Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in New Jersey
New Jersey is one of the few states in the country referred to as “No-Fault” state. Under the “No-Fault” insurance system, no matter who is found at-fault for the collision, your insurance company will pay for your medical expenses. New Jersey law requires all motorcycle owners to have liability insurance coverage. Driving a motorcycle demands responsibility from its owner. This includes knowing the rules of the road, operating the vehicle in a safe manner at all times, and purchasing adequate motorcycle insurance. Don’t run the risk of having inadequate insurance or no insurance at all. The consequences, including financial ruin, can be devastating.

Motorcycle Riding in New Jersey
These types of vehicles are considered motorcycles in New Jersey:

  1. Bicycle with an attached motor
  2. Motor bike
  3. Motor-operated vehicle (bicycle or tricycle type)

Furthermore, all of the above vehicles classified as motorcycles must have a saddle, seat, or platform to stand on.Operating a motorcycle legally in New Jersey requires either a motorcycle endorsement added to an existing valid New Jersey driver’s license or a separate motorcycle license. An individual must be at least 17 years old to apply for a motorcycle permit. For applicants who are younger than 18 years of age, successful completion of a Motorcycle Safety Education Program Basic Rider Course is required.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Proof of Identification and Residence
  • Vision, Written and On-motorcycle skills tests
  • $5 Permit Fee

Before receiving a motorcycle license endorsement, applicants must also obtain a motorcycle permit and have at least 20 days of actual riding practice. During the official road skills test, all applicants must bring their own registered and insured motorcycle, an approved safety helmet, and protective eyewear.

The written knowledge and road tests can be waived for any person who has successfully completed the Motorcycle Safety Education Program Basic Rider Course which is certified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. This Basic Rider Course is widely offered at more than 15 New Jersey locations. Once the course is completed, applicants must bring a stamped waiver form and completion card to any driver’s testing center to receive their motorcycle license endorsement.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in New Jersey
Unlike other states, New Jersey law requires all vehicle owners to have three types of insurance. These are liability insurance which pays others for damages you’ve caused, personal injury protection which pays for your medical expenses, and uninsured motorist coverage which protects you if the other driver involved in the accident does not have adequate insurance. The required minimums for liability coverage are:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $5,000 for property damage in one accident

New Jersey