Cincinnati is a registered trademark of Cincinnati and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Cincinnati

Cincinnati Insurance was incorporated in the year 1950, by many independent agents, who made the property casualty insurance business as their main business. The company has been offering property as well as casualty insurance business. The Cincinnati Life Insurance Company has been marketing the life and disability income insurance and annuities. It has been supporting the insurance subsidiaries, and the different independent representatives, through the different commercial leasing and financial activities. Asset management and other services to different institutions, corporations are also provided by the CinFin Management Company.

Cincinnati Ratings

  • 2.3
    coverage
  • 2.0
    cost
  • 2.0
    service
  • 1.9
    claims
  • 2.1
    overall rating

Based on 70 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

It was the year 1968, when the Cincinnati Financial Corporation was founded as a holding company and that was able to provide added value to other policyholders. There are two subsidiaries of the company, the Cincinnati Casualty Company, and the Cincinnati Indemnity Company. Both these companies would provide insurance business to families as well as individuals in order to access policies from an insurer, and thereby make a gain in the financial strength of the company.

It was in the year 1970, that CFC Investment Company, started providing lease and financing services to many independent agents and clients.1973 marked the beginning of the operations of life Insurance, and the two life insurance companies merged in order to form The Cincinnati Life Insurance Company. Today the company is between the top 25 property and casualty insurance companies of the United States that is based on the consolidated revenues of the company.

What is Cincinncati Insurance’s main business?

The main business of the company is insurance. In the year 2004, the company was ranked as 26th largest property and casualty insurance company in the United States that is based on the net written premiums. The CinFin Capital Management Company provides asset management services to the different institutions, corporations and individuals.

2. What type of insurance does Cincinncati Insurance provide?
The company is involved in the selling of casualty and life insurance. In the year 1971, 71% of the premium that was earned came from the commercial lines of insurance, while there were many personal lines that accounted for 26%.There were other kinds of insurance, such as life disability and annuities that account for 3%.

3. How can I find a local Cincinncati Insurance agent?
In order to find a Cincinncati agent, you may be required to call (800) 769-0548 for an agent referral. There are independent agents also available who shall provide you with insurance for our home auto, life or business.

4. How many people does Cincinnati Insurance employ?
Cincinnati Financial Corporation along with its many subsidiaries is known to be employing more than 3983 associates, by the year ended 2005.There are more than 2800 associates who work in the headquarters in Fairfield Ohio. There are more than 1150 field representatives who work out of their homes, in our different agents communities.

Click here to submit your review.

Cincinnati

Rating 0
    cancel

Unprofessional Claims Adjuster

Apr 16, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was involved in an auto accident, the other driver was at fault. The claims adjuster was horrible. Unprofessional, abrupt, and rude. He had my car towed to a salvage yard before I transferred title to the Company. He called me regarding medical treatment and began suggesting treatments...without a medical license. When he dropped off the check for pay off of my car, he then contacted underwriting and told them we were 'running a dog rescue' out of our house. He defined our adopted rescue dogs as running a dog rescue. Once I explained this to the agent, she immediately knew he misconstrued the situation. I believe he did this in retaliation, as I had called the Corporate office since he had not contacted me about my claim and pay out for over a month. I may have had a better experience with another claims adjuster, but at this point, I would not refer anyone to Cincinnati Insurance.


Roof Claim Denied

Apr 10, 2014 by Anonymous

Our house was built in 2001. We bought it in 2005. We have been insured with Cincinnati since 2009. Cincinnati inspected the house at time of the initiation of coverage. We set a deductible at $1,000. In 2014, we recently had shingles blown off our roof. We contacted Cincinnati and they sent an engineer to get on the roof and inspect it. The engineer concluded that the loss was due to improper installation since the roofer put the nails too high on the shingle and rack nailed certain shingles. Cincinnati is denying the claim for coverage. We will have to spend more than $15,000 of our own money on the roof. Cincinnati stand's behind you pick pocketing you for the premiums but disappears when there is a claim. I cannot rate them above a zero.


Waste of Time

Mar 20, 2014 by Anonymous

I was contacted by my agent about my home owners insurance. She told me she could get me a better price for my homeowners insurance but I would have to also switch my auto insurance to Cincinnati Insurance company. I was hesitant but eventually did so. I received a letter a month later indicating I would have to complete a number of repairs and updates within the next 30 days or the policy would be cancelled. I wasn't quite ready to do the repairs at that time but they did need to be done so we got started. As it turned out the repairs, totaling close to $4000.00, were near completion but would not be completed by the due date but actually two days later. When asked about extending that due date two days Cincinnati's reply was, "No. If we extend the date by even one day they would have to extend it for the whole year", EVEN THOUGH THE ASSHOLES WERE ALREADY PAID FOR THE WHOLE YEAR. As a result they cancelled the policy. I was told by my incompetent agent to take pictures after the work was completed to see about reinstating the policy but I acquired insurance through another company at a much higher rate which I am not happy about but I would MUCH RATHER PAY A HIGHER PREMIUM WITH ANOTHER COMPANY THAN DO ANY BUSINESS WITH CINCINNATI INSRANCE COMPANY. I am glad to say I also switched the auto insurance as well. Cincinnati Insurance company is a waste of time, I would NEVER refer this company to anyone.


