Farmers is a registered trademark of Farmers and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Farmers

Farmers Insurance Background
The Farmers Insurance is the third largest company in terms of private passenger airlines and homeowners insurance. Farmers Insurance operates in 41 states and with its headquarters in Los Angeles, California offering employment to about 18,000 employees, many independent contractors and agents. Farmers Insurance was created in 1928 and Farmers Insurance Exchange, an auto insurer was formed. In later years, Farmers insurance grew and expanded due to customer and market demands, Farmers formed new companies such as Fire Insurance Exchange and Truck Insurance Exchange to service automobile and homeowner’s insurance customers. Farmers Insurance Group now serves over 15 million customers in 41 states.

Farmers Ratings

  • 2.5
    coverage
  • 2.4
    cost
  • 2.0
    service
  • 1.7
    claims
  • 2.2
    overall rating

Based on 52 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Farmers Insurance offers many different types of insurance and financial services to its customer base.  Farmers Insurance Group, Inc. is the holding company for the insurance management services group. Affiliated companies such as Truck Underwriters Association, Fire Underwriters Association, Insurance Exchange, Foremost Insurance Company, a leader a leader in different industrial products such as mobile homes, travel trailers, motor homes, Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, all these companies are linked together under the umbrella of Farmers Group, Inc.

More about Farmers Insurance

Farmers Insurance was established in 1928. Farmers is based in Los Angeles in California and operates in 41 countries with a workforce of 18,000 employees plus independent contractors and agents. Farmer’s was the first auto insurance in the United States, and is well known for offering discounts for the owners of the different hybrid vehicles. Farmers insurance made the first offering in automobile insurance, and in later years, other services offered such as home and commercial insurance as the company expanded in different markets. Farmers insurance offers a complete call center that provides 24/7 customer service to its customers.

Farmers Insurance In The News

Farmers Insurance Mobilizes Claims Team to Wichita, Kansas Area
April 24, 2006

Farmers Insurance becomes Major Corporate Sponsor of the Oklahoma Centennial Commission
February 28, 2006

Farmers Introduces New Texas Family Home Policy
February 22, 2006

Farmers Insurance Group’s Freedom’s Song To Debut In Los Angeles
February 25, 2006

Farmers Announces A National Black History Educational Initative For Educators
February 2, 2006

Farmers Announces New Executives
January 12, 2006

Farmers Insurance Group HelpPoint® Call Center Named J D Power and Associates Certified Call Center
December 5, 2005

Farmers Insurance To Host Onsite Bilingual Job Fair in Oklahoma City
December 2, 2005

Farmers Insurance Group HelpPoint® Call Center Named J D Power and Associates Certified Call Center
Farmers Insurance Appoints President of Business Insurance Division

November 15, 2005

Farmers Announces First-ever Hybrid Vehicle Discount in California
October 17, 2005

Farmers Announces Hurricane Katrina Loss Estimates
October 5, 2005

Farmers mobilizes claims team to Southern California
September 30, 2005

Farmers extends the billing cycle for customers affected by Hurricanes Rita and Katrina
September 26 ,2005

Farmers Announces 10 5% Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction for Oklahoma
August 30, 2005

Farmers Announces 15% Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction for Texas
August 22, 2005

Farmers Increases Its Presence At The Black Expo 2005
July 12, 2005

Farmers Agents Qualify for Industry Award
June 14, 2005

Farmers Insurance "Second Annual Farmers Insurance Study Ranks Most Secure U S Places To Live"
June 06, 2005

Farmers Insurance Motorists Claim Distractions Affect Their Driving
May 25, 2005

Farmers Insurance Helps Customers Affected by M2 Automotive Closure
May 2, 2005

Farmers Announces Another Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction
April 26, 2005

Farmers Extends Time Limit On Claims In Alabama For Hurricane Ivan
April 15, 2005

Farmers Increases Home Security Discount For Ohio, Wisconsin and Indiana Customers
March 22, 2005

Farmers Insurance Files For Lower Rates For Colorado Auto Customers
March 07, 2005

Farmers Insurance To Provide Free Civics And Literacy Education Materials To Texas Teachers
February 17, 2005

Farmers Insurance Wins Award At New York Film & Video Festival
February 7, 2005

Farmers Insurance Survey Shows 1 in 3 U S Drivers Admit to Racing Through Stop Lights
January 25, 2005

Farmers Sues Auto Glass Business For Submitting Phony Windshield Claims And Seeks A Court Order To Halt Fraud And To Recover Damages
January 13, 2005

