Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Virginia
There are many reasons why you should get motorcycle insurance in Virginia. First, it’s required under Virginia State Law. This means that if you are operating a motorcycle without the proper insurance coverage, you are driving illegally. Secondly, there’s an alarming rise in motorcycle accident fatalities in Virginia. Driving a motorcycle demands responsibility from its owner. This includes knowing the rules of the road, operating the vehicle in a safe manner at all times, and purchasing adequate motorcycle insurance. Don’t run the risk of having inadequate insurance or no insurance at all. The consequences, including financial ruin, can be devastating.

Motorcycle Riding in Virginia
Motorcycles are defined in Virginia as:

  • Any motor vehicle with no more than three wheels that touch the ground and has the capability of traveling at a speed of more than 35 miles per hour
  • The following vehicles are not included:
    1. electric powered personal assistive mobility device
    2. electric powered assisted bicycle
    3. tractor
    4. golf cart
    5. moped
    6. motorized skateboard
    7. scooter
    8. utility vehicle or wheelchair or wheelchair conveyance

Like many other states, a class M designation on an existing driver’s license or a motorcycle-only license must be obtained in order to operate a motorcycle legally in Virginia.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • An applicant must be at least 16 years and 3 months of age
  • An applicant under the age of 18 must present a signed parental consent form
  • An individual must hold a motorcycle learner’s permit for at least nine months before applying
  • If an applicant is younger than 19 and does not possess a valid Virginia driver’s license, completion of a state approved motorcycle education program is required
  • Payment of Fees:
    1. Adding class M designation to an existing license costs $2.00 per year
    2. Five-year motorcycle-only license costs $30.00
  • Passing grade on the Vision, Written and Motorcycle Skills Examinations

Applicants who successfully complete a Virginia Rider Training Program are exempt from taking the motorcycle skills test for two years after graduating from the course.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Virginia
To ensure financial responsibility, Virginia requires all motorcycle owners to purchase and maintain liability insurance coverage with the following minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $20,000 for property damage in one accident

Virginia expects motorcycle owners to be able to pay for any and all damages and injuries resulting from an accident in which they are found at fault. Establishing financial responsibility is not limited to buying the traditional liability insurance policy. Other alternatives for insurance procurement include:

  • A Liability Bond
  • A Cash Deposit or Securities
  • Self-insurance Certificate

Motorcycle drivers in Virginia must also carry proof of insurance when operating their vehicles at all times. The consequences of driving without proper insurance coverage are severe: heavy fines and penalties, imprisonment, and in some instances, the suspension of driving privileges.

Virginia