Farmers is a registered trademark of Farmers and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Farmers

Farmers Insurance Background
The Farmers Insurance is the third largest company in terms of private passenger airlines and homeowners insurance. Farmers Insurance operates in 41 states and with its headquarters in Los Angeles, California offering employment to about 18,000 employees, many independent contractors and agents. Farmers Insurance was created in 1928 and Farmers Insurance Exchange, an auto insurer was formed. In later years, Farmers insurance grew and expanded due to customer and market demands, Farmers formed new companies such as Fire Insurance Exchange and Truck Insurance Exchange to service automobile and homeowner’s insurance customers. Farmers Insurance Group now serves over 15 million customers in 41 states.

Farmers Ratings

  • 2.5
    coverage
  • 2.4
    cost
  • 2.0
    service
  • 1.7
    claims
  • 2.2
    overall rating

Based on 52 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Farmers Insurance offers many different types of insurance and financial services to its customer base.  Farmers Insurance Group, Inc. is the holding company for the insurance management services group. Affiliated companies such as Truck Underwriters Association, Fire Underwriters Association, Insurance Exchange, Foremost Insurance Company, a leader a leader in different industrial products such as mobile homes, travel trailers, motor homes, Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, all these companies are linked together under the umbrella of Farmers Group, Inc.

More about Farmers Insurance

Farmers Insurance was established in 1928. Farmers is based in Los Angeles in California and operates in 41 countries with a workforce of 18,000 employees plus independent contractors and agents. Farmer’s was the first auto insurance in the United States, and is well known for offering discounts for the owners of the different hybrid vehicles. Farmers insurance made the first offering in automobile insurance, and in later years, other services offered such as home and commercial insurance as the company expanded in different markets. Farmers insurance offers a complete call center that provides 24/7 customer service to its customers.

Farmers Insurance In The News

Farmers Insurance Mobilizes Claims Team to Wichita, Kansas Area
April 24, 2006

Farmers Insurance becomes Major Corporate Sponsor of the Oklahoma Centennial Commission
February 28, 2006

Farmers Introduces New Texas Family Home Policy
February 22, 2006

Farmers Insurance Group’s Freedom’s Song To Debut In Los Angeles
February 25, 2006

Farmers Announces A National Black History Educational Initative For Educators
February 2, 2006

Farmers Announces New Executives
January 12, 2006

Farmers Insurance Group HelpPoint® Call Center Named J D Power and Associates Certified Call Center
December 5, 2005

Farmers Insurance To Host Onsite Bilingual Job Fair in Oklahoma City
December 2, 2005

Farmers Insurance Group HelpPoint® Call Center Named J D Power and Associates Certified Call Center
Farmers Insurance Appoints President of Business Insurance Division

November 15, 2005

Farmers Announces First-ever Hybrid Vehicle Discount in California
October 17, 2005

Farmers Announces Hurricane Katrina Loss Estimates
October 5, 2005

Farmers mobilizes claims team to Southern California
September 30, 2005

Farmers extends the billing cycle for customers affected by Hurricanes Rita and Katrina
September 26 ,2005

Farmers Announces 10 5% Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction for Oklahoma
August 30, 2005

Farmers Announces 15% Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction for Texas
August 22, 2005

Farmers Increases Its Presence At The Black Expo 2005
July 12, 2005

Farmers Agents Qualify for Industry Award
June 14, 2005

Farmers Insurance "Second Annual Farmers Insurance Study Ranks Most Secure U S Places To Live"
June 06, 2005

Farmers Insurance Motorists Claim Distractions Affect Their Driving
May 25, 2005

Farmers Insurance Helps Customers Affected by M2 Automotive Closure
May 2, 2005

Farmers Announces Another Workers’ Compensation Rate Reduction
April 26, 2005

Farmers Extends Time Limit On Claims In Alabama For Hurricane Ivan
April 15, 2005

Farmers Increases Home Security Discount For Ohio, Wisconsin and Indiana Customers
March 22, 2005

