POS Health Insurance

There are so many types of health insurance to choose from, it’s no wonder people often feel helpless about it.

At InusranceUSA.com we provide you with thorough and up-to-date information on all types of health insurance.

Typically, health insurance can be divided into two overarching categories: traditional and managed care. These can further be broken down into four basic plan types:

  • Traditional indemnity health insurance; now often called Fee-for-Service (FFS) plans.
  • Preferred Provider Organization or PPO
  • Point-of-Service or POS
  • Health Maintenance Organization HMO

Point of Service

Point of Service (POS) plans are essentially a mixture of the HMO and PPO. Like an HMO you pick a primary care physician but as in a PPO, if you can seek help from any medical professional in or out-of-network and you will still be covered.

POS plans are still managed care resulting in lowered medical costs in return for more limited choices. Point of Service health insurance is sometimes called an open ended HMO or PPO. The major difference though is policyholders are allowed to seek help outside the POS network though there is more of an incentive to choose providers within the network.

Newly enrolled POS member choose a primary care physician (PCP) as they would in other managed care health insurance. From there the doctor becomes the insured’s “point of service” and will refer the insured to other healthcare providers, even if they are not in the provider network.