Farmers Enters Float in 2005 Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade
December 29, 2004

Farmers Announces Cindy Vance as Agent of the Year
December 27, 2004

Farmers Announces New Texas Rating Plan
December 6, 2004

Farmers Insurance Survey Shows 7 in 10 Motorists Say They Exceed Posted Limits on Highways Despite High Fatality Rates
November 10, 2004

Farmers Insurance Claims Announces Hurricane Loss Estimates
October 17, 2004

Farmers In Its Fifth Year As Black Business Expo Sponsor
September 7, 2004

Farmers Continues Its Attack On Body Shop Fraud, Seeking A Court Order To Halt Fraud And To Recover Damages
September 2, 2004

Farmers Appoints Brian Cohen Chief Marketing Officer
July 15, 2004

Farmers Ads are a Big Hit
June 30, 2004

Farmers Names Cindy Vance 2003 Agent Of The Year
June 28, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group and The American College Forge an industry leading alliance
Farmers Insurance Group Offers Rate Decrease as well as Discounts to Engineers, Firefighters, Police Officers Physicians and Surgeons, Registered Nurses, Scientists and Teachers in Colorado

May 17, 2004

Farmers Insurance Ranked Top Insurance Company In Arizona
May 11, 2004

Farmers Offers New Discount To Customers In Tennessee and Arizona
Farmers Offers Arizona Customers Substantial Discounts

April 20, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group Offers Rate Decrease as well as Discounts to Engineers, Firefighters, Police Officers, Physicians and Surgeons, Registered Nurses, Scientists and Teachers in Oklahoma
April 16, 2004

Farmers Insurance Launches University of Farmers for Agents
Farmers Insurance Offers New Discount To Customers In Alabama and South Dakota

March 16, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group announces multi-line discounts for 8 states
February 17, 2004

Farmers Introduces Home/Life Discount for California Homeowners
February 10, 2004

Farmers Insurance Wins Top Honor In New York Film Festivals
Farmers Insurance Lowers Rates For South Dakota Auto Customers

February 4, 2004

Farmers Insurance Survey reveals one in ten has snoozed while driving
January 28, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group announces multi-line discounts for 13 states
January 13, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group Enters Float in Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade "Your Home is Your Castle"
December 30, 2003

Farmers Insurance says preparing for catastrophes may save your life when you encounter trouble on the road
December 18, 2003

Farmers to Offer Home Discount to Life Insurance Customers
December 15, 2003

Farmers Insurance Claims Team poised to assist victims of California fires
October 27, 2003

Farmers Receives Approval For Lower Rates For California Homeowners
October 14, 2003

Farmers Insurance to exit Medical Malpractice Business
September 19, 2003

Farmers Insurance Honors National Baby Safety Month With Safety Tips for Parents
September 2, 2003

Farmers Wants to Help Families Protect Their Children, Learn More About Their Health, and Make Their Community Safer
September 2, 2003

Farmers Insurance Lowers Rates For Illinois Auto Customers
August 27, 2003

Farmers Insurance Hosts Its 1st Bring Your Child To Work Day
August 12, 2003

Farmers expands the Affinity Discount in South Dakota, Montana, Missouri and Indiana
August 11, 2003

Farmers to Appeal Texas Department of Insurance Homeowners Insurance Rate Order
August 8, 2003

Farmers lowers rates for Kansas Auto Customers
July 22, 2003

Farmers Announces Safety Program For Teen Drivers
July 10, 2003

Farmers Advertising Team Hauls Home the Loot
July 2, 2003

Farmers to begin limited return to new Texas Homeowners Market
July 1, 2003

Farmers expands the Affinity Discount in Ohio and Minnesota
June 23, 2003

Farmers Files For Lower Rates For Nevada Homeowners
June 16, 2003

Farmers Insurance and LoJack Corporation Form Strategic Marketing Alliance to Fight Vehicle Theft

February 11, 2003

Farmers Insurance Expands Claims Center – Oklahoma City Center to Add up to 450 New Employees
December 4, 2003

Farmers Insurance Announces Agreement to Continue Texas Homeowners Insurance Business
November 30, 2002

Farmers Develops Financial Blueprint Tool to Help Consumers Break Through Financial Security Gridlock
November 19, 2002

Farmers Continues its Commitment to African American Communities
October 3, 2002

Farmers Life Insurance Named to Ward’s 50 Benchmark Group
September 26, 2002

Farmers Insurance Announces Non-Renewal of Texas Homeowners Insurance Policies
September 24, 2002

