Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in North Carolina
Most people don’t give much thought to their insurance coverage until something happens and they need to file a claim. Motorcycle owners are required by the state of North Carolina to carry adequate liability coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle on the road. It’s important to remember that this is for your protection. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance also protects you in case your vehicle is damaged or stolen. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. You may want to look into other types of coverage such as medical payments, no-fault or personal injury protection, and property damage liability.

Motorcycle Riding in North Carolina
In order to legally operate a motorcycle in North Carolina, all riders are required to have either a motorcycle learner’s permit or an endorsement on their regular driver’s license. The minimum age requirement to apply for a motorcycle permit is 16 years. Those individuals who are between the ages of 16 and 18 must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian to apply. A learner’s permit is valid for one year and can be renewed once for a period of six months. All applicants younger than age 18 are required to complete and pass a motorcycle driving course offered by the North Carolina Motorcycle Education Safety Program or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification and Residence
  • Series of Tests: Vision test, Written knowledge test, On-cycle skill test
  • Applicable Fees ($15 for learner’s permit; $1.75/year for motorcycle endorsement)

Minimum Insurance Requirements in North Carolina
North Carolina requires all motorcycle operators to purchase and maintain an insurance policy with both bodily injury and property damage coverage. The minimum coverage amounts are as follows:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

North Carolina