Dropped Because of Age

Mar 12, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had Cincinnati auto, homeowners and an umbrella policy for over 18 years. I have never made a late payment. I got a notice from Cheri Tuerk, Chief Underwriting Specialist, saying they would not renew my auto or umbrella policies because of claims in January 2012 and January 2013. No further explanation or exactly what these claims were or even a thank you for paying them a large amount of money in a timely manner for the past 18 years. The problem is that this is perfectly legal. The insurance agency through which I had purchased Cincinnati insurance found me a policy with Progressive for over double the premium I had been paying to Cincinnati! I found a policy with USAA that costs just a little more than Cincinnati. What I take away from this is that insurance companies need to be heavily regulated. I understand they are in business to make money but paying two claims (totaling $1500) in 18 years does not make me a poor risk. It just says that insurance companies cannot regulate themselves. My guess is that they are really dropping me because of my age (70). Until there's more regulation you might want to stay away from Cincinnati.


Outstanding Service, Coverage and Rates

Feb 20, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Excellent! Rates are competitive, coverage is very broad. I've had claims that have been handled with great service.
Renewals have been smooth and fair. I have been with Cincinnai for 8 years and highly recommend them.


Huge Rate Increase

Feb 09, 2014 by Anonymous

I just received my renewal billing. I\'ve been with the company for over 20 years and have had no claims. My premium increase was 40% higher than last year. While I always expect some kind of increase, this is outrageous!!!!!


Poor Claims Processing Practices

Nov 22, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The person who caused the car accident and damaged my car had Cincinnati Insurance. Everything was a hassle and nothing is done in a timely manner. My car sat at the body shop for 1 ½ weeks before any work was even approved to be started. The adjuster I had to deal with was miserable and rude! Apparently gets a paid to do nothing! Can’t even get him to answer a phone call! It has been over 6 weeks since the accident and I am still waiting for a reimbursement check! Even the auto body shop that repaired my car had the adjuster’s name in large letters near the phone as a known problem. It took over 3 weeks after I was allowed to pick up the car (good thing) before they sent a check and then it went to the wrong place!


Dropped Me

Apr 26, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Dropped our cars, home, and umbrella policies after nearly two decades. Not one late payment. Did not shop them the entire time. We've had accidents, but what family with four cars and two teenagers doesn't have issues. Not even the curtesy of note of explanation or thanks. All companies may do this, but this is enough to begin pushing for more legislative oversight for insurance companies (state and federal).


Refuse to Cover Accident Damages

Apr 05, 2013 by Anonymous

A client of The Cincinnati Insurance Company rammed the passenger side of my car with her car. I was immediately deemed not at fault. The incident was reported to The Cincinnati Insurance Company. It took 9 days for them to even begin the process of fulfilling their obligations. I had to file a report with the Ohio DOI. When I felt that they were simply going to let the claim ride, I contacted a lawyer. They nearly allowed me to file suit against their client. They displayed lack of concern and their agents were rude. After many threats and days on the phone trying to reach a supervisor, an agent was finally sent to my house to evaluate the damage. I was on foot for 9 days after the wreck because my car was not safe to drive and The Cincinnati Insurance Company would not acknowledge the claim. I was not about to go through my policy, this was the first time in over twenty years of driving, that I had been involved in a wreck. To go through my policy meant a claim against a perfect record and that was not happening. They did provide me a rental for a brief period of time. The amount they provided to cover my totaled car was under blue-book value and they were firm in their offer. I love my car, which over the past 3 years has been totally restored from the ground up, over $1000.00 recently spent on suspension upgrades, with receipts to prove it. Prior to this incident my car never had a single issue, it had a clean title, & had never been involved in a wreck. I bought my car back from The Cincinnati Insurance Company, as I can repair it. I needed a rental for an additional 2 weeks in order to repair my car & to get a salvaged title, which is a very long process in the state I live in. I carry full coverage insurance that covers a rental for 30 days should my car be totaled. The Cincinnati Insurance Company denied my request for a rental, stating that is not how they do things and that I should have just gone through my policy if I expected them to provide me 2 more weeks in the rental because it wasn't happening. So here I am without a car and barely able to afford all the licensing fees and repairs to my car, let alone buy another car. I have concluded after speaking with my insurance company that these people are allotted a certain amount of money for each claim. When money is saved the agent gets a percentage of the saved money. The Cincinnati Insurance Company is not at all concerned about the lousy service they provide and they are extremely greedy. I urge anyone who has been a victim of one of their clients to simply file the claim with their own insurance company if they carry full coverage. It is not worth all the hassle. If you are considering using them for any type of insurance policy, I urge you to proceed with cation, as was previously stated I nearly had to sue their client because it took them 9 days to even start the claim process. No insurance company should place a paying client in the position to be sued.


Impressed With Service

Jan 02, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I moved my home, auto, and umbrella to Cincinnati and have been very happy with them. I have had two claims and was very impressed with their service and that of my independent agent. I would recommend them.


Insurance USA , USA 11.1 127.0 70 70 Our church basement wall fell due to ice/snow freezing and thawing. The Cincinnati claims adjuster came out with their engineer to assess the damage. Cincinnati refused to pay be