Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual Group is an Insurance company that was founded in Boston in 1912. The chief feature of this company is that it was able to stay away from the world of television and radio advertisements, and was able to maintain its marketing abilities. It has always been our aim to make the world a more safe and secure place to live in. Many of our innovative products have helped to reduce the injury, illness and disabilities that occur in the workplaces. Those people who are the member of this group are provided with a facility of discount, due to their status, as good education is considered to be one of the greatest signs of good insurance risk. Liberty mutual takes the next step, and relies on advertising within the accounts, in order to promote growth. Today, the company boasts of 39000 employees, with more than 900 offices around the world. There is also a hiring a large number of accounts executives, who are responsible of maintaining a good relation with most of the employees of the company. In the early part of 2006, it was number 39 on Equal opportunity magazines Top 50 Employers list.

Liberty Mutual Ratings

  • 2.0
    coverage
  • 2.0
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.5
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 139 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More about Liberty Mutual Group
This is a Boston based group that has become the sixth largest property and casualty insurer, and has the business of private passenger automobile, that is based on 2004.It was in the year December 31,2005, LMG had $ 78.8 billion in consolidated revenue. The company has 102-nd rank on the Fortune 500 list of largest corporations of the United States. The group has been offering wide range of products that include personal automobile, assumed reinsurance, group disability and among other things fire and safety insurance. It was in the year 2001 and 2002, that the group was reorganized as a mutual holding company structure. There are three principal mutual companies of the group, that are known as Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and Employers Insurance Company of Wausau, and each of these companies are separate from one another. There are four strategic business units of the group, but none of the single units, contribute more than 30% of the net premium. Liberty Mutual has always been “helping people live safer, more secure lives.”

Personal Market
Our largest business segment provides the full line of coverage for many private passengers automobiles, homeowners and valuable possessions, through its own sales force in more than 400 offices throughout the United States, with two response centers, appointed by Prudential agents and the internet. The biggest source of new business is more than 9000 affinity group relationships that include employers, credit unions and other alumni associations.

Commercial Markets
Liberty Mutual’s Commercial market has been able to provide sophisticated risk, along with disability management and also risk transfer services. There is a national market that serves complex needs of many large companies and also Business Market, that serves the needs of middle market businesses, which provides full lines of insurance and also creative risk transfer products. We provide short and long term disability products and services for many large business houses. There are markets that offer a comprehensive array of captive services that includes rent-a-captive service that includes fronting, claims management, loss prevention and also underwriting.

Agency Markets
The markets of Liberty Mutual Agency, consists of property and casualty insurance, that includes carriers distributing their products and services through many independent agents and brokers The following companies shall provide you with a comprehensive list of personal and commercial coverage’s.

America First Insurance (Gulf Region);
Colorado Casualty (Mountain Region);
Golden Eagle Insurance (Pacific Region);
Hawkeye-Security Insurance (North Central Region);
Indiana Insurance (Midwest Region), which also includes Go America Auto Insurance;
Liberty Northwest (Pacific Northwest Region);
Montgomery Insurance (Southeast Region);
Peerless Insurance (Northeast Region)
Wausau Insurance Companies (National)

We provide you with many kinds of specialty operations that include Liberty Mutual Surety and also Summit Holding Southeast, Inc.

International Operations

We provide international services in 11 countries that include Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Hong Kong, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, and Venezuela. There are also international underwriters, which provide you with global specialty lines insurance and reinsurance through writes casualty, specialty causality and also marine energy engineering

Integrity
We are required to behave with integrity, because there are many people who build their lives on our promises and trust us thoroughly, so that we keep our promises.

Dignity and Respect
We believe in treating all people with dignity and due respect. We can build long lasting relationships, only by treating our customers and each other with dignity and due respect.

Superior Products and Services
It has always been our aspiration to provide you with superior products and services at rates that are comfortable to the customers, and also allow us to make a reasonable amount of profit. It is through this shared commitment that helps us to create a culture of performance and growth.

Click here to submit your review.

Liberty Mutual

Rating 0
/ /
    cancel

Home Insurance Robbery

Oct 15, 2013 by Anonymous

We insured our home in the middle of the housing market crash. We started in 2006 with a premium of $1,262. Then, when the home values continue going down, the premium started to go up! In 2007=$1,453....up again in 2008=$1975 (this year we filed a claim due to the big storm that destroyed the tree-house), then in 2009=$2,201....and in 2010=$3221!!After filing a complaint to the Insurance Bureau, we received around $1500 back. Please, don't use it!


Inefficient

Sep 19, 2013 by Anonymous

We have had this crap company for over a decade. They are so inefficient that they have taken MONTHS to settle. They call in adjusters from places so far away that they have not the slightest idea of building costs or needs in the north east. In our last claim, it took 8 months to settle and we had five adjusters!


Wrong Name, Wrong Address

Mar 06, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I insured two condos, two cars, and my house all with Liberty Mutual. I was in the process of deeding one of the condos when we had a water pipe break. My mailing address for all of the policies has always been in Oceanside, but somehow the agents got confused. They made out the checks to cover the damages to my son and mailed them to the wrong address. He did not realize what they were for and deposited them into his account. When I complained to Liberty Mutual about the mix up they were unwilling to do anything to rectify the situation since from their perspective they had fulfilled their obligations.


