Aetna is a registered trademark of Aetna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Aetna

Aetna is one of the leaders in health care and dental pharmacy, providing many kinds of long term and care benefits to all the customers. The main aim of the company has always been to provide health and financial benefits to all its clients. Benefits can be provided to all people, with the help of safe and easy access, along with cost effective, high quality health care services to all the customers, in order to protect their finances from the different health related risks. We have a dedicated team of people, who help people in the achievement of health and financial security. There are around 50 states, to which Aetna is said to be providing health related benefits, along with providing them with enough resources so that they are well informed about the health related problems. Our main aim has always been customer satisfaction, with the help of our large number of innovative products, along with health care benefits. Aetna has a rich heritage of 150 years, and will soon be a leader with a large number of doctors, hospitals, patients, and public officials, taking care of the public health system.

Aetna Ratings

  • 1.6
    coverage
  • 2.2
    cost
  • 1.3
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.6
    overall rating

Based on 210 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Health Care
Health and dental plans are often placed under the health care facilities, and are usually offered on a risk basis as well as employer-funded basis. In case of risk basis, the company assumes most of the responsibility, of the health and insurance, whereas in case of employer –funded basis, the sponsor is under an administrative services contract, and assumes majority of this risk.

Group Insurance
Group Insurance refers to a renewable kind of contract, in which the amount that is required to be paid may be fixed or linked to the wage level of the individuals. There is a special kind of insurance that is referred to as a Group disability insurance that provides employee income replacement benefits, for short term as well as long-term benefits. There are many insurance companies that provide long term and custodial care benefits in a nursing home, adult care homes as well as in home settings.

Large Case Pensions
Large Case Pensions are known to be managing many retirement products that are primarily meant to provide you with benefits, and of contribution plans. There are contracts that provide you with non-guaranteed as well as guaranteed investment options, with separate account products. There are many health care products, that are fully insured and self-funded, that includes HMO, PPO, and Pharmacy, Vision, and all the health plans that provide you with reimbursement programs. On 31st March 2006, there Aetna was able to cover as many as 15.4 million medical members. There is also a dental coverage of 13.3 million members, providing insurance against group life and accidental death and personal loss, along with long term and short-term disability.

Aetna Products and Programs:
There are a large number of products and programs that are offered by Aetna, that is mainly aimed at improving the quality of health care, disease management, patient safety programs, and other kinds of information that is related to disability. We provide all our customers, access to a number of health care tools, that are quite easy to understand, and can also help you in making better decisions relating to all your health care and financial well being. We are the first health insurer who forms a consumer dedicated health plan, and continues to lead the way with the help of a number of products that include HAS, HRA and RRA options. All these benefits are provided to our customers in around 50 states, with the products targeted to small mid sized and large multi site national employers.

More About Aetna
Aetna is a diversified, health benefit Company that is known to be providing a large number of traditional and consumer related health products, along with a large number of medical facilities that includes medical, pharmacy, health, group life and long-term medical health. The company had issued its first medical insurance life policy in the year 1850, after thirty years of coming into business. It was in the year 1996 that Aetna merged with US Healthcare, and became one of the eleven companies to be earning a 100% score on the Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index in 2002.This was also maintained in the following years of 2003 and 2004.

Click here to submit your review.

Aetna

Rating 0
    cancel

Dis-enrolled

Jan 14, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I am on my wife's Aetna insurance. It is my secondary insurance. I have my own Medicare policy with AARP United Health Care. Without my authorization, Aetna dis-enrolled me from my AARP policy and enrolled me in their Medicare policy. I found notices from AARP telling me I had no coverage and Aetna telling me I had been enrolled into theirs. I had a doctor's appointment set and had to move it back. I am now out of some of my medications and need a prescription to get them refilled. I tried to get my AARP insurance back only to be told I will have to deal with Medicare directly. I am waiting to hear back from Medicare. I am without insurance and am told it could be a month before anything gets done.


One Out Of Three Claims Approved

Jan 04, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I submitted three medical expenses which are identical other than the names: one is myself, one for wife, and one for my son. Diagnosed with upper respiratory infection, I was given a prescription. One out of the three was paid. The other two were denied. It has been less than six months and each time I call, they just say an item needs clarification and gets resubmitted. It is now getting old. Any suggestions? Maybe someone may know a special number to call for the company that actually get you some real help and action from someone in the company to solve the problem.


Denied Insurance

Dec 21, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I currently have medical insurance under my husbands retirement benefits plan. When he got the renewal for 2013, my insurance went up nearly $400/mo. Because of this steep increase, I inquired with several insurance companies for individual medical insurance. Anthem and Cigna denied to even accept an application I applied with Aetna and worked with an Aetna sales rep during the application process. At no time did the Aetna rep give me the impression they would not cover me even though I had pre-existing conditions. After a lengthy application and an interview with underwriting, I was denied coverage. Needless to say I am now without insurance because I did not re-enroll with Aetna under my husbands retirement plan. Their customer service was rude and denied I was led on believing I would get coverage. DO NOT apply with Aetna for individual coverage and get the same runaround as I got.


won't Provide Adequate Assistance

Dec 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

don't get hit by a car going 80 - 100 MPH and become paralyzed from the waist down. They have moved this patient over 5 times in 3 months. They won't let her get good physical therapy. At one place, they told her she could have an hour PT. Seriously? Now she is somewhere she is really getting help and they want to discontinue it all because she "is not showing progress". How can she when she has skin graphs on the back of her ankles? No one from Aetna has ever even come to see her.


Worthless

Nov 27, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The company has denied bill after bill for tests that are recommended by my doctor.


Poor Experience

Nov 16, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Atena refused to pay for one bill after another - all for basic medical procedures. Customer service and their appeals process were both worthless.


Cancelling

Oct 23, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They did not cover my family like I requested. They claim different prices than what my employer quoted. They also will not answer questions about coverage and price conflicts. Instead they are requesting months of back pay to add family.


Poor Customer Service

Oct 15, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

The customer service is terrible. I'm surprised that since Home Depot, since it is so focused on customer service, would want to be associated with this company.


I Ended Up Sicker

Oct 04, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Aetna is the worst. They deny claims, deny disability, force you into financial ruin. I had Aetna coverage when I had to go on disability. They paid at first, then took it out on me that social security, were slow paying, and dropped me, causing me to lose my home, car, and made my health even worse. They even sent me to their own doctor who blamed Aetna for making me even sicker, and he was surprised I was not in a hospital with a complete breakdown! Aetna didn't care. No attempt to right the wrong, pay me what they caused me to lose in my home and belongings. That was several years ago, and I am still suffering.


Nothing But Denials

Sep 12, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They have all kinds of excuses for not paying your providers' claims. They will show you number of policy bulletins to deny the claim.


Insurance USA , USA 5.8 127.0 210 210 Aetnas history is to Deny Deny Deny first until patient dies OR files enough appeals to prove they will not go away.This should be considered illegal and criminal and prosecuted