Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Vermont
The state of Vermont offers many amazing and beautiful landscapes for motorcycle enthusiasts. Unfortunately, there has been a steady yearly increase in the number of motorcycle accidents according to research conducted by the National Safety Council of Vermont. Motorcycle insurance offers motorcycle owners financial protection in the event of an accident or other covered event, such as weather-related damage, property damage, vandalism or theft. Vermont, like many other states, requires all motorcycle owners to purchase and maintain adequate liability coverage to legally operate a vehicle on the roadways.

Motorcycle Riding in Vermont
Vermont state law defines a motorcycle as this:

  • Any motor driven vehicle having a seat or saddle for rider’s use and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground
  • A fully enclosed three-wheeled vehicle that touches the ground weighing less than 1,500 pounds and uses electricity as its primary motive power source with the capability of maintaining posted highway speed limits
  • The following vehicles are excluded: golf carts, tractors, electric personal assistive mobility devices, track-driven vehicles, motor-driven cycles, and vehicles wherein the operator and passengers ride within an enclosed cab

A motorcycle endorsement added to a valid state driver’s license is required for all motorcyclists in Vermont. The initial step to receive an endorsement is to apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit. An applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • At least 16 years of age
  • Successful completion of a four-hour Motorcycle Awareness Program in Vermont
  • Pass the written knowledge and vision tests

Finally, prior to receiving the full motorcycle endorsement, an actual motorcycle skills test must be passed.

Motorcycle drivers in Vermont must also carry proof of insurance when operating their vehicles at all times. The consequences of driving without proper insurance coverage are severe: heavy fines and penalties, imprisonment, and in some instances, the suspension of driving privileges.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • At least 16 years old
  • If younger than 18, parental consent must be submitted
  • Must be a valid Vermont operator/commercial driver/junior operator license holder
  • Payment of Fees:
    • $7.00 – for motorcycle learner’s permit
    • $32.00 – for a two-year license with motorcycle endorsement
    • $53.00 – for a four-year license with motorcycle endorsement
  • Pass the Vision test
  • Pass the Written test composed of 25 questions
  • Pass the Motorcycle skills test

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Vermont
Operating a motorcycle legally in Vermont means having adequate liability insurance coverage. The minimum coverage amounts as required by state law are:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Vermont