Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Oregon
Oregon requires anyone who operates a motorcycle to have proper liability insurance. No matter what type of motorcycle you own- a scooter or a full-size cycle- you are required to have adequate liability coverage. In Oregon, motorcycle insurance includes several coverage options and liability insurance is one of the most important. Liability coverage pays for bodily injury and property damage that you might cause in case of vehicular accident. It is hard to imagine the huge amount of expenses that an individual may be faced with in order to pay for medical bills, income loss, and pain and suffering reimbursements without the protection of liability insurance. Don’t run the risk of financial ruin by driving without insurance!

Motorcycle Riding in Oregon
In Oregon, a motorcycle is described as any motorized vehicle, self propelled and equipped with a seat or saddle for the rider, that operates with not more than three wheels touching the ground. Tractors and mopeds are not included.Anyone 16 years of age or older can apply for a motorcycle permit and endorsement issued by the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division. However, a permit is not a pre-requisite for applicants to receive an endorsement. Permit holders are subject to certain restrictions such as no carrying of passengers and only being allowed to drive during daylight hours.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification and Residence
  • Vision test
  • Motorcycle rider education course
  • Breakdown of Fees:
    • Permit: $23.50 with 12 months validity
    • Endorsement: $87 with an Oregon driver’s license
      $144 without an Oregon driver’s license

For minors (under 18 years old), the application form must include the signature of a parent or guardian. You may opt to enroll in an approved rider education course instead of taking the written knowledge and on-cycle skills tests. Completion of a Basic Rider Training course waives both the motorcycle knowledge and skills test. Contact (800) 545-9944 for more course information.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Oregon
In accordance with the State of Oregon law, all motorcycle owners are required to have liability insurance. This coverage pays the other people involved in an accident for damages when you are held legally liable. Oregon requires every liability policy to contain the following minimums:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $20,000 for property damage in one accident

Oregon