Auto Insurance

The state motto of Oregon is:: “She Flies with Her Own Wings.”

Oregon car insurance is something you have to be careful with. Oregon follows the Tort system- meaning that someone has to be proven as guilty before you or the insurance company pays- and, if found guilty, they must pay for all damages done. There may be detail variations regarding the tort system. To better understand Oregon car insurance, check with your state insurance regulator for regulations. For the best rates, you can always visit www.InsuranceUSA.com.

When it comes to Oregon car insurance, the state law for Oregon requires a minimum coverage of $25,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per injured person. It also requires up to a maximum of $50,000 per accident. The minimum state requirement for Property Damage Liability coverage is $10,000. This type of coverage is generally referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.

What happens if you don’t get car insurance in Oregon? Law enforcement officers will ask you for proof of insurance at the time of traffic stops or accidents. Insurance companies notify the department of motor vehicles of all policy cancellations, non-renewals, and new policies. If this is the case with you, the law enforcement officer will know it and it could cause you huge fines or worse. Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your vehicle registration and/or driver license. This can be expensive to the vehicle owner. Be sure that you follow the Oregon car insurance laws!

Although Oregon car insurance does not require a minimum Personal Injury Protection (PIP), there are advantages to having this type of coverage. For example, if you ever have an accident, PIP will pay for your and your passengers’ medical expenses.

Another type of optional coverage you can consider getting is Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This coverage will help pay for any injury resulting from an accident caused by an uninsured driver. You can choose to purchase this added protection, although state law for Oregon car insurance does not require it.

Oregon car insurance is really not that complicated. While many residents in The Beaver State will get their insurance in the traditional way, make sure you compare Oregon car insurance rates from multiple car insurance companies to get the best rate. You can call each car insurance company directly or you can shop for auto insurance online. Shopping for auto insurance online can be faster and more convenient.- you should consider saving money and going to www.InsuranceUSA.com.