False Statements, Denial Of Claim

Mar 01, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was rear-ended by one of their insured. The liability was 100% clear. They denied payment of my car claiming that their insured told them I may have had previous damage on my car. They never inspected my car, but had me submit pictures of my own car to them. They did inspect their insured\'s vehicle to make sure her damage matched the damage caused to my car. I submitted pictures of their insured\'s vehicle to them as well. The damage was very obvious. In their phone message to me when they denied the claim, they said their insured\'s vehicle did not have any damage in the front of her vehicle! In view of the pictures I have of both vehicles, clearly showing the damage to both cars, it flat-out is a lie that their insured had no damage or that I had previous damage to my car. Their conduct is unethical, outrageous and in bad faith.


Low Ball Total Loss

Feb 13, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I purchased a full coverage policy for my car. Not long after, the car caught fire on the highway. A firetruck came, put out the flames. The tow truck towed it to a nearby shop. The shop quoted the damages in excess of $7,000. Liberty Mutual sent out their first adjuster, and promptly called me back to tell me they would cover about $900. I had to call and email multiple times before anyone ever called me back. A supervisor finally did call me back and promised to have a second adjuster come out. After about 3 weeks, a second adjuster dropped by the shop, but all he said was that he had to get a specialist to look at it. They both argued with the techs at the auto shop about the cause of the fire and finally settled on a factory defect. Liberty Mutual said that the verbiage of the policy limited them to only fixing the damage from the fire, not the mechanical breakage. They paid out $2,800 and I promptly dropped them as my insurance.


Dropped Us

Feb 08, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Liberty Mutual just dropped us. we've been paying our premiums for 25+ years of paying premiums and we've had no claims. Last year, they also raised our auto insurance rate by 30%.


Unheard Of Service

Jan 17, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Recently my classic old Volvo was caught in a flood. Liberty Mutual was quick to provide a rental car and after a few days, had the Volvo appraised by an outside service. After my check arrived, I received a call asking if I had time to go over the settlement. A day later I was told I would be receiving an additional check for nearly $500. I could not believe an insurer would offer me more after I had accepted the first amount. What a wonderful surprise!! Thank you all for such wonderful service. You've just made a customer for life!!


Increasing Premiums

Jan 16, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

In the 12+ years that I have been a Liberty Mutual customer, I have never been involved in an accident or received a ticket. Last year my premium went up by $500. This year it is over $700. I can't help but wonder if they are discriminating against me because of my age.


Dangerous Property Damage Not Covered

Jan 04, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I just don't know how long I have to wait to hear something with this dangerous situation I have existing on my property. No one seems to care at all and I had no part in this accident which occurred on my lawn by the client of Liberty Mutual Insurance Group. This winter might be my waterloo, and the tree might well come down in any storm with high winds or heavy rains (to say nothing of heavy snow). And it had the capability of going into the close street where there are many school buses and much regular traffic. I cannot see how any "responsible" insurance company or your office cannot be totally aware of this status, and how neither of you can see it is of the essence. But, obviously you both do, since this is over a year that I am fighting for my rights. Liberty Mutual's Claims Team Manager, has libeled me in her letter to me. She said I have committed insurance fraud by insinuating my "own insurance company has said that this tree is not damaged." I have never gone through my insurance company with this claim. Why would I? It was Liberty Mutual's driver who received a ticket (as told to me by police) for reckless driving for missing the curve in the road and driving into my property causing me much damage and trauma from that day forward. When is it right for anyone to say I have contacted my insurance company? And this is the second time I have been told this. Once, they came right out and said, "You also contacted your own insurance company, and that is considered fraud.' I agree, if I, in fact, did that. But, I most certainly did not. They claimed she said when interviewing her that she was not texting and didn't even have a cell phone. Well, we found her cell phone months later totally crushed among the trees. They also damaged around my electrical box. All of those trees had to come down also, but they took no responsibility for them at all, in fact, never addressing them. I have pictures to show. It is where the medical personnel brought all their equipment to save the driver, who they thought initially was deceased. However, she survived after being air-lifted to a hospital. The crew at Liberty Mutual said she did not impact my oak tree. She impacted both a maple and an oak, and I have the pictures here to prove it. The oak, in fact, was the tree they did all their work near. Her driver's door was wedged up against it, and they tried desperately to reach her through that door but couldn't, since she was so impacted against that oak. The front of one bumper in the front of her car hit the maple tree and that was treated with tree repair as soon as possible. They sent out the "expert" tree man who said the oak tree was not damaged at all and sent a picture of 'it" to prove his allegation. The only problem was he circled the maple tree and the oak tree. Right next to it was "totally dead." And this "expert" could not see this or the "tree for the forest"?


Fast

Dec 24, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My experience has been great, fast and knowledgeable reps who take care of their customers. Keep up the great work!


Insurance USA , USA 3.5 127.0 139 139 Well, after many years of loyalty to Liberty Mutual, I've finally pull the trigger and switched. I faced another substantial rate increase after enduring several years with increas