Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Utah
Many people think motorcycle insurance is a waste of money and just isn’t that important. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, to legally operate a motorcycle in the state of Utah you MUST carry at least the required minimum amount of liability coverage. This is for your protection as well as for the safety of the general public. Motorcycle insurance offers policyholders financial protection in the event of an accident. But it also covers the owner if the motorcycle is ever lost, stolen or damaged. Motorcycles, by design, are lightweight and relatively small- making them easy targets for thieves and vandals. Having adequate insurance can save you needless worry. It also lessens the risk of a financial disaster if you are ever involved in a serious accident. Motorcycle insurance is a real bargain when you consider the alternatives.

According to the Insurance Research Council, nearly 8% of Utah drivers don’t carry the required liability insurance. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. Don’t run the risk of financial ruin by driving without adequate coverage.

Motorcycle Riding in Utah
The term motorcycle under Utah state law is defined as any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle for the rider’s use and which has no more than three wheels that touch the ground during operation. Tractors are excluded.

All motorcyclists must have a motorcycle endorsement added to their driver’s license prior to operating their vehicles. The first step is to acquire a motorcycle learner’s permit which comes with certain restrictions and successfully completing the required vision and written tests. Next, the applicant must pass the motorcycle skills test to receive a valid license endorsement.

Motorcycle drivers in Utah must also carry proof of insurance when operating their vehicles at all times. The consequences of driving without proper insurance coverage are severe: heavy fines and penalties, imprisonment, and in some instances, the suspension of driving privileges.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • At least 16 years of age
  • Parental consent for any applicant under age 18
  • Holders of a valid Utah driver’s license who are applying for a motorcycle endorsement must also submit proof of name and birth date, permanent address, and Social Security number
  • Fees:
    1. $34.50 – for original Utah license with a motorcycle endorsement
    2. $9.50 – for Utah driver’s license holder with motorcycle endorsement added
  • Passing Score on the Vision, Motorcycle knowledge and skills tests

Any motorcycle learner’s permit holder who is under 19 years of age must wait at least two months before taking the skills test to earn a license endorsement. The only exception is when an applicant has successfully completed a Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s Basic Rider Education course.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Utah
Utah requires all motorcycle operators to purchase and maintain an insurance policy with both bodily injury and property damage coverage. The minimum coverage amounts are as follows:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $15,000 for property damage in one accident

Proof of financial responsibility is a pre-requisite prior to vehicle registration in Utah. This proof must be carried by the rider at all times while operating the vehicle. Methods, other than insurance, of proving financial responsibility in Utah include:

  • Liability Bond
  • Deposit of not less than $160,000 in Cash or Securities
  • Self-funded coverage Certificate

Utah