Farmers Insurance Files For Lower Rates For Colorado Auto Customers
March 07, 2005

Farmers Insurance To Provide Free Civics And Literacy Education Materials To Texas Teachers
February 17, 2005

Farmers Insurance Wins Award At New York Film & Video Festival
February 7, 2005

Farmers Insurance Survey Shows 1 in 3 U S Drivers Admit to Racing Through Stop Lights
January 25, 2005

Farmers Sues Auto Glass Business For Submitting Phony Windshield Claims And Seeks A Court Order To Halt Fraud And To Recover Damages
January 13, 2005

Farmers Enters Float in 2005 Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade
December 29, 2004

Farmers Announces Cindy Vance as Agent of the Year
December 27, 2004

Farmers Announces New Texas Rating Plan
December 6, 2004

Farmers Insurance Survey Shows 7 in 10 Motorists Say They Exceed Posted Limits on Highways Despite High Fatality Rates
November 10, 2004

Farmers Insurance Claims Announces Hurricane Loss Estimates
October 17, 2004

Farmers In Its Fifth Year As Black Business Expo Sponsor
September 7, 2004

Farmers Continues Its Attack On Body Shop Fraud, Seeking A Court Order To Halt Fraud And To Recover Damages
September 2, 2004

Farmers Appoints Brian Cohen Chief Marketing Officer
July 15, 2004

Farmers Ads are a Big Hit
June 30, 2004

Farmers Names Cindy Vance 2003 Agent Of The Year
June 28, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group and The American College Forge an industry leading alliance
Farmers Insurance Group Offers Rate Decrease as well as Discounts to Engineers, Firefighters, Police Officers Physicians and Surgeons, Registered Nurses, Scientists and Teachers in Colorado

May 17, 2004

Farmers Insurance Ranked Top Insurance Company In Arizona
May 11, 2004

Farmers Offers New Discount To Customers In Tennessee and Arizona
Farmers Offers Arizona Customers Substantial Discounts

April 20, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group Offers Rate Decrease as well as Discounts to Engineers, Firefighters, Police Officers, Physicians and Surgeons, Registered Nurses, Scientists and Teachers in Oklahoma
April 16, 2004

Farmers Insurance Launches University of Farmers for Agents
Farmers Insurance Offers New Discount To Customers In Alabama and South Dakota

March 16, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group announces multi-line discounts for 8 states
February 17, 2004

Farmers Introduces Home/Life Discount for California Homeowners
February 10, 2004

Farmers Insurance Wins Top Honor In New York Film Festivals
Farmers Insurance Lowers Rates For South Dakota Auto Customers

February 4, 2004

Farmers Insurance Survey reveals one in ten has snoozed while driving
January 28, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group announces multi-line discounts for 13 states
January 13, 2004

Farmers Insurance Group Enters Float in Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade "Your Home is Your Castle"
December 30, 2003

Farmers Insurance says preparing for catastrophes may save your life when you encounter trouble on the road
December 18, 2003

Farmers to Offer Home Discount to Life Insurance Customers
December 15, 2003

Farmers Insurance Claims Team poised to assist victims of California fires
October 27, 2003

Farmers Receives Approval For Lower Rates For California Homeowners
October 14, 2003

Farmers Insurance to exit Medical Malpractice Business
September 19, 2003

Farmers Insurance Honors National Baby Safety Month With Safety Tips for Parents
September 2, 2003

Farmers Wants to Help Families Protect Their Children, Learn More About Their Health, and Make Their Community Safer
September 2, 2003

Farmers Insurance Lowers Rates For Illinois Auto Customers
August 27, 2003

Farmers Insurance Hosts Its 1st Bring Your Child To Work Day
August 12, 2003

Farmers expands the Affinity Discount in South Dakota, Montana, Missouri and Indiana
August 11, 2003

Farmers to Appeal Texas Department of Insurance Homeowners Insurance Rate Order
August 8, 2003

