurer, and has the business of private passenger automobile, that is based on 2004.It was in the year December 31,2005, LMG had $ 78.8 billion in consolidated revenue. The company has 102-nd rank on the Fortune 500 list of largest corporations of the United States. The group has been offering wide range of products that include personal automobile, assumed reinsurance, group disability and among other things fire and safety insurance. It was in the year 2001 and 2002, that the group was reorganized as a mutual holding company structure. There are three principal mutual companies of the group, that are known as Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and Employers Insurance Company of Wausau, and each of these companies are separate from one another. There are four strategic business units of the group, but none of the single units, contribute more than 30% of the net premium. Liberty Mutual has always been “helping people live safer, more secure lives.”

Personal Market
Our largest business segment provides the full line of coverage for many private passengers automobiles, homeowners and valuable possessions, through its own sales force in more than 400 offices throughout the United States, with two response centers, appointed by Prudential agents and the internet. The biggest source of new business is more than 9000 affinity group relationships that include employers, credit unions and other alumni associations.

Commercial Markets
Liberty Mutual’s Commercial market has been able to provide sophisticated risk, along with disability management and also risk transfer services. There is a national market that serves complex needs of many large companies and also Business Market, that serves the needs of middle market businesses, which provides full lines of insurance and also creative risk transfer products. We provide short and long term disability products and services for many large business houses. There are markets that offer a comprehensive array of captive services that includes rent-a-captive service that includes fronting, claims management, loss prevention and also underwriting.

Agency Markets
The markets of Liberty Mutual Agency, consists of property and casualty insurance, that includes carriers distributing their products and services through many independent agents and brokers The following companies shall provide you with a comprehensive list of personal and commercial coverage’s.

America First Insurance (Gulf Region);
Colorado Casualty (Mountain Region);
Golden Eagle Insurance (Pacific Region);
Hawkeye-Security Insurance (North Central Region);
Indiana Insurance (Midwest Region), which also includes Go America Auto Insurance;
Liberty Northwest (Pacific Northwest Region);
Montgomery Insurance (Southeast Region);
Peerless Insurance (Northeast Region)
Wausau Insurance Companies (National)

We provide you with many kinds of specialty operations that include Liberty Mutual Surety and also Summit Holding Southeast, Inc.

International Operations

We provide international services in 11 countries that include Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Hong Kong, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, and Venezuela. There are also international underwriters, which provide you with global specialty lines insurance and reinsurance through writes casualty, specialty causality and also marine energy engineering

Integrity
We are required to behave with integrity, because there are many people who build their lives on our promises and trust us thoroughly, so that we keep our promises.

Dignity and Respect
We believe in treating all people with dignity and due respect. We can build long lasting relationships, only by treating our customers and each other with dignity and due respect.

Superior Products and Services
It has always been our aspiration to provide you with superior products and services at rates that are comfortable to the customers, and also allow us to make a reasonable amount of profit. It is through this shared commitment that helps us to create a culture of performance and growth.

Click here to submit your review.

Liberty Mutual

Rating 0
/ /
    cancel

You Get What You Pay For

Jun 07, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I got the least expensive coverage and was laughed at when I tried to make a claim. I was told that my little policy wasn't enough to garner any attention.


Very Disappointed

May 30, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was hit by a driver who ran a red light. My car was eventually totaled by Liberty Mutual, although I was never told why. It took a long time to settle the claim. I even had to get my attorney involved just to communicate with them! We also never got to talk to the same person twice. Once the claim was finally settled and I still owed money on a car I couldn't drive, I decided to find another insurance carrier. When I called Liberty to cancel my policies (auto and home) I was told that I had an outstanding balance - they had set up my payments so I was paying a month behind instead of ahead. The total for both policies was a little over $100. I am single and could only afford to pay about $40/month on the arrearage, which I wrote them with the first payment that I sent as soon as I got the bill. Now I am receiving notices from a collection agency! I am quite disheartened with Liberty Mutual and will always discourage anyone from going with them if I have the chance.


Responsibility Is Not Their Policy

May 22, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Our vehicle was totaled by a person who has a Liberty Mutual policy. It was clear liability on their part as they made an illegal left hand turn. It took 6 weeks for Liberty Mutual to accept 100% liability. They tried to make it a partial liability case; an unfortunate attempt to save money for their company. Then they proceeded to violate WAC rules on valuing a vehicle. Offering $1,200 less than was eventually agreed to. In addition, they will tell you they have to their supervisor and that is all they can do. When you call them out, they will back track to cover themselves. It is apparent that they hope they are speaking with someone who does not know or understand insurance or state rules and regulations - they will try to take advantage of that. My advice to anyone dealing with Liberty Mutual in a claims situation: 1. Identify your state's driving laws that their insured violated. 2. If a total loss, visit your state's Office of Insurance website to know your rights on how to determine a vehicle's value. 3. Do not be afraid to let them know you will go to the Office of Insurance if you feel they are acting in bad faith or lacking integrity in their negotiations. 4. If need be get legal advice or help. 5. Be prepared for it to take awhile.


