Aetna is a registered trademark of Aetna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Aetna

Aetna is one of the leaders in health care and dental pharmacy, providing many kinds of long term and care benefits to all the customers. The main aim of the company has always been to provide health and financial benefits to all its clients. Benefits can be provided to all people, with the help of safe and easy access, along with cost effective, high quality health care services to all the customers, in order to protect their finances from the different health related risks. We have a dedicated team of people, who help people in the achievement of health and financial security. There are around 50 states, to which Aetna is said to be providing health related benefits, along with providing them with enough resources so that they are well informed about the health related problems. Our main aim has always been customer satisfaction, with the help of our large number of innovative products, along with health care benefits. Aetna has a rich heritage of 150 years, and will soon be a leader with a large number of doctors, hospitals, patients, and public officials, taking care of the public health system.

Aetna Ratings

  • 1.6
    coverage
  • 2.2
    cost
  • 1.3
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.6
    overall rating

Based on 210 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Health Care
Health and dental plans are often placed under the health care facilities, and are usually offered on a risk basis as well as employer-funded basis. In case of risk basis, the company assumes most of the responsibility, of the health and insurance, whereas in case of employer –funded basis, the sponsor is under an administrative services contract, and assumes majority of this risk.

Group Insurance
Group Insurance refers to a renewable kind of contract, in which the amount that is required to be paid may be fixed or linked to the wage level of the individuals. There is a special kind of insurance that is referred to as a Group disability insurance that provides employee income replacement benefits, for short term as well as long-term benefits. There are many insurance companies that provide long term and custodial care benefits in a nursing home, adult care homes as well as in home settings.

Large Case Pensions
Large Case Pensions are known to be managing many retirement products that are primarily meant to provide you with benefits, and of contribution plans. There are contracts that provide you with non-guaranteed as well as guaranteed investment options, with separate account products. There are many health care products, that are fully insured and self-funded, that includes HMO, PPO, and Pharmacy, Vision, and all the health plans that provide you with reimbursement programs. On 31st March 2006, there Aetna was able to cover as many as 15.4 million medical members. There is also a dental coverage of 13.3 million members, providing insurance against group life and accidental death and personal loss, along with long term and short-term disability.

Aetna Products and Programs:
There are a large number of products and programs that are offered by Aetna, that is mainly aimed at improving the quality of health care, disease management, patient safety programs, and other kinds of information that is related to disability. We provide all our customers, access to a number of health care tools, that are quite easy to understand, and can also help you in making better decisions relating to all your health care and financial well being. We are the first health insurer who forms a consumer dedicated health plan, and continues to lead the way with the help of a number of products that include HAS, HRA and RRA options. All these benefits are provided to our customers in around 50 states, with the products targeted to small mid sized and large multi site national employers.

More About Aetna
Aetna is a diversified, health benefit Company that is known to be providing a large number of traditional and consumer related health products, along with a large number of medical facilities that includes medical, pharmacy, health, group life and long-term medical health. The company had issued its first medical insurance life policy in the year 1850, after thirty years of coming into business. It was in the year 1996 that Aetna merged with US Healthcare, and became one of the eleven companies to be earning a 100% score on the Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index in 2002.This was also maintained in the following years of 2003 and 2004.

Click here to submit your review.

Aetna

Rating 0
    cancel

Rude Customer Service

Aug 06, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The member services team is absolutely awful and have no idea how to represent the company or offer good service. I was insulted and It's recorded, but no one cares!


Denied And Ignored

Jul 30, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They sold me a policy they discontinued serving. Then they declined to pay a per-authorized procedure. And of course they have TOTALLY ignored my complaints and a formal grievance.


Not Surprised

Jul 11, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They exist to make a profit. They do not exist to make you happy, or even healthy. If they can make a buck by denying you coverage or making you pay more for coverage, then they will. It's called profitability and they excel at it. They have shareholders and they want to report a profit. And the only way to do that is to charge you more money than they spend on you. When you consider that they have to pay not only covered medical expenses, but also the salaries of all those nice people who answer the phones to tell you that your procedure is either not covered or is going to cost a bizillion dollars, you will begin to understand the flaw in the system.


Bed Service For Out-Of-Plan Care

Jun 19, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They're OK for in-plan, but watch out if you have to go out-of-plan. I had an accident while 3,000 miles away, resulting in an emergency visit to a local doctor. After almost a year, Aetna still has not paid the doctor. They have lied and been rude to the doctor's office staff. They also do these same tricks to avoid paying to my husband when he has been referred to out-of-network specialists by his primary doctor.


Costly

Jun 06, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have tried 3 times now to find out how much out-of-pocket expense a doctor visit will cost me and after talking to a rep BEFORE going to the doctor they quote me one thing and then when the bill comes in, I have to pay another! They refuse to accept responsibility for the drastic difference in cost from what their rep told me and the only solution they offer is "take it up with your HR rep."


Clueless And Disorganized

Jun 05, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have been asking these idiots where my payment for an MRI is so it can be placed towards my deductible. They don't have a claim and tell me so I have to file one, but remember if you used an in-network provider, they file the claim. DOH! It was an in network provider, unless It's normal business for them to only charge about $300 for an MRI to anyone. I highly doubt that. Aetna doesn't have other doctor visits on my record either that I paid my horrid high co-pay for. Never have I dealt with such an unorganized screwed up mess as this company.


Useless

May 11, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I applied for this insurance as a part time worker to cover wellness visits for my daughter, until my husband's new insurance started. It took them 4 weeks to start it. I never received my cards. Every time I called they said It's on the way. Finally they told me that my file was incomplete and they did not have my address. Even though they'd sent me things in the mail previously. In the meantime, my husband's insurance kicked in so I no longer needed them. When I called to cancel it, they told me it would take one or two pay cycles for it to stop. How is that possible? I didn't know insurance companies send couriers on foot. So ridiculous.


Cover Nothing

Apr 06, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Avoid this company. Their customer service is awful, finding a doctor especially a specialist that even accepts them is a nightmare, and after a visit or two to the doctor, you will wonder what exactly it is that they do cover. Not a single one of my colleagues has had a even remotely pleasant experience with Aetna and as soon I can change providers I will.


Denies Valid Claims To Save Money

Apr 03, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They denied my claim again at a hearing even though 5 doctors have said that I can't work full time. I am now on food stamps. They took my money just fine though...


Denied Every Single Time

Mar 20, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Because of Aetna I'm terrified of going to the doctor or dentist. Every SINGLE appointment I've made has resulted in some screwup from Aetna. My first visit to the dentist resulted in a statement claiming that they weren't covering it because I wasn't covered at the time. I had Aetna through work, so obviously I should have been covered. After being given the runaround, I finally got someone to say I should have been covered, and they must have been updating the system while they processed my claim. If updating the system results in non-coverage confusion, then why did they choose that time to review my claim? They said they'd fix the issue and resubmit. I received no less than NINE further statements from them, each ranging my share of the cost anywhere from $0 to $90. Meanwhile the dentist's office wasn't being reimbursed, and I had to make so many more calls.


Insurance USA , USA 5.8 127.0 210 210 Aetnas history is to Deny Deny Deny first until patient dies OR files enough appeals to prove they will not go away.This should be considered illegal and criminal and prosecuted