Farmers lowers rates for Kansas Auto Customers
July 22, 2003

Farmers Announces Safety Program For Teen Drivers
July 10, 2003

Farmers Advertising Team Hauls Home the Loot
July 2, 2003

Farmers to begin limited return to new Texas Homeowners Market
July 1, 2003

Farmers expands the Affinity Discount in Ohio and Minnesota
June 23, 2003

Farmers Files For Lower Rates For Nevada Homeowners
June 16, 2003

Farmers Insurance and LoJack Corporation Form Strategic Marketing Alliance to Fight Vehicle Theft

February 11, 2003

Farmers Insurance Expands Claims Center – Oklahoma City Center to Add up to 450 New Employees
December 4, 2003

Farmers Insurance Announces Agreement to Continue Texas Homeowners Insurance Business
November 30, 2002

Farmers Develops Financial Blueprint Tool to Help Consumers Break Through Financial Security Gridlock
November 19, 2002

Farmers Continues its Commitment to African American Communities
October 3, 2002

Farmers Life Insurance Named to Ward’s 50 Benchmark Group
September 26, 2002

Farmers Insurance Announces Non-Renewal of Texas Homeowners Insurance Policies
September 24, 2002

Farmers Insurance Honors National Baby Safety Month With New Tips for Parents
September 12, 2002

Farmers Insurance Re-Launches American Promise Website
September 4, 2002


Farmers Insurance Group Recognized by National Flood Insurance Program for Top Sales Growth

July 17, 2002

Farmers Sues Body Shop in Contra Costa County (CA) to Combat Insurance Fraud
July 16, 2002

Farmers Insurance Introduces Y E S Discount in Texas
July 11, 2002

Farmers Insurance Claims Team Poised to Assist Victims of Rodeo/Chediski Fire
June 28, 2002

Farmers Advertising Team Hauls Home the Loot
June 26, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Indiana, Virginia and Kentucky
June 17, 2002

Farmers Insurance Provides Scholarships to Teachers through Western Governors’ University
June 4, 2002

Farmers FastQuote Launches in Nevada — Receive Free Auto Insurance Quotes Online with Farmers FastQuote
June 4, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in South Dakota and Ohio
May 17, 2002

Farmers Helps Celebrate Curious George’s 60th Birthday
May 8, 2002


Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Kansas, Tennessee and Oregon

April 18, 2002

Farmers Gets First Place for Human Resources Award
Mar 28, 2002

Farmers FastQuote Launches in California — Receive Free Auto Insurance Quotes Online with Farmers FastQuote
Mar 19, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Arkansas, Nevada, Washington, Montana and Wyoming
Mar 18, 2002

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Announces Another Resource for New Parents — the Addition of the Financial Services Section on the NewParents Farmers com Website
Mar 11, 2002

Farmers Announces Homeowner’s Insurance Discount to Gated Communities in Nevada
February 19, 2002

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in California, Utah, Iowa and North Dakota
February 14, 2002

Farmers Announces Agreement with Detectives’ Endowment Association of New York City
February 13, 2002

Farmers Insurance Offers its Agents Computers
February 5, 2002

Farmers Annuity Gets Top Honor
January 7, 2002

Farmers floats take top prizes at Tournament of Roses and Fiesta Bowl Spirit of America parades
January 1, 2002

Farmers Redefines Customer Care Through Revolutionary New Service
November 26, 2001

Farmers Offers Multiple Lines Discount to Customers in Arizona, Colorado and Minnesota
November 26, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group Announces Agreement with Blue Cross of California and Unicare
Farmers Insurance Group Announces Agreement with Unicare

November 1, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Announces A Community Website For New Parents
October 29, 2001

Farmers Insurance Hosts Open House at new Kansas City HelpPoint Center
October 12, 2001

Farmers Insurance Commits to Educating Ventura County Youths About the Dangers of Fire
October 1, 2001

Farmers Supports the L A Black Business Expo and Trade Show as a Premier Sponsor to Help Businesses
September 24, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group and Educaid Announce Two Winners of Education Scholarship Sweepstakes
September 11, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Offers Discount to New Parents
Farmers Insurance Group® Launches Website for Teachers

