Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Texas
There are only two things you need to legally drive a motorcycle in Texas. One is a motorcycle driver’s license and the other is adequate liability insurance. Both are really important unless you want to find yourself in serious trouble with the law. Many people might think that motorcycle insurance is just a needless expense and doesn’t really matter. But consider these facts. Obviously, no one plans for an accident. But they do happen. And if you’re faced with a damaged or totally wrecked motorcycle, would you be able to repair or replace it out of pocket? Then think about possible injuries. Medical expenses can financially ruin you. The inability to pay medical bills is one of the leading causes of bankruptcy filings in America. Be smart and protect yourself and your assets with Texas motorcycle insurance. You’ll be glad you did.

Motorcycle Riding in Texas

The definition of a motorcycle as outlined by Texas state law is:

  • A motor vehicle equipped with a rider’s saddle with no more than three wheels touching the ground when propelled

A Class M license is mandatory for all motorcyclists in Texas. In order to obtain this license, an applicant must be at least 16 years old and pass the required vision, knowledge, and road tests. Individuals who are only 15 years old may still apply, but anyone who is younger than age 18 years of age must first submit a signed parental consent form. This rule applies to either a permit or license application.

Along with the appropriate operator’s license, the state of Texas requires all riders to carry valid proof of insurance at all times while operating a vehicle.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • At least 16 years of age
  • If under 18, need to submit the following:
    1. Consent from parents
    2. Certificate of Completion of a driver’s education course
    3. Verification of Enrollment and Attendance form
  • Must show proof of the following documentation:
    1. U.S. Citizenship or Legal Resident of United States
    2. Identity and social security number
  • Payment of applicable fees ($31 if younger than 18; $40 if older than 18)
  • Passing grade on the Vision, Written Knowledge and Motorcycle skills tests

For applicants older than 18, the motorcycle skills test can be waived by submitting a certificate of completion from an approved Motorcycle Safety Course.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Texas
To drive legally in Texas, state law requires all owners of motorcycles to have liability insurance with minimum coverage amounts of:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

There are others ways to fulfill these requirements besides purchasing liability coverage from state-licensed insurance companies. These are:

  • A Liability Bond
  • A Deposit of not less than $55,000 in Cash or Securities
  • Self-insurance

Texas