Cigna is a registered trademark of Cigna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Cigna

Cigna is the oldest stock insurance company of the United States, whose roots can be traced back to the year1792. It can be related to the founding of the Insurance Company of Northern America. We provide our customers many services and employee benefits, along with other expertise, that helps in the improvement and productivity of the employees. This company has a comprehensive portfolio of different services that includes pharmacy, behavioral, dental disability and life. We are the leading provider of health care and other related benefits that helps to keep the work force quite healthy and productive. We have a wide range of benefits, that includes flexibility of the users future planning and growth, and also the support and choice of the customers. The stock of the company is traded in three stock exchanges in the New York Stock Exchange, Philadelphia Stock Exchange and Pacific Stock Exchange. It provides the public with accurate information and also timely assistance. There are many times when the media is also invited to browse through our newsroom in order to get more information about CIGNA. There are wide range of employers, who are able to create integrated benefit solutions.

Cigna Ratings

  • 1.3
    coverage
  • 1.9
    cost
  • 1.0
    service
  • 1.0
    claims
  • 1.3
    overall rating

Based on 96 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More About CIGNA
There is a consolidated Shareholders equity of $ 5.4 billion and also assets of $ 44.9 billion as on the year ended December 31, 2005 and revenues worth $ 16.7 billion. Today the company is said to be the largest investor owned health care, and also related benefits, that are offered through the workplace, that includes health care products and also group liability for life and also accident insurance. Most of the health care operations are insured and at the same time self funded, in order to support the consumerism and also the health advocacy solutions. There are different kinds of health care operations that range from some of the largest United States Corporations, to the other small enterprises that include employers, and also multiple employers. We are also providing modular benefits for all its clients that include medical management, disease management and other health advocacy charges, for multiple health care vendors. There is a consistent set of services that are made to address the clinical and administrative inconsistencies that are quite inherit ant in the vendor approach.

Cigna has also been providing many kinds of dental health products that include the managed care, and other indemnity services. These dental products can be purchased, and can also be integrated with other products of CIGNA. These customers are provided with 24 hours assistance, through a very secure site that is known as myCIGNA.com.Some of these dental care products are available in the 36 states and also in the State of Columbia. Most of the dentists who are associated with this network, will be receiving a monthly-predetermined fee for the services rendered. The members are responsible for a fixed payment. The other services that are provided by us, include the following:

  • Behavioral health care benefits, along with health care management
  • There are drug coverage plans, both on stand alone basis, as well as in conjunction with the different medical products.
  • There are offers mail order, telephone and online fulfillment services.
  • There are a number of sales representatives, who sell medical cost containment and also manage health care services that are related to insurance companies.
  • They are known to be marketing short term and long term insurance products, in all the states.
  • They are known to be marketing the short term and long term products and services of many of their subsidiary companies.
  • There are also special kinds of insurance benefits that are related mostly, life accident and disability insurance. These insurances are made to many schools and financial institutions.

Click here to submit your review.

Cigna

Rating 0
    cancel

Short Term and Long Term Disability Denied

Jun 03, 2014 by Anonymous

Bought policies thru work because they promoted easier then getting on SSI disability. Now, for the last two years I have fought them. Disability SSI is easier to get on. The reps that I\'ve spoken to say they just need one more thing and then they deny you.


Cigna Refuses to Cover Approved Provider\'s Bills

Jun 02, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Orthonet which is part of Cigna still refuses to pay for 6 of my physical therapy claims even though Cigna\'s website lists Optimium Physical Therapy as one of their providers and it was verified by one of the agents. Also had problems getting my MRI approval, it required a peer review and 12 weeks of physical therapy (which 1/2 has not been paid by Cigna/Orhtonet) before it was finally approved. They denied coverage for my aqua therapy, so am paying that out of pocket.


Cigna Won\'t Pay Providers

May 25, 2014 by Anonymous

If you carry Cigna you can expect to be blacklisted for receiving care.
Provider has submitted claims honored by every other insurance carrier, yet Cigna runs you ragged trying to recover even a penny. They send bill to a third party negotiator, then deny claims 100% if you don\'t accept 1/4- 1/3.
Typical response time is two weeks, so they try and string you out. Crap company. If you pull out a Cigna insurance card you can just keep walking. Your insurance premiums are only padding the company wallet, not paying for your health care.


Stalling

Mar 11, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My claim with cigna for short term disability started in November of 2013. They approved my disability for 3 weeks and then said that my doctors didn't send the updated medical records correctly so they cancelled my claim. They told me I had to request reinstatement and it would take 3 weeks. You will notice a trend with cigna as everything will take 3 weeks. Cigna employees are trained to tell their policy holders that everything will be 3 weeks out.
My new claims adjuster lied to me thatthey were waiting for information from my doctor which would take 3 weeks to get. She promised me that if there was a problem that she would contact me so I could make sure that the doctors were sending my medical records to cigna. After 3 weeks I decided to get an update on the progress of my claim. I was told by her that they hadn't recieved them yet. I finally got my medical records sent to cigna and was told by the adjuster that it would take 3 weeks to review my records. Surprise, 3 weeks !! What incompetence.