No One Is There When You Need Them

May 03, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The worst has finally happened. We had a hail storm. The hail was the size of baseballs. It damaged two cars and our home - all insured with Liberty Mutual. We were faced with worthless claims people and no customer service when we tried to file a claim. we were given a different answer and excuse every time we had to call them.


Terrible Claims Service

Apr 27, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

After an accident with a customer insured by Liberty Mutual, the claims department took over a week to "determine liability" and authorize a rental car, even though the other driver admitted full fault and it was written as such in the police report. Up until they accepted liability, I would have to pay out of pocket. They originally told me an adjuster would come to my house and do an estimate/evaluation since I did not feel comfortable driving the car, but after waiting several days and calling, I was told I had to bring it in to get an estimate. I was required to take the vehicle to their preferred shop, which is over 20 minutes away, when I have several body shops located in my home town. The shop found some damage to the steering system and said it is "un-driveable." Without the liability approval, I was stuck at the shop without the ability to get a rental covered and told that if I drive the car, they would not be responsible for any further damage. Since they required me to bring it in and would not cover the rental car, I find this totally unacceptable. I would never use Liberty Mutual and would not recommend it to anyone! It's just too much hassle if you have a claim.


False Hope!

Apr 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was hit by a Liberty Mutual driver three weeks ago. They are giving me the run around. I initially received a call two days after the accident asking how I was doing. The adjuster gathered all of my information. She told me an appraiser would be out within the week to look at my vehicle. I was initially impressed. Now, three weeks later, my car is a total loss, I'm still without a rental, and they refuse to answer any phone calls. When I call, they play the game of switching adjusters and then when I try to contact the new adjuster she's out of the office for two weeks. This is so frustrating. I didn't asked to be hit. I'm not out looking to get rich. I simply want a vehicle to get back and forth to work. I would never in a million years insure with Liberty Mutual nor would I recommend them anyone! What's hilarious is that after the accident I did research on this company and thought that many of these post were false because I hadn't experienced any bad treatment. Oh, how quickly I've come to see that every post on here is correct.


Safeco Managment Is Horrible

Apr 07, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

It's not so much as the employees as it is the management. The employees are told how to settle a claim and if that means screwing someone... You are going to get screwed. Management watches every dime that is spent. If you are not happy with Safeco, file a complaint.


Employee POV

Apr 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I use to be a Liberty Mutual employee. Yes, they have been letting go of most of their older employees and I was one. I did get a nice severance package, but changed my insurance after I was let go. I found a much better rate with another company. I checked the reviews for my present insurance company and saw lots of complaints. It's true, insurance companies do not want to pay claims. If you have an accident, call the claims department and then your attorney. When buying home insurance go to an agent, don't buy from the 800 line. Sit down with the agent and have them explain the insurance coverage to you. I noticed many people are having problems getting their roof damage covered. In many states LM only offer ACV for roof coverage. Check your policy. If the roof is covered as ACV (actual cash value), find a company that will cover replacement value for your roof, even if you have to pay more for the insurance.


Inaction and Lack Of Communication

Apr 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I am condo unit owner with a chimney leak. The condo association president and Liberty Mutual have not taken any action. No claims adjuster has been sent and no repairs have been made. I attempted to expedite the process, but was e-mailed by insurance company that no further contact is to be made by claims adjuster to me.


won't Be Held Accountable

Apr 02, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This is the worst insurance that I've ever had for both for medical and auto. Their customer was at fault in a recent car accident. They are stating that the their client was not at fault because she stated she was heading west on McCoy Ave. We were facing east on that street. She hit a school bus heading South which then rammed into the vehicle next to us that rammed into our car. Both the car next to me and I were at a stop waiting for the green light and ended up getting struck by the bus when the car hit the bus. That car did not have a green light because it was red still. This company has been tip toeing around this whole case and stating that it might take up to 60 days before they have their results. In the meantime, my livelihood is affected since my car that is pretty much totaled. That is Liberty Mutual for you. I recommend to everyone to find a different insurance company. It's the same with medical. They cover nothing. My wife had to deal with Liberty Mutual stating that certain things were not covered. It took a few scans and doctors to constantly contact them to get it resolved... all the while she was in pain. They are the reason why so many people hate insurance. They are happy to take your money, but not happy to assist when you are in need.


Insurance USA , USA 3.5 127.0 139 139 Well, after many years of loyalty to Liberty Mutual, I've finally pull the trigger and switched. I faced another substantial rate increase after enduring several years with increas