Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Mississippi
Many people think motorcycle insurance is a waste of money and just isn’t that important. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, to legally operate a motorcycle in the state of Mississippi you MUST carry at least the required minimum amount of liability coverage. This is for your protection as well as for the safety of the general public. Motorcycle insurance offers policyholders financial protection in the event of an accident. But it also covers the owner if the motorcycle is ever lost, stolen or damaged. Motorcycles, by design, are lightweight and relatively small- making them easy targets for thieves and vandals. Having adequate insurance can save you needless worry. It also lessens the risk of a financial disaster if you are ever involved in a serious accident. Motorcycle insurance is a real bargain when you consider the alternatives.

Motorcycle Riding in Mississippi
Upon payment of the applicable fee, applicants are required to pass both the written and actual driving skills test to earn a Mississippi motorcycle endorsement. Both tests can be waived if the individual already holds a valid motorcycle endorsement from another state. All applicants must present an inspection sticker and proof of insurance prior to taking the road skills test.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Valid Mississippi driver’s license
  • Written and Road skills test
  • Payment of $14 fee
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Motorcycle Registration

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Mississippi

To legally operate a motorcycle in Mississippi, state law requires all owners to purchase liability insurance for at least these minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $25,000 for property damage in one accident

Mississippi law also requires drivers to provide evidence of their financial responsibility at all times. A person can establish proof of financial responsibility by showing any one of the following:

  • Proof of minimum liability insurance – issued by a state approved insurance company.
  • Surety bond – same amounts as the minimum liability coverage but issued by a state-approved surety company.
  • A Cash or Security deposit – deposited with the state department and equal to the amount of the required minimum liability coverage.

Mississippi