September 10, 2001

Farmers Creates Alliance With Leading Investment Firms
April 30, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group and Educaid Announce Education Scholarship Sweepstakes
April 23, 2001

Farmers to Expand Pocatello Insurance Operations
April 16, 2001

Farmers Insurance Group® and Ulico Insurance Group Enter Exclusive Agreement
March 22, 2001

Bank of America and Farmers Insurance Announce Strategic Alliance For Growth

March 20, 2001

Farmers Insurance Responds to Seattle Earthquake
February 28, 2001

Farmers appoints New Executive Directors for Oklahoma, Alabama and Oregon
December 20, 2000

Farmers upgrades contact centers
December 12, 2000

Farmers appoints New Executive Directors for Ohio and Nebraska
November 28, 2000

Farmers® catastrophe claims team on the ground serving customers
May 26, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists storm victims
May 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team poised to assist victims of Cerro Grande fire
May 15, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group names e-Business executive
May 4, 2000

Farmers Homeowners Plus program provides repair or replacement for appliances, systems

May 1, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists victims of yesterday’s tornadoes
April 24, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group donates to Nebraska Colleges, Universities
April 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance claims team assists victims of yesterday’s tornadoes
Farmers Homeowners plus insurance provides repair or replacement for appliances, systems

March 29, 2000

Farmers tests new claims solution; shares customer relationship management "best practices" at conference
February 28, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group donates to New Mexico and Oklahoma Colleges, Universities
Farmers Insurance Group makes substantial contributions to Texas education

February 17, 2000

Farmers appoints new state executive director for Oregon
January 28, 2000

Farmers appoints new chief marketing officer
January 17, 2000

Farmers Insurance Group brings 500 new jobs to Kansas City metro area
January 13, 2000

More than 2 Million Ohio Drivers May Qualify for Additional Insurance Discounts
January 13, 2000

Farmers announces lower rates and a helpful Auto Buying Solution for the new millenium
January 1, 2000

Click here to submit your review.

Farmers

Rating 0
    cancel

Constant Issues

Oct 09, 2013 by Anonymous

Not only is their customer service disgustingly terrible, they screw up payments. We have only had a policy for three months; every single month we have had a problem with them.
First month - the automatic payment was not taken out on the day we were assured it would be. We panicked and made a manual payment. We had an incredibly hard time getting that extra payment refunded, and somehow the account got behind. When we finally talked to someone that we thought would help, they assured not only me but my local agent that we would have a double payment taken out in September, and then our account would be fine.
Second month - The double payment was NOT taken out in September. Supposedly we were supposed to make a manual payment too, but we were assured verbally that the payment would be taken out in full by auto payment. We were never informed otherwise.
This month - They decide to take the double payment out this month, because they fucked up last month. We had budgeted for the double payment in September, and only had budgeted enough for ONE payment this month, as we assumed it was resolved. I lost my job recently so we have to be really strict with our budget, and this completely put us in the hole. Not only did my account overdraft because of their stupidity, now I am hit with $100 extra dollars in overdraft fees! Now our essential bills such as POWER to our house can\'t be paid, nor can I buy food to sustain my family.


Increased Rates Without Cause

Jun 17, 2013 by Anonymous

There are four drivers in my household (two 45+ & two under 23 years old). All of us have clean driving records: no tickets, accidents, or claims of any kind. I expected higher rates with two younger drivers and wasn't shocked by the initial premium of $280 a month. When my rate increased to $380 a month my agent had no explanation. In June of 2013 I was informed that my rate would increase to $490 per month, LOL. After being with the Farmers for 22 months, I had enough! I'm now with a different company and pay $187 per month for the same coverage. I won't share the name of the current company because the purpose of my story is not to advertise. I hope my story helps someone out there avoid the headaches of dealing with farmers insurance.


Rude Customer Service

Feb 08, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Farmers' customer service reps, adjusters and inspectors are rude! The adjuster was talking to me as if the tree that went into my house was my fault and not a result of the storm which blew through our neighborhood. He believes that I caused the damage when the 30+ ft tree put its 5ft limb through my roof!


