Aetna is a registered trademark of Aetna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Aetna

Aetna is one of the leaders in health care and dental pharmacy, providing many kinds of long term and care benefits to all the customers. The main aim of the company has always been to provide health and financial benefits to all its clients. Benefits can be provided to all people, with the help of safe and easy access, along with cost effective, high quality health care services to all the customers, in order to protect their finances from the different health related risks. We have a dedicated team of people, who help people in the achievement of health and financial security. There are around 50 states, to which Aetna is said to be providing health related benefits, along with providing them with enough resources so that they are well informed about the health related problems. Our main aim has always been customer satisfaction, with the help of our large number of innovative products, along with health care benefits. Aetna has a rich heritage of 150 years, and will soon be a leader with a large number of doctors, hospitals, patients, and public officials, taking care of the public health system.

Aetna Ratings

  • 1.6
    coverage
  • 2.2
    cost
  • 1.3
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.6
    overall rating

Based on 210 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Health Care
Health and dental plans are often placed under the health care facilities, and are usually offered on a risk basis as well as employer-funded basis. In case of risk basis, the company assumes most of the responsibility, of the health and insurance, whereas in case of employer –funded basis, the sponsor is under an administrative services contract, and assumes majority of this risk.

Group Insurance
Group Insurance refers to a renewable kind of contract, in which the amount that is required to be paid may be fixed or linked to the wage level of the individuals. There is a special kind of insurance that is referred to as a Group disability insurance that provides employee income replacement benefits, for short term as well as long-term benefits. There are many insurance companies that provide long term and custodial care benefits in a nursing home, adult care homes as well as in home settings.

Large Case Pensions
Large Case Pensions are known to be managing many retirement products that are primarily meant to provide you with benefits, and of contribution plans. There are contracts that provide you with non-guaranteed as well as guaranteed investment options, with separate account products. There are many health care products, that are fully insured and self-funded, that includes HMO, PPO, and Pharmacy, Vision, and all the health plans that provide you with reimbursement programs. On 31st March 2006, there Aetna was able to cover as many as 15.4 million medical members. There is also a dental coverage of 13.3 million members, providing insurance against group life and accidental death and personal loss, along with long term and short-term disability.

Aetna Products and Programs:
There are a large number of products and programs that are offered by Aetna, that is mainly aimed at improving the quality of health care, disease management, patient safety programs, and other kinds of information that is related to disability. We provide all our customers, access to a number of health care tools, that are quite easy to understand, and can also help you in making better decisions relating to all your health care and financial well being. We are the first health insurer who forms a consumer dedicated health plan, and continues to lead the way with the help of a number of products that include HAS, HRA and RRA options. All these benefits are provided to our customers in around 50 states, with the products targeted to small mid sized and large multi site national employers.

More About Aetna
Aetna is a diversified, health benefit Company that is known to be providing a large number of traditional and consumer related health products, along with a large number of medical facilities that includes medical, pharmacy, health, group life and long-term medical health. The company had issued its first medical insurance life policy in the year 1850, after thirty years of coming into business. It was in the year 1996 that Aetna merged with US Healthcare, and became one of the eleven companies to be earning a 100% score on the Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index in 2002.This was also maintained in the following years of 2003 and 2004.

Click here to submit your review.

Aetna

Rating 0
    cancel

Slow Denials

Nov 10, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The company's customer service is so bad. I actually have a policy that is managed by one of their subsidiaries. Claims from LAST year are still being declined, even after I provided the appropriate documentation. Now, they are being reviewed again after I sent a rude email.


Refused Coverage

Nov 09, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have dental insurance. I have been paying my premium for the last 10 months. Now I am in dental pain. I contacted Aetna, they said I can only visit after 12/1. Today is 11/09. How could they take money and not provide coverage? This is what the rep who I spoke with told me: "Unfortunately, this is how the Dental DMO Policy works. Any changes made before the 15th of the month will be effective the first of the following month. I may contact the dental office and see if they are willing to see you and render services without getting paid for them. With the Dental DMO Policy, you have to elect a Primary Care Dentist (PCD) on file in order to utilize your benefits. The provider gets paid on a monthly basis, based on the names on their roster for that month. You will be able to see the dentist on or after 12/01 for Diagnostic and Preventative Services, Basic Services and Major Services."


Would Not Pay

Nov 03, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They sent me an explanation of benefits telling me that I was responsible for my out patient hospital visit that was in-network because they hadn't received medical records. I would be responsible for the entire bill without any discount. The provider was eventually paid $3,000 out of the $28,000 billed with no patient responsibility.


Cost Cutting Measures

Oct 19, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Aetna insurance is terrible, as long as they are collecting your premiums you do not hear from them, but when they feel they are spending too much money they send this case manager to talk to you to see how much information that they can get from you to use against you. Aetna had my husband transferred to another facility without my permission just to save money.


No One Takes It

Oct 19, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

First, good luck finding some good medical specialists that are not desperate enough to take Aetna. Also, some specialists, behavioral health specialists, will not accept Aetna because they reimburse so low - $16 on a $165 office visit.


Useless

Oct 09, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have filed so many claims with them and have gotten so little back. They pay next to nothing. It feels like a totally useless insurance company.


Drags Out Appeals Process With Denials

Oct 06, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My teenage daughter needed inpatient mental health care and I kept calling to get her pre-certified at an inpatient facility that was recommended by her counselor. Aetna said we should try two other places. One of the places they recommended was for adults only. The other didn't treat my daughter's condition. We told Aetna this and that we wanted them to pre-certify. They kept giving us the run around. Lots of phone calls with no commitment or definitive answer. Finally one of their phone agents said we could send our daughter to the place that was recommended, pay directly, and then submit the claim. It has been six months since we submitted the claim and they have been denying it repeatedly. They tell us to keep going through their appeals process. They just keep denying that the treatment was pre-certified and are also starting to question the medical necessity. It feels like they keep putting up hurdles to wear you down.


Aetna Has Been Awesome!

Jul 29, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My family has been on Aetna and we have never had any problems. This year has been an awful for both my husband and myself, requiring numerous forms of testing to reach a diagnosis, and which is resulting in bypass surgery for my husband. Aetna has been very prompt in their payment to medical providers, and has not denied coverage on anything. Of all the medical insurers I have been with over the years, Aetna has been the best one by far!


Stall Tactics

Jul 23, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Every claim is met with what the provider says is a request for additional information. However when talking with Aetna they say it was sent to me, when in fact I never receive anything from them and it is just a stall tactic to delay claim payment.


Slow Claim Processing

Jul 20, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had an ongoing problem trying to get Aetna to "rerun" a claim. I call, they say its done, but It's not. I have called at least 10 times! Its ridiculous! The doctors listed on their webpage are sometimes actually NOT really on the plan!


Insurance USA , USA 5.8 127.0 210 210 Aetnas history is to Deny Deny Deny first until patient dies OR files enough appeals to prove they will not go away.This should be considered illegal and criminal and prosecuted