Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in West Virginia
The West Virginia Compulsory Insurance Law includes motorcycles as well as four-wheeled vehicles. Do yourself a favor and make sure you have adequate liability insurance. Not only is it required under West Virginia law but having proper coverage protects both you and your vehicle from damages resulting from an accident. It also covers loss or damage due to theft or vandalism. Don’t put your financial well-being in jeopardy by driving without insurance or not having enough coverage. It’s just not worth it.

Motorcycle Riding in West Virginia
The state of West Virginia defines a vehicle as a motorcycle when that vehicle is equipped with a seat for the rider and travels with no more than three wheels touching the ground. Farm tractors are excluded.

Driving legally in West Virginia requires all riders to be at least 16 years old and hold an “F” endorsement on their existing West Virginia driver’s license or a Class F motorcycles-only license. Earning an F endorsement added to a driver’s license requires an individual to pass a motorcycle skills test or complete the West Virginia Motorcycle Rider Education Program.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification
  • Must have held a motorcycle instructional permit
  • If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant must complete Level 2 requirements or have a Class E driver’s license
  • Passing grade on the Knowledge and On-cycle skills tests
  • Payment of Fees

Minimum Insurance Requirements in West Virginia
To drive legally in West Virginia, motorcycle operators must carry at least the following minimum amounts of liability coverage:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

West Virginia