AAA Insurance is a registered trademark of AAA Insurance and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

AAA Insurance

AAA Insurance Background
The American Automobile Association was founded in 1902, when cars were just starting to become a part of American life. There were originally only 1,000 charter members, and this quickly grew to encompass different local and regional clubs under the AAA umbrella.

AAA Insurance Ratings

  • 2.6
    coverage
  • 2.4
    cost
  • 1.9
    service
  • 1.6
    claims
  • 2.1
    overall rating

Based on 103 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

In 1905, AA began printing the first road maps, and in 1917, it began printing hotel guides. The School Safety Patrol Program was launched in 1920, and it was followed by many other driver safety programs. Over the years, the organization continued to grow and expand across the country. One of its most popular programs is a ratings service for hotels and restaurants nationwide.

AAA Insurance was previously known as The American Automobile Association, a non-profit automobile lobby group and a service organization. The company name was changed to AAA in 1997.

Today, AAA offers many different kinds of services and products, including term life or life, health, homeowners as well as automobile insurance and related travel services such as reservations, car rentals, cruise and airline tickets, towing, maps and directions for trips and more.

AAA also helps you plan your trips, from ground transportation to air or sea tickets to family vacations and business travel. AAA can handle all of the details of your itinerary at the lowest price. With more than 100 years of experience, the company has offices throughout the United States. AAA Insurance also has the AAA Club website, where you enter a zip code and follow the on-screen instructions for further assistance.

AAA provides travel information and services, financial services, car purchasing information, and insurance. In addition, AAA also provides services related to car repairs, financial services such as credit and different kinds of insurance products, including annuity and health insurance.

AAA Insurance takes care of your property and casualty needs, and helps you find the policy that best suits your personal needs. AAA provides you with many options to choose from — from small to high limits, some with limits on deductibles and discounts for safety records.

Click here to submit your review.

AAA Insurance

Rating 0
/ /
    cancel

Incompetent

Oct 15, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My first claim for an accident at home is a nightmare. The adjuster came and saw the damage, took the measurements, and disappeared. he did not even offer me options. Their response was you will get a check in the mail. That check is yet to come. I made the repairs myself, called customer service, claim service, adjuster, adjuster supervisor... nothing.


Low-Ball Offers

Aug 05, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My wife and I have been held vehicle and homeowners insurance with AAA for approximately 3-4 years. Recently we filed our first and only claim. It stems from an accident that Jennifer was involved in and was deemed to be not at fault. I spoke with the total loss specialist assigned to this claim and never received any indication that AAA would be willing to listen to the complaints that I had about the lack of a reasonable offer for our vehicle. My conclusion was that it would cost in the vicinity of $11,500 to replace our vehicle with one of similar mileage, options, engine, condition, etc. I was informed that we were being offered a settlement in the amount of $9,600 (minus our deductible and salvage value until the entire claim was settled between AAA and Geico). I recieved a letter that declares a final settlement value of $9,754.02, minus the deductible. I truly believe that AAA was attempting to make a profit from the accident my wife was in.


Worst Customer Service

Jul 31, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

When I first got AAA insurance I was so excited because it seemed like they had great rates. Then my insurance seemed to rise out of control. I have never received a speeding ticket or been in an accident. They messed up many times by not having the correct address and having my boyfriend on as a primary driver of my car; they did not refund all of my money for their mistake. This is when he had his own insurance and own car. I had the hardest time getting the same person on the phone twice and overall spend hours on the phone trying to correct their mistakes.


Incompetent Total Loss Department

Jul 16, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I totaled a car at the beginning of June. My medical claims adjuster has been fantastic. She even filed my claim for the damage to the car. AAA total loss department called me a month later. I missed the call, tried to call the woman back, and received her voice mail. After leaving two messages and then calling a few times, she answered and rudely told me to stop calling. I was her next call. When she did call me, it only took 15 minutes for her to explain the whole process to me: sign the title (she stressed that all I needed to do was sign it, specifically saying not to write anything else on it), mail it, and they would get the car and issue a check upon receiving the title. A week later someone else calls to say the mileage wasn't on the title, I have to fill out corrective paperwork. The woman assures me my check was already mailed out. The mileage thing is a new policy they found out about on Tuesday. After waiting and receiving nothing, I had a bad feeling and called to find out the exact day the check was mailed. It turns out, the check was never issued! This was because of the mileage. When I tried to explain what I had been told previously the woman interrupts me, says, "I can't help you, I'll transfer you to a claims adjuster." The claims adjuster interrupts me and says that without the mileage she can't issue a check. She gives me the number of the manager. I called the manager, left a message because he didn't answer the phone, and he never called me back. It has been over a month. I gave them the title, they already have the car. I did everything the adjuster initially asked. By the time I receive the correction papers, send them back, and they mail me a check I will have been back to work. Except I don't have a car to drive there!


Do Not Buy Flood Insurance

Jul 06, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Do not buy flood insurance from AAA. My agent was not familiar with National Flood Insurance procedures. He provided me erroneous information. I canceled my policy the same day and have been trying to get my $870 refund. It has almost been a full year.


Horrible Customer Service

May 30, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I called roadside service for the 1st time since becoming a member. I called at 2:30pm and was advised someone will arrive to unlock my vehicle by 4:05pm. I called back at 4:15 to check status and was advised someone will get back to me within 15 min. No call back. 45 min later, I called again and was told someone will get back to me. 1 hour later I try calling again. I kept calling till 7pm and could not get through to any number.


Jacked My Costs

May 16, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I moved my auto and renters policy to AAA as their premium quote was $100 less than my exiting premium and after two months they suddenly increased my premium by $250 without any reason. As per the letter they reviewed my insurance history and they are increasing my premium. There was no change in my driving history. I never had any accident or violation.


Rate increase

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We insured both cars and our home with them. A month later, they started claiming that they had "rated" our home incorrectly, and they were billing us for several hundred dollars. They said they "had" to raise our coverage. Then they refused to issue a refund when we canceled after 6 months. We had paid the entire year of insurance in advance.


Poor Customer Service

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have a truck which was towed by one of their listed vendors. A part broke off my truck while it was being towed. I put in a claim, but it was all for nothing because they said that I could not prove it and so they can't pay me any money for the damages. I had a witness who saw how they handled the tow and a mechanic that has parts to prove there was no way it could break unless forced. My car bill was $2,800+ and what they broke was only a little over $500 but they still chose not to protect me as a client.


Satisifed with Claim

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We switched to AAA in 2007 and had a claim in 2008. AAA was quick, efficient, and did not leave us on hold. Within a week, we were told a portion would be covered and a check was issued. We were reimbursed for the full amount through another source assuming the responsibility for the unfortunate situation, and we were able to reimburse AAA for the money we had received. We wanted to say how impressed we were with the handling of this claim, the caring attitude of its representatives, the quick response and action. We know we made the right move when we switched to AAA.


Insurance USA , USA 8.3 127.0 103 103 Our car was damaged in an accident 250 miles from home on Sept.4 2014. Filed a claim for rental car cost end of Sept 2014. Since January we made MULTIPLE calls to claims center in