Rate Hikes!

Feb 06, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Farmers keep on jacking up my rates! My experience with the claims department has been horrible as well. It took a claims person a week to come look at my car and it was only a fender bender that I had got into.


$1,500 Settlement For $11,000 In Damages

Jan 17, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

When I first signed up, I told agent that we had t-lock shingles on our roof. She didn't care and wrote our policy with a deductible of $1,000. When we were hit with a bad hail storm, we put in a claim for damage. The adjuster came out and advised us that we had a $9,000 deductible on wind/hail damages. I checked into it. In January we were sent a very vague letter letting us know that we were assessed a 5% deductible. It didn't state on what it would be attached to, so I am thinking that it would be another 5% of the repair costs. No, it is attached to the entire replacement cost of the whole home which is worth $183,000. So, for an $11,00.00 claim, we were offered $1,500 for the repairs.


Accused Of Stealing My Own Truck

Jan 16, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My truck was stolen from a dealership lot and found 4 days later. It has been completely stripped - no tires, rims, carpet, seats, dash equipment, etc... Farmers denied my claim. They said that I stole the truck or that my son had something to do with the theft. I have no criminal background or record. I am not in debt. The men who stole my truck and were actually a part of a theft ring in the area were caught. They are now serving state and federal prison time. Farmers came up with another reason to deny my claim. They said that I made false statements during a deposition. I found out that I could end up spending an estimate of $25,000 to sue them and still if I won my case, Farm Bureau was going to appeal the courts decision, no matter what. I asked for my insurance premiums back. They gave me back about half of what I had paid and charged me a cancellation fee. They canceled the coverage on my car when the renewal was to take place.


Paying MORE After Discounts

Jan 15, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

After a few months, I noticed that my checks were not being taken out of my bank account. I asked my agent why he wasn't depositing my checks. He claimed that he had never gotten any checks and told me that I had a bill of $800. I paid it in full and canceled all the checks and my bank account. I opened a new bank account and got a new agent. He told me that I qualified for numerous discounts that I wasn't getting before. I was very excited about all these discounts. After I got my first bill, I asked my agent why all of a sudden my policy was so much higher after all of those supposed discounts has been applied. He responded with, "coincidentally your premium went up at the same time." I have never had a ticket or accident so my insurance should never be going up. I told him to cancel the life policy and refund me the money. He said "yes", but two months later my life policy is still active and they continue to pull money. So I cancelled my insurance with them all together.


Very Deceptive

Jan 11, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was a passenger in my wife's SUV when we were rear ended. I got treated at the scene from EMS only. I was offered a settlement of $1,081. The letter I have says they are offering the settle directly to me upon receipt of their release form. I signed the form, they mailed a check made out to me and my wife and the EMS. They tell me the letter where they offer this payment to only me was just a form letter they send out everyone. I returned the check and wrote void on it and I am demanding for them to honor what they they offered they say they can not do it. So, I am just out now. Farmers got my signature with that promise so they were very deceptive.


Raised Rates Because Of Traffic Ticket

Jan 08, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I've had auto (3 vehicles) and homeowners insurance through Farmers insurance for over 30 years with no accidents or tickets on my record. Now, because of a traffic ticket (not stopping at a stop sign which was hidden in the branches of a tree in another state), my insurance premium has been raised by $400 annually. According to our agent the good driver rating has been removed because of this one incident (which did not cost Farmers a dime). It is infuriating since I pay high premiums for insurance and then when there is one incident as this the rates are increased even more. I think this is an unfair practice and believe me I am shopping around for another insurance company.


Raised Rates After Claim

Nov 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had Farmers for both my car and home insurance for 25 years and never made a claim. After one auto claim, a $1500 collision, they raised my rates by 50%!


Insurance USA , USA 7.1 127.0 52 52 Not only is their customer service disgustingly terrible, they screw up payments. We have only had a policy for three months; every single month we have had a problem with them. F
Page:
123»