Humana is a registered trademark of Humana and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Humana

Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Humana Health Insurance has almost 9-million members, which makes them one of the largest publicly-traded health insurance companies. Humana has a reputation for making the most of new opportunities and making positive changes. The company is highly regarded throughout the healthcare insurance industry.

Humana Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.8
    cost
  • 1.2
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.4
    overall rating

Based on 114 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

The company is the largest Fortune 500 Company headquartered in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. With $21.4 billion in revenue, Humana has a market cap of over $13 billion dollars. Employing over 25,000 nationwide and maintaining a customer base of over 11 million, Humana is located in all 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico as well as Western Europe. In recent years, Fortune Magazine recognized Humana Health Insurance as one of the Top 5 Most Admired Healthcare Companies in the United States.

The company is constantly seeking new and innovative methods to keep health insurance costs at affordable levels. Humana encourages all of its members to consider their health coverage options and to take an active role in their own healthcare management and prevention. Humana Health Insurance offers their SmartSuite plans, which have been designed to help subscribers design their own coverage.

Offering comprehensive health insurance coverage and other such products and services to individuals, employers groups, as well as government-sponsored plans, Humana is effectively a one-stop-shop to build complete personalized insurance packages. In addition to basic health coverage, Human Health Insurance also has various specialized products such as life, dental, and disability insurance.

Humana works closely with companies of all sizes in order to ensure they find the best health insurance coverage and services for their employees. Small businesses receive the same personalized offerings as the large ones so everyone because at Humana Health Insurance, everyone is equally important.

Click here to submit your review.

Humana

Rating 0
    cancel

Less than ZERO rating

Mar 13, 2015 by Anonymous

I paid $43 each month for coverage. AT 2 year that is about $1030 that I paid with the agreement that I would receive compensation for dental work done. I had crown work and regular checks in the amount of about $2500. My reimbursement should have been about $400. I have received ZERO dollars. They lost my claim I sent. When I called, they said it didn't matter why, but once a year goes by they will not pay the claim. They lost the claim receipt and refused to pay because they were the reason for time lapsing! I've had 3 representatives promise to monitor my refund, email me on updates, etc. I email them and they will not email me back. This company is SHAM, SHYSTERS. NO ETHICS, NO feeling of RESPONSIBILITY toward customers who keep them in business, who pay their salaries.


Humana sucks

Feb 11, 2015 by Anonymous

The new Humana Affordable Care Act coverage is so expensive and I was made to take it. It costs me $150 more each month for nothing extra. I didn't get my ID card and it is 2 months now into the new year. I didn't get my February statement to pay so I paid without it and I still didn't get confirmation after 9 days. Lousy service. I am changing.


Incompetence of Humana

Dec 15, 2014 by Anonymous

I have been on the phone trying to get information about my options for another plan for over 8 hours. I am being bounced around like a rag doll. NO ONE has the correct information. This morning alone, I have been on hold for various periods of time for 3 hours. I STILL don't have the information I need. THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE CUSTOMER SERVICE I have ever got. I even wrote to Bruce Broussard, the CEO of Humana. So far, no answer. Maybe by plastering his name all over the Internet, I might actually get somewhere.


So Frustrated

Dec 10, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Husband currently in the donut hole of Medicare so we go through the prescription mail order to save some money. Find out through Costco we can get the meds $100.00 less. Called RightSource December 3, 5, and 8 and still they hadn't processed the order. On December 10, 2014 we decided to go through Costco but find out that RightSource finally sent the meds. Now we have to wait until the meds are in our hands and try to return them and get our money back. We're just thankful we opted to go to another Advantage Plan starting January 1, which won't come soon enough


So Far, So Bad...

Aug 04, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

One of the worst that I have ever had. They kept raising premiums and lowering coverages. I specifically called to find out about payment for a vision exam. Was told it was covered for one annual vision examination. I even went to one of their \"preferred providers\" specifically to be sure it would be covered. I ended up paying for all of it.


Humana Not Paying Pre-Authorized Coverage

May 03, 2014 by Anonymous

I called Humana in September 2013 to get clear information on taking my kids to the dentist. There was not a dentist for them within 50 miles of Logansport, Indiana, so they gave me authorization numbers for them so they could be presented in the claim. The kids went to the dentist, the authorization numbers were used, but Humana never paid. I just got the full bill for my kids in May 2014. These were just well check visits. Humana is a lousy insurance company. Out of the three years I paid them Bi-weekly for dental coverage this incident was my only claim. What a worthless company! I hope they are brought to justice!


Disgusted, Dismayed, Distrust

Apr 04, 2014 by Anonymous

Customer service puts you through 45-90 minutes of BS, then the call drops, or you are told they do not have a record of your cancellation. I cancelled my policy, and three weeks later was billed for it. When I called to solve \"their\" problem, I was put through another series of holds with different people, for about another 45 minutes.


One of the Worst Mistakes Ever

Mar 14, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Humana is ridiculously bad. I have already had to complain to my state insurance board about their vision plan. Now, I have to do the same thing regarding their dental plan.
I chose a costly plan based on the benefit information they provided to ehealthinsurance stating that they cover bridgework with no waiting period.
Waiting period? They now claim it isn't even a covered benefit. Period. Nothing on the ehealthinsurance website excludes it, and nothing in the Humana plan documents says that it is excluded.
Humana out and out lied about the coverage on the ehealthinsurance web site, and didn't include any information on their own website indicating that bridgework was not covered. According to ehealthinsurance, there is nothing they can do to make Humana honor their obligation.
To top it off, I am contractually obligated to pay this ridiculously high premium for no useful coverage at all for a year! I guess I have to honor my legal obligations, but they don't.
I am done with Humana. If they turn out to be my only option, I will work with my dentist to see what can be done with no dental insurance. Frankly, if the medical community would make its services affordable, I would do without insurance completely.


HumanaOneDental = Poor Coverage

Feb 27, 2014 by Anonymous

The website misleading on benefits. They tell you to review the benefits package carefully. Never received this material. Never received any Certificate of Obligation. Now try and get someone at customer service - common practice is to encourage you to stay on the line
because you are a valued customer, after twenty+ minutes the call is suddenly disconnected. You want to wait another 20+ minutes - good luck.
One telephone connection, good representative and somewhat helpful, but if you have to justify some shoddy practices you can sense his frustration.


Horrible

Feb 06, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The customer service is horrible. If you have not enrolled in Humana yet, please don\'t do it. I was unable to get an appointment, because they have not sent me the ID card for two months. Every time I call Humana, the call is dropped or there is damage to the system. A lot excuses and not solve anything.


Insurance USA , USA 6.8 127.0 114 114 I paid $43 each month for coverage. AT 2 year that is about $1030 that I paid with the agreement that I would receive compensation for dental work done. I had crown work and regula
Page:
123»