Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Oklahoma
Motorcycle insurance is not a choice. Oklahoma law requires that all motorcycle drivers carry adequate insurance coverage to legally drive within the state. Motorcycle insurance is designed to provide owners the coverage they need (financial protection) if they are ever involved in an accident or other covered situation. Basically, it protects a motorcycle and its owner in the event of a loss, theft or damages. Aside from the standard types of coverage usually found in motorcycle policies, such as bodily injury liability, property damage liability, medical payments, collision and comprehensive coverage, insurance companies also offer additional protection packages. Specialized motorcycle insurance can provide coverage options like accessory coverage, total loss replacement, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, motorcycle roadside assistance, rental vehicle coverage, transport trailer coverage, and trip interruption protection.

Motorcycle Riding in Oklahoma
Oklahoma law uses the following criteria to describe a motorcycle:

  • A vehicle with no more than three wheels that touch the ground
  • Equipped with seat or saddle for the rider
  • Supplied with a combustion engine that has a piston displacement of 150 cc
  • Tractors not included

To operate a motorcycle, an Oklahoma resident must possess any one of the following:

  • Class M permit – for applicants who are 14 years old
  • Motorcycle License – for ages 14 through 16 without a regular driver’s license
  • Endorsement – added to an existing Oklahoma driver’s license

Applicants need to study both the Motorcycle Operator’s and Oklahoma Driver’s Manuals.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification and Residence
  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test
  • On-cycle skill test
  • Applicable Fees

Individuals applying for a motorcycle license are required to take two written examinations. The first is the basic exam and the second deals specifically with operating a motorcycle. Both assessments must be passed to receive a motorcycle learner’s permit. This permit is valid for 30 days and allows the rider to operate a motorcycle with specified restrictions. Furthermore, if the permit holder opts to enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course and completes the course successfully, the driving test can be waived.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma
Oklahoma requires all motorcycle owners to purchase and maintain liability insurance to legally operate their vehicles. You must carry at least these minimum amounts:

  • $10,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $20,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Oklahoma