Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in South Dakota
Most people don’t give much thought to their insurance coverage until something happens and they need to file a claim. Motorcycle owners are required by the state of South Dakota to carry adequate liability coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle on the road. It’s important to remember that this is for your protection. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance also protects you in case your vehicle is damaged or stolen. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. You may want to look into other types of coverage such as medical payments, no-fault or personal injury protection, and property damage liability.

Motorcycle Riding in South Dakota
The term “motorcycle” in South Dakota includes the following vehicles, excluding tractors:

  • motorcycles, mopeds, motorbikes, bicycles with motor attached
  • all motor operated vehicles: bicycle or tricycle type (whether the motive power is built in or just attached)

In addition, a motorcycle in South Dakota is described as having a saddle or seat for the driver’s use either sitting astride or upon it, or a platform where the driver can stand.

The Division of Motor Vehicles in South Dakota requires motorcycle operator applicants to be at least 14 years of age and pass both vision and knowledge tests to earn their instructional permit. If younger than 18, an applicant must have parental consent. Individuals can only apply for a motorcycle operator’s license once they reach 16 years of age. Every applicant must bring with them proof of valid motorcycle insurance coverage to be able to apply for a license.

Motorcycle License Requirements
Eligibility requirements to obtain an instructional permit are:

  • At least 14 years of age
  • Parental consent for younger than 18
  • $8.00 Permit Fee
  • Vision and Knowledge tests

To obtain a motorcycle license, applicants need to meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 16 years old
  • If younger than 18, signed parental consent must be submitted
  • Must have held a permit for at least 6 months without any traffic violations
  • $8.00 Permit Fee
  • Successfully pass a Vision test, Written Knowledge test and Motorcycle driving test

Minimum Insurance Requirements in South Dakota
In order to operate a motorcycle legally in South Dakota, the state law requires all owners of motorcycles to purchase and maintain liability coverage. The state required minimum amounts are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

Motorcycle owners also have the option of obtaining insurance without the assistance of agents or brokers who sell motorcycle insurance. An owner may prove financial responsibility by completing one of the following transactions:

  • Obtaining a Liability Bond
  • Depositing a cash amount of not less than $25,000 or securities valued at $35,000 with the proper South Dakota agency

South Dakota