Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Michigan
Motorcycles are undeniably a pleasure to drive. But given their relative light weight and small size, an accident involving a motorcycle can cause serious injury and damage to both the driver and the vehicle. For this reason, it is extremely important to drive safely at all times and to have adequate motorcycle insurance coverage. The National Safety Council of Michigan conducted a study which revealed that one person is seriously injured in a motorcycle-related accident every fourteen seconds. With odds like that, motorcycle insurance seems like a really good bet!

Michigan differs from most other states in that it doesn’t officially classify a motorcycle as a “motor vehicle”. This means that motorcycles are exempt from the legal requirement to purchase no-fault PIP insurance coverage. When Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is normally obtained (for automobiles and trucks, for example) it pays for medical expenses related to an accident, rehabilitation, lost wages, and other expenditures.

Motorcycle Riding in Michigan
A “CY” motorcycle endorsement in Michigan is the designation of a valid driver’s license. All applicants who are 16 or 17 years old must complete a motorcycle safety training course. Applicants older than 18 years of age may forego the motorcycle rider safety course except for those who did not pass the skills test twice. In these cases, the applicant can obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit provided that he or she passed both the vision and motorcycle knowledge tests. A Temporary Instruction Permit is valid for 180 days and comes with restrictions on night time driving and the carrying of passengers. Holders of Temporary Instructional Permits are allowed to drive if accompanied and supervised by a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 18 years old.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Valid Michigan Driver’s license
  • Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificate or Skills test
  • Written Knowledge and Vision tests
  • Endorsement Fee of $13.50

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Michigan
The required basic insurance for a motorcyclist in Michigan is liability coverage. According to the state’s “No-Fault” law, there must be at least these minimum coverage amounts:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Motorcycle insurance in Michigan operates under a system called No-Fault insurance. This simply means that insurance will not cover all damages and injuries regardless of who is at fault.

Michigan