Hartford is a registered trademark of Hartford and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Hartford

Hartford Insurance is one of the largest and popular insurance companies that is based in the United States. It was founded in the year 1810, and has offices in Japan, Ireland England and United States. It is now more than 200 years since the company is in the business of selling insurance products. The company has nearly 30000 employees, with a $ 2.3 billion income. The company has been ranked in the 78th in the fortune 100 list of the companies. Today the company is said to be the leading provider of different annuity, mutual funds and other saving plans. Today the company is said to be the largest seller of individual annuities in the United States, supplying different kinds of insurance products to the members of American Association of Retired Persons (AARP). Millions of customers are served world wide with the services of the company, provided with the help of insurance agents, brokers and financial instituitions. There are around 11000 independent agencies, along with 100000 registered brokers.It was in the year 2004 that Hartford purchased the Group Benefits Division of CNA Financial Corporation.

Hartford Ratings

  • 2.3
    coverage
  • 2.1
    cost
  • 1.5
    service
  • 1.3
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 73 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More About Hartford Insurance
Hartford Insurance is one of the largest insurance providers of the nation, and provides various kinds of insurance services that includes group life, group disability and other kinds of individual life insurance products. The Company was founded in the ear 1810, and is considered to be the oldest of the subsidiaries of Hartford Insurance. In the year December 2005, the total assets and stockholders equity of the company was considered to be $ 285.6 billion and $ 15.3 billion. The company is a holding company and is quite distinct from its subsidiaries. It has no significant operations of its own, thus making full reliance on the dividends from the in insurance companies. The company has always made efforts to maintain a balance and thereby enhance its position as a market leader in the case of insurance. There is a strategy of the company that helps in the development and selling of diverse and innovative products, through the many distribution channels, thereby developing and distributing the distribution channels, by achieving the cost efficiencies, and maintaining different techniques of risk management and also prudent underwriting techniques, that capitalizes on the brand name of the company.

There are two major operations of the company, in the form of Life and Property and Casualty Insurance, and each of these consists of different segments. It was in the quarter ended December 31 2005, that there was a change in the reporting segments in order to reflect the manner by which the different decision makers view the managent. There is also maintenance of retail mutual fund operation, through which the company provides different kinds of investment management and administrative services to the families of 48 mutual funs and different investors. The mutual funds of the company are owned by the shareholders of those funds and not by Hartford Insurance. The business of the company is conducted in ten operating segments, and many times includes the different debt financing and related interest expenses as well as certain purchase accounting adjustments.

Hartford Insuranceretail has been offering fixed, variable and retail mutual funds, that includes different types of stable value products, including structured settlements, and also annuities. Today Hartford Life Insurance is one of the most consolidated life insurance groups, that is based on the statutory assets, under the management, as on December 31, 2005.Today the company is one of the largest insurance providers of the United States, with the third party assets of $ 32.7 billion. There is also a life generated income of $1.2 billion, $1.4 billion and $845 in 2005, 2004 and 2003, respectively.

Click here to submit your review.

Hartford

Rating 0
    cancel

No Disability Benefits

Jan 09, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

A total bust! For years I paid into disability insurance through my work, if I should ever need it. Well I needed it and all I got from The Harford was denial, denial, denial. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! They won't be there for you you if you need it.


Wanted To Up Payment By Unknown Amount

Jan 04, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My husband had a variable life insurance policy for nearly 20 years with automatic payment from our checking account. I received a letter one month stating a cash value low and that we needed to up the payment--they could not say to what amount. We were told to send a blank check, which we did not do. Next month, they lapsed the policy. So now, we don't have any life insurance.


Slow Claim Processing

Dec 26, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My wife has had insurance thru Hartford with her company for 30 years and now needs to use her benefits to get paid til she can return to work. Hartford has not paid her benefits for two months now so my Medicaid check is stretched to the limit. We have called everyone and been promised "The check is in the mail". Well we had no Xmas gifts for our grand kids or great grand kids. I have never seen the lack of humanity or compassion these people have. Still have not heard from these people.


Slow Response and Low Estimate

Dec 19, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have paid my premiums rise for the past 5 years. When hurricane Sandy hit, it took weeks to get an adjuster. Every time you called, you got a message saying "voice mail box is filled". Every time I asked for the executive officers phone number, I was told it is unavailable. When my adjuster did arrive, he never gave me the estimate. When I finally received it after complaining, not one item could be repaired for the amount we received.


Waiting... Just Waiting...

Nov 28, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

In two more days it will be 3 weeks since my claim was reported and there's still no adjuster at the body shop and I don't even have a loaner car. This is outright not caring for your customers. I did not create the accident. My car was parked and my employee backed into the front of my Prius. I needed this car during the gas shortage or at least another loaner car and nothing was done to help me.


No Customer Service

Nov 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Hartford has not responded to my calls and emails about filing a claim. Their customer service is terrible.


Little Coverage

Oct 24, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

All of the bids for the repair needed for my car after the accident are over $1,000. Hartford is telling me to repair car and that they will work out the difference with the repair shop! Right now they are offering to pay only $500.


Dropped For 2 Claims in 2 Years

Sep 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We have had our home insured with Hartford for nearly 10 years. We have owned our home for 35 years and have made a total of 4 claims in that time. Two were for hail damage to our home in many years past (before we had Hartford) and last year we had hail damage to our garage roof including some other minor property damage which we filed a claim on. It was a relatively small claim compared to all of our neighbors who had their HOUSES re-roofed also. In the early part of this year, a portion of our fence blew down, so we called Hartford. They paid $150 in repairs. When our renewal came up recently, we were DROPPED because we filed TWO claims in two years. If we would have known this was there policy, we wouldn't have filed on the fence.


won't Pay A Dime In A Million Dollar Claim

Aug 06, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My husband drove an 18 wheeler for 28 years and the company he drove for carried Hartford Auto Insurance to protect the drivers from un-insured motorists. Over 4 years ago my husband was hit head-on by an illegal/un-insured/non-licensed drunk driver. My husband had to have 2 surgeries and suffered debilitating pain and headaches. He also suffered from a closed-head injury because the other driver turned into his truck at the last minute and my husband didn't have time to brake so the seat-belt didn't engage and he hit his head on the front windshield. Hartford LOVED collecting the premiums from the company my husband worked for BUT they REFUSE to pay the million dollar claim. My husband also ended up with cognitive problems. He just doesn't think the way he did pre-accident and it takes him a long time to verbalize his thoughts AND he ended up getting Parkinson's Disease after the accident. So Hartford is blaming all the problems on the PD and say that if he didn't have PD he could go back to work.


Cancelled Small Business Policy

Jul 23, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We were terminated by the Hartford due to last winter's bad weather, they said the loss ratio was really high. Other small businesses were also terminated for the same reason... like we can control mother nature.


Insurance USA , USA 6.9 127.0 73 73 Not sure about this company rates are not completely compatible with other company's in area aarp indorse them not sure why they are ripping off seniors big time