Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Tennessee
It is not surprising that motorcycles have a higher rate of fatal accidents than cars. This is due to the fact that motorcycles are structurally small and subject both drivers and passengers to serious injury. The 2005 data of the Fatality Analysis Reporting System from the U.S. Department of Transportation show that for motorcycles, 75.19 fatal crashes occur per 100,000 vehicles registered. This is almost four times greater than the fatality rate for accidents involving automobiles. Often, other motorists fail to see a motorcycle due to its size which results in a collision. In contrast to larger vehicles, motorcycles are not equipped with the same amount of safety features found in automobiles. This is the primary reason why victims of motorcycle accidents often die at the scene or are left with either a permanent disability or remain in critical condition due to a traumatic brain injury. Tennessee, like most other states, requires all motorcycle owners to carry adequate liability coverage. Having proper insurance can save you needless worry. It also lessens the risk of a financial disaster if you are ever involved in a serious accident. Motorcycle insurance is a real bargain when you consider the alternatives.

Motorcycle Riding in Tennessee
Tennessee law defines a motorcycle as any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle for the rider’s use and traveling with no more than three wheels touching the ground. This also includes three-wheeled fully enclosed vehicles which weigh less than one thousand five hundred pounds and with a capacity to maintain the posted highway speed limits. Motorized bicycles and tractors are excluded.

A class M motorcycle operator license is required to legally operate a motorcycle in Tennessee.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Must be at least16 years old
  • If younger than18, parental consent is required
  • Need to show proof of one of the following:
    1. U.S. Citizenship
    2. Legal status as Permanent Resident
    3. Authorized to stay in the United States
  • Primary and secondary proof of identity
  • Proof of state residency dated within the last four months and showing name and address
  • Social Security Number
  • Payment of $20.50 fee
  • Vision, Knowledge and Motorcycle Skills tests

Individuals who hold a valid Tennessee driver’s license and can submit a certificate of completion from a Tennessee Certified Motorcycle Rider Education Program (MREP) are not required to take the motorcycle written knowledge or skills test in order to receive a motorcycle license.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Tennessee
Tennessee currently requires higher liability minimum coverage amounts for motorcycle owners than most other states. These are:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

Motorcycle operators must carry proof of insurance at all times when driving their vehicles. If you are stopped for any reason by a law enforcement officer and are unable to provide proof of insurance coverage, you may be hit with a hefty fine. If you are found guilty of driving without the proper insurance coverage, you could be sentenced to jail.

Tennessee