Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia is a registered trademark of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia

Company Overview
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Georgia (BCBSGA) has been serving the healthcare needs of Georgians for over seventy years. Together with its affiliates, BCBSGA covers nearly 3-million. The company maintains a high reputation with those subscribers by focusing on consumer needs and empowering them with quality healthcare choices.

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia Ratings

  • 2.0
    coverage
  • 1.8
    cost
  • 1.7
    service
  • 1.7
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 10 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

BCBSGA keeps this customer focus by continually developing products that meet the ever-changing healthcare needs of individuals, families, and their group sponsors. The company’s overarching intent is to create healthcare security for Georgians with intellectual, technical, and financial strength intended to keep healthcare services affordable and available throughout their lifetimes.

History
BCBSGA was founded in 1937 as the Atlanta Blue Cross Plan. In 1939 the Savannah Plan was formed, then followed by the Columbus Plan seven years later. In 1966, the Columbus and Savannah plans merged to form Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia/Columbus. Finally in 1985, Columbus and Atlanta merged to form Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia.

In 1996, the company converted to a for-profit entity, with Cerulean Companies, Inc. functioning as its holding company. Later in 2001, Cerulean merged with WellPoint, one of the largest publicly-traded healthcare organizations.

Current Organization
Founded in 1937, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Georgia today covers 2.8-million Georgia residents and employs about 3000 in officesthroughout the state. Currently BCBSGA has a Large Group Division, which serves businesses employing 51 or more while the Consumer Services Division serves 500,000 individuals and businesses employing 50 or less.

The company also services more than 50,000 Georgia seniors and offers a number of specialty products including dental, life and disability insurance, behavioral health, and more.

Click here to submit your review.

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Georgia

Rating 0
    cancel

Waiting On Hold...

Jan 15, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

BCBSGA lost my new policy and payment, so I have to call every day to see if anything has been found. So far I've spent 3 hours on the phone today, mostly on hold...and when you've been on hold for a while, the BCBSGA phone system kicks you out and you have to start all over. I'm changing from this company as soon as possible.


Lack of Coverage

Sep 28, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They charge a high rate and then do not want to cover anything. They deny, deny, deny. They have left me crippled because they enacted a \"pre-existing condition\" thing even though I had never been treated for it.


Too Many Rate Increases

Mar 03, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Beware of the rates! I get a notice every few months letting me know that my rate has increased. I just had a rate increase of about $20/month in January and now I just received another notice that my rate will increase again over $100/month in April. That is an increase of $135/month in less than one year. Their solution was for me to increase my deductible, but it\'s already high enough for me at $2,500.


Higher Rates For Older Clients

Sep 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They raised my rates over $150/month because of age and did not alert me of change.


Costly, No Coverage

Jul 30, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This company has done everything it can to deny claims and tried to weasel out of paying everything. Because the premiums continue to increase, we have tried to offset by raising our deductibles. Now the premium for a family of 4 is $2,300+/month and we have a %5,000. deductible.


Rate Increases

Jul 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

It's not the best coverage to have. My premiums went up 30% after seeing 2 doctors for prophylactic treatments.


Rejected Me Because They Think I'm A Rodeo Performer

Jan 31, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was rejected for insurance. I was on the phone with them and asked them why, but all they would tell me is wait for the letter in the mail. I finally got the letter in the mail and it said, "Unfortunately, our current underwriting guidelines prohibit us from offering coverage to any applicant who is currently a professional rodeo performer in the state of Texas." I'm unemployed and a nursing student. I called them and told them that I have no idea where they got that information. The lady on the phone put me on hold for a while to look through my application and doesn't know what happened. No one even knows what clown wrote this letter. Apparently, all I can do is fax them an appeal stating my case. It could take 60 days for them to make a decision.


Customer Service Issues

Jun 09, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The worst customer service and communication problems I've ever encountered. Fifty-four minutes on the phone. Transferred five times to five different departments. On hold most of the time. Finally put in touch with local with a local department after being transferred to two departments in FL.


No Coverage

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They will raise your premium and simultaneously deny more and more of the claims that they are responsible to pay. You will pay unbelievable premiums each month, and most of the claims (be it routine office visits or prescriptions) will be denied. Trying to reach customer service is almost impossible and, when you do, you will be given a vague and nonsensical answer with no resolution.


Happy with Blue Cross Blue Shield HRA

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have BCBS HRA coverage now and I have an ZERO problems! I love Lumenos with BCBS. I have had no problems with claims, coverage, or cost. I cannot comment on customer service because I have had no reason to call a representative. Their website is very helpful!


Insurance USA , USA 14.2 127.0 10 10 BCBSGA lost my new policy and payment, so I have to call every day to see if anything has been found. So far I've spent 3 hours on the phone today, mostly on hold...and when you've