Aetna is a registered trademark of Aetna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Aetna

Aetna is one of the leaders in health care and dental pharmacy, providing many kinds of long term and care benefits to all the customers. The main aim of the company has always been to provide health and financial benefits to all its clients. Benefits can be provided to all people, with the help of safe and easy access, along with cost effective, high quality health care services to all the customers, in order to protect their finances from the different health related risks. We have a dedicated team of people, who help people in the achievement of health and financial security. There are around 50 states, to which Aetna is said to be providing health related benefits, along with providing them with enough resources so that they are well informed about the health related problems. Our main aim has always been customer satisfaction, with the help of our large number of innovative products, along with health care benefits. Aetna has a rich heritage of 150 years, and will soon be a leader with a large number of doctors, hospitals, patients, and public officials, taking care of the public health system.

Aetna Ratings

  • 1.6
    coverage
  • 2.2
    cost
  • 1.3
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.6
    overall rating

Based on 210 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Health Care
Health and dental plans are often placed under the health care facilities, and are usually offered on a risk basis as well as employer-funded basis. In case of risk basis, the company assumes most of the responsibility, of the health and insurance, whereas in case of employer –funded basis, the sponsor is under an administrative services contract, and assumes majority of this risk.

Group Insurance
Group Insurance refers to a renewable kind of contract, in which the amount that is required to be paid may be fixed or linked to the wage level of the individuals. There is a special kind of insurance that is referred to as a Group disability insurance that provides employee income replacement benefits, for short term as well as long-term benefits. There are many insurance companies that provide long term and custodial care benefits in a nursing home, adult care homes as well as in home settings.

Large Case Pensions
Large Case Pensions are known to be managing many retirement products that are primarily meant to provide you with benefits, and of contribution plans. There are contracts that provide you with non-guaranteed as well as guaranteed investment options, with separate account products. There are many health care products, that are fully insured and self-funded, that includes HMO, PPO, and Pharmacy, Vision, and all the health plans that provide you with reimbursement programs. On 31st March 2006, there Aetna was able to cover as many as 15.4 million medical members. There is also a dental coverage of 13.3 million members, providing insurance against group life and accidental death and personal loss, along with long term and short-term disability.

Aetna Products and Programs:
There are a large number of products and programs that are offered by Aetna, that is mainly aimed at improving the quality of health care, disease management, patient safety programs, and other kinds of information that is related to disability. We provide all our customers, access to a number of health care tools, that are quite easy to understand, and can also help you in making better decisions relating to all your health care and financial well being. We are the first health insurer who forms a consumer dedicated health plan, and continues to lead the way with the help of a number of products that include HAS, HRA and RRA options. All these benefits are provided to our customers in around 50 states, with the products targeted to small mid sized and large multi site national employers.

More About Aetna
Aetna is a diversified, health benefit Company that is known to be providing a large number of traditional and consumer related health products, along with a large number of medical facilities that includes medical, pharmacy, health, group life and long-term medical health. The company had issued its first medical insurance life policy in the year 1850, after thirty years of coming into business. It was in the year 1996 that Aetna merged with US Healthcare, and became one of the eleven companies to be earning a 100% score on the Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index in 2002.This was also maintained in the following years of 2003 and 2004.

Click here to submit your review.

Aetna

Rating 0
    cancel

Doesn't Care What Your Doctor Says

Jul 15, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had a total hysterectomy that required some additional repairs due to scar tissue from previous surgeries. My doctor said I would need 6 weeks off work. Aetna gave me 4 weeks and said they would extend it based on my post-op visit and my doctor's report. The doctor prepared another report and again stated I needed the full 6 weeks. Aetna took 12 days to deny the claim. I wasn't working, so I lost income. I didn't have any more paid time off due to Aetna denying my days off prior to surgery when I was on narcotics and unable to drive (per my doctor's orders). Even though it is ILLEGAL to drive with narcotics in your system and my job requires me to drive an average of 200 miles per day, they still denied the claim. They don't return phone calls, they don't explain in terms you can understand exactly what they need. They simply don't care what your doctor says!


Cannot See a Doctor

Jul 12, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I called to get a list of doctors I am eligible to see. I then set an appointment with one of the doctors. I was told I was eligible to see him. Then on the day of the appointment, you guessed it, I got a call and was told I wasn't eligible to see said doctor. I calmly tried to contact Aetna. First nobody answers the phone, ever. Then the website acted up in more ways then I can count. I then registered (SORRY TRIED TO REGISTER) to the site, but even after entering the year of my birth, it kept saying "please enter year of birth". I then tried customer support. After technical support told me that I must "register or log in first" about 500 times, I finally got connected with technical support. Can anybody guess what happened next? Technical support told me that it was "currently going through some issues, but we would love to speak with you, please try again later". In the meantime, I haven't been able to see a doctor.


Terrible Short Term Disability

Jul 03, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Terrible short term disability insurance and practices. They treat you as if this has nothing to do with your quality of life, which is further impacted in my case by having no income.


No Major Concerns

May 27, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I've been with Aetna for a long time and haven't had any major concerns. I pay what's my responsibility and they pay theirs, although you do need to keep track. I've had 2 surgeries and only had to call customer service a couple of times. I hated their old phone system, but now they have one that gets you to the right place. I see the complaints on this site, but haven't had anything like that happen to me.


No Coverage

May 26, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I pay $150/week for health insurance. They don't cover a lot! I paid 100% of my prescription of PRENATAL VITAMINS! Over the counter meds were $12. Aetna had me pay $40!! Had blood work done for my pregnancy. Aetna covered 0%. I had to pay $160. Aetna sucks! When I was unemployed I had better coverage with Blue Cross.


Complicated Short Term Disability

May 25, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I too have Aetna thru my job. I went on a leave because of my bad back. They ended up denying my claim so now It's in appeal. The medical examiner at Aetna refuses to speak with the staff at my chiropractor's office and only wanting to speak with with the doctor. The medical staff informs them that the doctor is in surgery on certain days and cannot speak with them. I had to cut my leave short. When I finally received a check, I missed almost a week of pay.


Difficult

May 19, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

For the cost, the coverage Aetna offers is inadequate. We pay a great deal in premiums and receive mediocre coverage. Additionally, Aetna has made a few billing errors in the past that as customers we are expected to forgive and forget. We recently failed to enroll our newborn within the defined 31 day time period (we were a month late) and they refuse to allow us to add our baby to the policy. Did they think we don't want our child coverage when they know we don't have any other option? They were not understanding at all and wouldn't grant us the exception even though we have worked with them on there errors in the past.


Paperwork Mix Ups

May 09, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They can't get anything right and have the nerve to have bad attitudes when THEY ARE WRONG.


Pre-Approved, but couldn't Get Coverage

May 07, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Right now, I'm sitting on several bills totaling over 5 thousand dollars because of Aetna. They send you documentation saying that something will be covered and then they don't honor it. Another example is that my baby daughter needs special food to survive. In their coverage details they say that this food is covered. In fact It's one of the major reasons we picked them. However, when the hospital bills come for this special food, they reject the claims. The hospital even told us that Aetna does this all the time.


Denied Claims

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

There is a reason the premium is cheaper, Aetna looks for ways to deny legitimate claims.


Insurance USA , USA 5.8 127.0 210 210 Aetnas history is to Deny Deny Deny first until patient dies OR files enough appeals to prove they will not go away.This should be considered illegal and criminal and prosecuted