Hartford is a registered trademark of Hartford and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Hartford

Hartford Insurance is one of the largest and popular insurance companies that is based in the United States. It was founded in the year 1810, and has offices in Japan, Ireland England and United States. It is now more than 200 years since the company is in the business of selling insurance products. The company has nearly 30000 employees, with a $ 2.3 billion income. The company has been ranked in the 78th in the fortune 100 list of the companies. Today the company is said to be the leading provider of different annuity, mutual funds and other saving plans. Today the company is said to be the largest seller of individual annuities in the United States, supplying different kinds of insurance products to the members of American Association of Retired Persons (AARP). Millions of customers are served world wide with the services of the company, provided with the help of insurance agents, brokers and financial instituitions. There are around 11000 independent agencies, along with 100000 registered brokers.It was in the year 2004 that Hartford purchased the Group Benefits Division of CNA Financial Corporation.

Hartford Ratings

  • 2.3
    coverage
  • 2.1
    cost
  • 1.5
    service
  • 1.3
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 73 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More About Hartford Insurance
Hartford Insurance is one of the largest insurance providers of the nation, and provides various kinds of insurance services that includes group life, group disability and other kinds of individual life insurance products. The Company was founded in the ear 1810, and is considered to be the oldest of the subsidiaries of Hartford Insurance. In the year December 2005, the total assets and stockholders equity of the company was considered to be $ 285.6 billion and $ 15.3 billion. The company is a holding company and is quite distinct from its subsidiaries. It has no significant operations of its own, thus making full reliance on the dividends from the in insurance companies. The company has always made efforts to maintain a balance and thereby enhance its position as a market leader in the case of insurance. There is a strategy of the company that helps in the development and selling of diverse and innovative products, through the many distribution channels, thereby developing and distributing the distribution channels, by achieving the cost efficiencies, and maintaining different techniques of risk management and also prudent underwriting techniques, that capitalizes on the brand name of the company.

There are two major operations of the company, in the form of Life and Property and Casualty Insurance, and each of these consists of different segments. It was in the quarter ended December 31 2005, that there was a change in the reporting segments in order to reflect the manner by which the different decision makers view the managent. There is also maintenance of retail mutual fund operation, through which the company provides different kinds of investment management and administrative services to the families of 48 mutual funs and different investors. The mutual funds of the company are owned by the shareholders of those funds and not by Hartford Insurance. The business of the company is conducted in ten operating segments, and many times includes the different debt financing and related interest expenses as well as certain purchase accounting adjustments.

Hartford Insuranceretail has been offering fixed, variable and retail mutual funds, that includes different types of stable value products, including structured settlements, and also annuities. Today Hartford Life Insurance is one of the most consolidated life insurance groups, that is based on the statutory assets, under the management, as on December 31, 2005.Today the company is one of the largest insurance providers of the United States, with the third party assets of $ 32.7 billion. There is also a life generated income of $1.2 billion, $1.4 billion and $845 in 2005, 2004 and 2003, respectively.

Click here to submit your review.

Hartford

Rating 0
    cancel

Canceled On

May 01, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I signed up over the phone and even received my policy package, then got a call saying that I needed to fill out an application. I faxed it to the number given and 4 months later I hear from DMV that I have NO INSURANCE. The rep claims that she never got my fax!


Too Strict = Bad Experience

Apr 19, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Even though we have never filed a claim with any home insurance company and have excellent credit, Hartford refused to add new policy for another home our daughter rents from us. So many ifs, ands, and buts simply because my daughter lives there more than us. Despite the house being in our name, they insist my daughter buy the insurance. They insist I could put her on the deed some day ... thus making her not a true renter. I would have to kick her out and put someone in who is unrelated to call it a rental. And they say I don't stay there enough to call it my own even though I informed them I do fall within what state law calls "owner occupied"... at least once every 30 days.


Former Employee POV

Apr 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Claims 101 Mantra: Find a way to justify and deny claims. This is 180 degrees out from how the senior management handled business until 2008. After the hedge funds crashed down on AIG & HIG partnered investments, it was amazing how bad things got. Sadly they have worse over the years.


AARP Kickbacks

Mar 09, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Hartford Insurance and AARP are in bed with each other. Hartford will start you out with a very low policy because you are an AARP member and after around three years it has more than tripled... and that is with having no claims. When your insurance goes up, that is when AARP fills their hands with you money with a kickback.


High Quotes!

Feb 20, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Just based on getting a quote and the insulting way I was treated, I would NEVER BUY Hartford Insurance. The quote was $100 MORE than my currant insurance!


Triple Cost For Old Female Driver

Feb 08, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My cost tripled in one year. I had been with them for over 10 years when they said I was driving too many miles. I did some research and found that it was related to my age. It also was discrimination against female drivers. I came to find out that a male who is 4 years older than myself and who drove 50 more miles than myself could get a rate at half the price.


Rates Tripled

Feb 03, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They will have good rates the first year. After that, if you drive more than 10 miles per week, then your rates will triple.


Giving My Dad $17 For His Claim

Jan 31, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My father had a small claim for some apartment damage. They told him that AFTER he pays his $500 deductible, and after they depreciate all his items, his payout would be $517! So, actually, It's $17!!


Worst Experience with Claim Reps

Jan 24, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They did not cover damages for my car. I understood that I was not covered for under-insured motorists even though the website makes it seem as though uninsured and under-insured is the same insurance. I was advised to recover my car from tow yard so that I would not incur additional charges for storage fees. After my car was towed home, they sent an appraiser for an estimate of repairs. The appraiser arranged for my car to be towed after assuring us that we would not be responsible for any charges. They denied that the appraiser worked for them and refused to reimburse any fees I was forced to pay to recover car. They refused to help me in any way, I was denied the opportunity to speak to any supervisors.


Being Charged For An Accident That Never Happened

Jan 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My husband borrowed my dad's truck to go to Indiana a couple of months ago. A few days later, my dad was contacted that he had been in an accident. That is completely false. My husband called and was greeted by a rude rep. There was not even a police report. I don't understand how a claim was even made. They even refused to give him information about about where it supposedly happened and about the other party involved. A guy then went to see the "damage" on my dad's truck and obviously there wasn't even a scratch. the guy even said not to worry about it since there was no damage. Now, 4 months later, they're already sending my dad to a collections agency and we never even received a bill! My husband called and they just said he needs to pay it even though they still refuse to give us any information about where the accident supposedly happened, information about the other party, or even a police report!


Insurance USA , USA 6.9 127.0 73 73 Not sure about this company rates are not completely compatible with other company's in area aarp indorse them not sure why they are ripping off seniors big time