Farmers Insurance Honors National Baby Safety Month With New Tips for Parents
September 12, 2002

Farmers Insurance Re-Launches American Promise Website
September 4, 2002


Farmers Insurance Group Recognized by National Flood Insurance Program for Top Sales Growth

July 17, 2002

Farmers Sues Body Shop in Contra Costa County (CA) to Combat Insurance Fraud
July 16, 2002

Farmers Insurance Introduces Y E S Discount in Texas
July 11, 2002

Farmers Insurance Claims Team Poised to Assist Victims of Rodeo/Chediski Fire
June 28, 2002

Farmers Advertising Team Hauls Home the Loot
June 26, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Indiana, Virginia and Kentucky
June 17, 2002

Farmers Insurance Provides Scholarships to Teachers through Western Governors’ University
June 4, 2002

Farmers FastQuote Launches in Nevada — Receive Free Auto Insurance Quotes Online with Farmers FastQuote
June 4, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in South Dakota and Ohio
May 17, 2002

Farmers Helps Celebrate Curious George’s 60th Birthday
May 8, 2002


Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Kansas, Tennessee and Oregon

April 18, 2002

Farmers Gets First Place for Human Resources Award
Mar 28, 2002

Farmers FastQuote Launches in California — Receive Free Auto Insurance Quotes Online with Farmers FastQuote
Mar 19, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Arkansas, Nevada, Washington, Montana and Wyoming
Mar 18, 2002

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Announces Another Resource for New Parents — the Addition of the Financial Services Section on the NewParents Farmers com Website
Mar 11, 2002

Farmers Announces Homeowner’s Insurance Discount to Gated Communities in Nevada
February 19, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in California, Utah, Iowa and North Dakota
February 14, 2002

Farmers Announces Agreement with Detectives’ Endowment Association of New York City
February 13, 2002

Farmers Insurance Offers its Agents Computers
February 5, 2002

Farmers Annuity Gets Top Honor
January 7, 2002

Farmers floats take top prizes at Tournament of Roses and Fiesta Bowl Spirit of America parades
January 1, 2002

Farmers Redefines Customer Care Through Revolutionary New Service
November 26, 2001

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Arizona, Colorado and Minnesota
November 26, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group Announces Agreement with Blue Cross of California and Unicare
Farmers Insurance Group Announces Agreement with Unicare

November 1, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Announces A Community Website For New Parents
October 29, 2001

Farmers Insurance Hosts Open House at new Kansas City HelpPoint Center
October 12, 2001

Farmers Insurance Commits to Educating Ventura County Youths About the Dangers of Fire
October 1, 2001

Farmers Supports the L A Black Business Expo and Trade Show as a Premier Sponsor to Help Businesses
September 24, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group and Educaid Announce Two Winners of Education Scholarship Sweepstakes
September 11, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Offers Discount to New Parents
Farmers Insurance Group® Launches Website for Teachers

September 10, 2001

Farmers Creates Alliance With Leading Investment Firms
April 30, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group and Educaid Announce Education Scholarship Sweepstakes
April 23, 2001

Farmers to Expand Pocatello Insurance Operations
April 16, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group® and Ulico Insurance Group Enter Exclusive Agreement
March 22, 2001

Bank of America and Farmers Insurance Announce Strategic Alliance For Growth

March 20, 2001

Farmers Insurance Responds to Seattle Earthquake
February 28, 2001

Farmers appoints New Executive Directors for Oklahoma, Alabama and Oregon
December 20, 2000

Farmers upgrades contact centers
December 12, 2000

Farmers appoints New Executive Directors for Ohio and Nebraska
November 28, 2000

Farmers® catastrophe claims team on the ground serving customers
May 26, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists storm victims
May 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team poised to assist victims of Cerro Grande fire
May 15, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group names e-Business executive
May 4, 2000

Farmers Homeowners Plus program provides repair or replacement for appliances, systems

May 1, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists victims of yesterday’s tornadoes
April 24, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group donates to Nebraska Colleges, Universities
April 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists victims of yesterday’s tornadoes
Farmers Homeowners plus insurance provides repair or replacement for appliances, systems

March 29, 2000

Farmers tests new claims solution; shares customer relationship management "best practices" at conference
February 28, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group donates to New Mexico and Oklahoma Colleges, Universities
Farmers Insurance Group makes substantial contributions to Texas education

February 17, 2000

Farmers appoints new state executive director for Oregon
January 28, 2000

Farmers appoints new chief marketing officer
January 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group brings 500 new jobs to Kansas City metro area
January 13, 2000

More than 2 Million Ohio Drivers May Qualify for Additional Insurance Discounts
January 13, 2000

Farmers announces lower rates and a helpful Auto Buying Solution for the new millenium
January 1, 2000

Click here to submit your review.

