Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in South Carolina
Motorcycles generally are subjected to the same insurance standards as automobiles. Nearly every state, including South Carolina, requires motorcycle owners to purchase and maintain a minimum amount of liability coverage to legally operate their vehicles on the road. Adequate motorcycle insurance protects owners by paying for any property damage and resulting medical expenses if there is ever an accident. In addition, motorcycle insurance can protect you and your vehicle from damages incurred from disasters, natural or otherwise, such as theft, vandalism, flood, fire, or falling objects. Don’t risk personal and financial disaster by driving without the proper motorcycle insurance coverage. It’s just not worth it!

Motorcycle Riding in South Carolina
According to the South Carolina Code of Laws, a motorcycle is defined as any vehicle equipped with no more than two functional permanent wheels that touch the ground and equipped with a saddle for the rider (excluding a tractors).

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • At least 15 years of age. Parental consent needed if younger than 18 years of age.
  • Holder of another beginner’s class permit for at least 180 days
  • If younger than 18, PDLA form is necessary bearing the certificate of completion of a driver’s education course, a school attendance which is satisfactory and a 40 hour riding practice including 10 hours of nighttime driving.
  • Certificate of Live Birth and Proof of Residency
  • Social Security Card and Information on Insurance
  • Applicable Fees for Skills test and permit – $4.50, Five-year license – $12.50, Ten-year license – $25.00
  • Written, Vision, and Skills Tests

Minimum Insurance Requirements in South CarolinaSouth Carolina state law requires all motorcycle riders to purchase and retain liability insurance coverage with at least the following minimum amounts:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Individuals may show proof of financial responsibility without purchasing liability insurance from an agent or broker by supplying one of the proof documents below:

  • A Liability Bond
  • A Certificate of Deposit of not less than $35,000 (Cash or Securities)

South Carolina