Aetna is a registered trademark of Aetna and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Aetna

Aetna is one of the leaders in health care and dental pharmacy, providing many kinds of long term and care benefits to all the customers. The main aim of the company has always been to provide health and financial benefits to all its clients. Benefits can be provided to all people, with the help of safe and easy access, along with cost effective, high quality health care services to all the customers, in order to protect their finances from the different health related risks. We have a dedicated team of people, who help people in the achievement of health and financial security. There are around 50 states, to which Aetna is said to be providing health related benefits, along with providing them with enough resources so that they are well informed about the health related problems. Our main aim has always been customer satisfaction, with the help of our large number of innovative products, along with health care benefits. Aetna has a rich heritage of 150 years, and will soon be a leader with a large number of doctors, hospitals, patients, and public officials, taking care of the public health system.

Aetna Ratings

  • 1.6
    coverage
  • 2.2
    cost
  • 1.3
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.6
    overall rating

Based on 210 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

Health Care
Health and dental plans are often placed under the health care facilities, and are usually offered on a risk basis as well as employer-funded basis. In case of risk basis, the company assumes most of the responsibility, of the health and insurance, whereas in case of employer –funded basis, the sponsor is under an administrative services contract, and assumes majority of this risk.

Group Insurance
Group Insurance refers to a renewable kind of contract, in which the amount that is required to be paid may be fixed or linked to the wage level of the individuals. There is a special kind of insurance that is referred to as a Group disability insurance that provides employee income replacement benefits, for short term as well as long-term benefits. There are many insurance companies that provide long term and custodial care benefits in a nursing home, adult care homes as well as in home settings.

Large Case Pensions
Large Case Pensions are known to be managing many retirement products that are primarily meant to provide you with benefits, and of contribution plans. There are contracts that provide you with non-guaranteed as well as guaranteed investment options, with separate account products. There are many health care products, that are fully insured and self-funded, that includes HMO, PPO, and Pharmacy, Vision, and all the health plans that provide you with reimbursement programs. On 31st March 2006, there Aetna was able to cover as many as 15.4 million medical members. There is also a dental coverage of 13.3 million members, providing insurance against group life and accidental death and personal loss, along with long term and short-term disability.

Aetna Products and Programs:
There are a large number of products and programs that are offered by Aetna, that is mainly aimed at improving the quality of health care, disease management, patient safety programs, and other kinds of information that is related to disability. We provide all our customers, access to a number of health care tools, that are quite easy to understand, and can also help you in making better decisions relating to all your health care and financial well being. We are the first health insurer who forms a consumer dedicated health plan, and continues to lead the way with the help of a number of products that include HAS, HRA and RRA options. All these benefits are provided to our customers in around 50 states, with the products targeted to small mid sized and large multi site national employers.

More About Aetna
Aetna is a diversified, health benefit Company that is known to be providing a large number of traditional and consumer related health products, along with a large number of medical facilities that includes medical, pharmacy, health, group life and long-term medical health. The company had issued its first medical insurance life policy in the year 1850, after thirty years of coming into business. It was in the year 1996 that Aetna merged with US Healthcare, and became one of the eleven companies to be earning a 100% score on the Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index in 2002.This was also maintained in the following years of 2003 and 2004.

Click here to submit your review.

Aetna

Rating 0
    cancel

Aetna is expensive

May 02, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Damn Aetna is expensive! My largest bill isn't my power bill, my car payment, or anything else it's Aetna! It takes nearly 30% of my total paycheck then all the taxes! Then I still have to pay their high deductible. My company doesn't offer anything else but BOY do I wish they did!


Denied Transplant Meds

Apr 18, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My 11-year-old son is a kidney transplant recipient. He requires several medications to stay alive. As is often the case his dosage was changed on one particular medication called Rapamune in April 2013. In speaking with Aetna to arrange for his 60 day refill I learned that our doctor did not relay that change to them. Our doctor's office, upon our request, submitted the change to Aetna. I then followed up with Aetna to confirm that they had received the change when he had about one week of medication remaining. So it was clear to the representative that our need was urgent. We were to receive the med the next day via overnight shipping. No meds arrived, so I called Aetna yet again and elevated my request to a supervisor. The supervisor informed me that it was MY fault for not telling MY doctor to tell Aetna that the order was "stat.". At that time they agreed to transfer the prescription to a local CVS pharmacy. I was made to drive almost 2 hours round-trip out of my way to make up for "MY" mistake. Even worse, when I got the refill I was only allowed to receive 30 days worth. In speaking to Aetna yet again to try to obtain the remaining 30 days of medication I was told that I needed to contact the local CVS pharmacy and tell them to transfer the prescription back to Aetna. Had I not done this the process would have broken down all over again. As an added bonus, I talked to Aetna yesterday and found out that I will not be able to get the next refill until this 30 day supply is consumed. So instead of only having to deal with those idiots every two months, I get to do it again in just one month. Bottom line, Aetna seemingly takes little responsibility for maintaining its own process. And they demonstrated zero interest in customer service, much less compassion, in dealing with a life-or-death situation regarding an 11 year-old boy. Suffice it to say, I am gathering quotes as we speak from other carriers. If the health of your family, especially your children, are important to you, I strongly urge you not to work with Aetna!