Payment Problems

Mar 03, 2014 by Anonymous

First I sat on hold for more than an hour. Then customer service reps were totally lacking in knowledge, and are very argumentative. I wanted to pay the premium with a credit card and was told Cigna does not accept credit cards. Come to find out this is not true. Simply dial 877-484-5967. But the argumentative rep insisted no credit cards are accepted. This is not the first issue I have had with Cigna. I'm gone move my business, they are terrible.


Won\'t Pay For My Wife\'s Mobility After Surgery

Oct 16, 2013 by Anonymous

My wife had a total hip replacement. She is due to be discharged from rehab in a few days and we just found out that Cigna will not pay for crutches or a cane or walker or raised toilet seat for her. $40,000 for a surgery and they are to cheap to pay for a few items so she can get around after discharge.


Orthonet is Terrible

Sep 14, 2013 by Anonymous

Orthonet will not talk to you but yet they feel it is right to deny physical therapy to a 17 year old child so that she can miss school and stay in bed related to severe headaches that can be treated with physical therapy. Cigna blames them and they blame Cigna. Oh boy got letter 7 of 12 sessions denied a couple of days later 9 of 12 denied. When questioned need progress notes. how can you show progress with first visit evaluation and then had to wait 2 weeks for approval to get the agreed 3 of 12 (minus one for eval) and provide progress. Although plan provides 120 sessions a year. Try getting 6 NOT. It is better for them to give a child injections in the head and drug up at night and hope they can preform and go to school. Of course to discuss and invite for someone to see child they say we need progress notes. How do you progress when they don\'t give time. Oh right it is Cigna issue not Orthonet which a lot of PT systems here in mid-west refuse to work with since so ridiculous. Wish they had an active child resorted to bed and see how happy they would be. Maybe the overworked employees whom are told to approve 3 so they can stay employed could open their eyes and see how unrealistic they are. Maybe they need to refund me all my premiums since i must pay out of pocket for help even though I pay for insurance.


CIGNA Denies Claims After Approving Services

Aug 10, 2013 by Anonymous

Received several DENIALS of Services by CIGNA totalling $20,000 that they have refused to pay resulting in notices from the service providers....CIGNA sent me several letters APPROVING a recent brain tumor surgery but when the service providers began to bill for these services CIGNA found one excuse after another to deny a legitimate claim....I am now appealing their decisions and will seek legal counsel to get them to pay these legitimate claims which THEY APPROVED prior to services being rendered.


Overriding Doctor Referrals

Apr 17, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My father-in-law was sent to have an MRI after being referred to a specialist by his PCP because of pain in his foot. The PCP thought at first it was bone spurs but the specialist now thinks it could be a stress fracture. Even though my in-laws pay for Cigna insurance, guess what Cigna won't agree to pay for? The MRI. Adding insult to injury, they've already done some other tests on his foot that Cigna won't pay for either. About $2K worth of tests that my in-laws are now out of pocket having to pay. So obviously Cigna knows better about what foot condition my father-in-law has than his doctors. Ridiculous, outrageous and pathethic.


Recklessly Bad

Apr 08, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

It's discouraging to see so many of the reviews on this site perfectly echoing my own experience with Cigna medical insurance... I, too, had the occasional "issue" with previous insurers but was accustomed to things running fairly smoothly overall. With Cigna (even with one of the very best policies they offer), no fewer than 75% of my claims get rejected/"adjusted" for inane & frivolous reasons (counting on my becoming exhausted & giving up -- sorry, guys: won't be happening with THIS client), our CCC's have had to be re-submitted every few months as they are routinely "lost" (so all incoming claims are flat-out denied until we restart the "fax me personally at this number and I will fix it immediately" b.s.-cycle), customer service is almost universally dismal (the **occasional** thoughtful & patient rep will admit that even THEY don't know what's going on), the website (mycignaforhealth.com) is circa 1998 & provides outdated info on "covered" providers when it provides anything at all... And I could unfortunately go on (to wit: please do NOT get me started on their mandatory "specialty-care" pharmacy "service" -- it is laughable). We're trapped with this coverage due to employer issues, and while I'm grateful for insurance in general, I have never dealt with aggravation on this level with ANY other service provider -- Cigna is disgraceful.


Insurance USA , USA 7.9 127.0 96 96 Please give me a report of customer satisfaction.