Farmers

Rating 0
    cancel

Poor Customer Service

Jan 27, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

You may think the rates are cheaper so you switch to Farmers like my relatives did... Do not fall for their cheaper rates. If you have a claim, you will regret the switch because you get what you pay for! My aunt had a simple claim where her car slid into an electric pole due to icy conditions. Her car was totaled by Farmers. The local guy who inspected the vehicle on Thursday could not even give her a value on her car. Instead he sends her claim to some guy in their Oklahoma office who does not even inspect the car, but is suppose to be able to determine the fair value on her car. We were given his number and we called, he tells us he got the claim but cannot get to it today since he cannot work beyond his 40 hrs/wk. We were just appalled that he tells his customers this. Monday and Tuesday there was no contact from him. We emailed him so we can get everything documented and asked if he would prefer we work with his supervisor. He finally replies to our email. He has low-balled us on the value and refuses to negotiate.


Slow Claim Processing

Jan 20, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Filed a claim after an accident and it took the adjuster 1 whole day to call me back. He then proceeded to schedule my vehicle inspection 1 week after the accident. This means that my car sat at the repair shop for a whole week waiting on Farmers to assess the damage.


won't Accept Liability

Dec 14, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was hit by one of their clients who claimed she stopped at a stop sign and didn't. Even the police report is in my favor due to how our cars were positioned. It took a week, but they finally admitted they were liable. Now when its time to settle, they suddenly changed their mind.


Too Expensive

Nov 16, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I understand that I am young and that I have two tickets, but $340/month is a joke. Not only that but at times they keep charging me more or too early without my acknowledgement.


Terminated After Two Claims

Oct 21, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We had two small claims that totaled $7,000. They cancelled our insurance before ever completing the work. They notified our mortgage company and "flagged" us to other insurance companies before even notifying us. Our agent did not advise us of their "2 claims in 3 year policy" to terminate.


Left Customer Behind

Jul 14, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

A lady backed into my wife's car in the parking lot. The other driver refused to take the blame, so her insurance company refused the claim. My insurance closed the case without let us know about what happened and ask us to pay the deductible to get the car fixed or to make a claim with other insurance company.


Never Again

Jun 17, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My car was rear ended by a Farmers' customer. They wouldn't pay for the repairs and instead offered to pay the price based on this CCC database which showed cars with 75k more miles in markets such as Bakersfield. I wasted more than one year trying to get them to fix my car.


Poor Claims Process Practices

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They sell you insurance, then fight you all the way when you have a claim.


Increasing Costs

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

When I moved to US from Australia and purchased a comprehensive auto insurance policy with Farmers in CA. They had given me a good deal. Then I moved to Tennessee and was asked to take out a new policy since it was a different state and had different conditions. I agreed and met the concerned local agent . My policy amount was increased from what was in California. I agreed to the initial increase which was like 10% to 20% to what I was paying out at California. I paid in full for six months along with rental insurance. Then I received a new changed policy from Farmers asking me to pay an additional 60%. I was given a reason stating that I did not have adequate history of insurance and that back at California they had made a mistake. When I argued, they asked me to submit proof of prior insurance, which in turn would help them to drastically reduce the policy premium which they had increased without consent. I had to ring up my Australian Insurance agents and ask them to fax my record (which incidentally is a clean one with no claims or accidents since 2005).To my utter dismay there has been no roll back what so ever.


High Premium + Bad Service

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The Farmers premium is so high and worst service ever. We had auto insurance with them over 15 years and we wasted our money. We switched to a different company and the premium is same amount. With a new company, I could add my son (17 years old) with additional car and covers $500,000, but the Farmers covers only $30,000 liability. When we had an accident (100% other's fault), the Farmers never helped us. The new company just helped us even it was 100% other's fault and collected money in 45 days. And our premium won't go up.


Insurance USA , USA 7.1 127.0 52 52 Not only is their customer service disgustingly terrible, they screw up payments. We have only had a policy for three months; every single month we have had a problem with them. F