Unwilling to Pay

Apr 13, 2013 by Anonymous

Aetna does not pay their claims. I went to an in-network doctor and she sent me for some tests. Aetna refused to pay for the tests. I am stuck paying the bill.


Cherry-Picking Who Gets Coverage

Mar 27, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My nephew, who is 23, had a high-deductible policy with Aetna. They cancelled his insurance for non-payment in spite of the fact that they were not sending bills to any of his past or present addresses. I suspect they simply wanted him off their rolls because he has seen doctors a few times. There is no other logic for how he was treated.


Betrayed

Mar 21, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I liked Aetna...I really did...that\'s before I came down with an autoimmune disease, medicines for which are brand only and my pharmacy benefit covers generic only. There are no generic medicines for my condition and I\'m paying for a pharmacy benefit that will do NOTHING for me. They actually approved coverage for this medicine and I got on it through their specialty pharmacy (they even shipped out a 2-months supply of medicine for me), but then they reneged and are now charging me $4800 per month for medicine. They are not willing to do any overwriting/underwriting on my case (at least this has been the case for 1 month now). Maybe that will change. I have been through the wringer with them, and now I have someone from @Aetnahelp who says they\'re looking into my situation but for 2-3 weeks now they have provided me with no feedback as to what they are doing. The only person from Aetna who gave me a glimmer of hope was some girl named Kristen or Christine.

I feel like I\'m in a weird policy loophole. They need to change their policies to make sense. THERE ARE NO GENERIC MEDICATIONS FOR WHAT I HAVE.


Provider POV

Mar 06, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

As a doctor, I\'m a contracted Aetna provider, and I dread having to call Aetna whenever our patients need pre-determination of benefits, claims assistance, referrals to non-par providers, etc. Their customer service has definitely gone downhill in the last two years. Their representatives used to take the initiative to resolve your problem and were pretty good about getting back to you. Now they just hand the problem off to someone else and nothing gets resolved, let alone paid in a timely fashion due to the errors they make in claims processing. If it weren\'t for those patients I do see who have Aetna as their insurance provider, I would pull my contract and go non-par (and encourage my colleagues to do the same). When my patients who do have Aetna as a health insurance option during open enrollment inquire about this insurer, I try to steer them away.


What "network?"

Mar 05, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

When you live in the Bay Area, you live close to the center of the West Coast medical world. World class doctors are everywhere to be found...except in Aetna\'s so-called \"network.\" A few months ago my dermatologist recommended removal of a squamous cell growth on my hand; she gave me the option of conventional surgery or MOHS, an established procedure that has a lower rate of recurrence and less scarring. She referred me to a doctor who specialized in MOHS. Unfortunately, when I called the physician\'s office I was informed they don\'t take Aetna insurance. Checking the website\'s handy doctor locator program, I couldn\'t find anyone within 25 miles of my home, so I called the company. They had exactly two surgeons who perform MOHS covered in-network and neither had fellowship training, which is critical to me. One was 47 miles away and the other was 38 miles away from my home! More recently, I needed a breast surgeon. In Aetna\'s \"network\" just two breast surgeons take Aetna\'s insurance. If I go out of network, the company will pay just 50% of what THEY consider to be \"reasonable and customary.\" On top of that, the dollars I spend out-of-network do not count toward satisfying my deductible!


Don\'t Pay Their Claims

Mar 02, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Aetna does not pay their claims. I went to an in-network doctor and she sent me for some tests. Aetna refused to pay for the tests. I am stuck paying the bill.


Worst Customer Support

Feb 13, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have been waiting for a claim to get processed for 5 months now. I\'ve called more than 10 times. Every time they said \'wait a week\', but every time nothing has happened. The last time they said there was an error with the claim and that I have to submit it again. Why didn\'t they just said that initially? There are no calls to customers and no emails either. If you want to follow up with your claims, you have to log into their website.


Denied Claims

Jan 18, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have been in severe lower back pain for 15 years and finally decided to try to do something about it. For the past year and a half have tried chiropractic, massage therapy, medication, acupuncture, hot baths, analgesic pain cream, and epidural steroid injections... of which none have helped at all. My doctor said I have a bulging disc at l4/l5 and spondylothesis along with arthritis in my back and heels. Two years ago he had to replace two ruptured discs in my neck. He submitted my present request for surgery and it was denied as not medically necessary. He re-appealed 10 times and all denied. Now we are trying to get me approved for a spinal simulator and I am guessing that will be denied too. I don't understand what else they want.


Insurance USA , USA 5.8 127.0 210 210 Aetnas history is to Deny Deny Deny first until patient dies OR files enough appeals to prove they will not go away.This should be considered illegal and criminal and prosecuted