Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Louisiana
Most people don’t give much thought to their insurance coverage until something happens and they need to file a claim. Motorcycle owners are required by the state of Louisiana to carry adequate liability coverage in order to legally operate a vehicle on the road. It’s important to remember that this is for your protection. If you are involved in an accident and have no insurance coverage, it can be devastating financially. And this doesn’t even take into account if there are serious injuries involved. Motorcycle insurance also protects you in case your vehicle is damaged or stolen. Motorcycle insurance coverage includes collision coverage, comprehensive physical damage coverage, accessories coverage, and bodily injury liability. You may want to look into other types of coverage such as medical payments, no-fault or personal injury protection, and property damage liability.

Motorcycle Riding in Louisiana
In Louisiana, a motorcycle is defined as:

  • Two-wheeled vehicle
  • Motor-driven cycles that can travel more than 1.5 brake horsepower
  • Has an engine capacity of more than 50 cc
  • Has the ability to go faster than 25 mph

In addition, the state of Louisiana recognizes motorcycles, motorized bicycles like mopeds higher than 5 horsepower, and motor driven cycles under one endorsement (M). A valid regular driver’s license or learner’s permit is a pre-requisite to obtain a motorcycle endorsement.

There is also an additional restriction for learner’s permit holders. This includes: any applicant who is 15 of 16 years of age may only drive within three miles distance from his or her residence or three miles away from the parent or guardian’s place of residence.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Valid Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License
  • Motorcycle Road Rules Examination
  • Pass the Skills Test ( with at least an 80% score)
  • Present registered motorcycle with up to date insurance and inspection sticker
  • Motorcycle approved safety helmet

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Louisiana
Louisiana requires all motorcycle operators to purchase and maintain an insurance policy with both bodily injury and property damage coverage. The minimum coverage amounts are as follows:

  • $10,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $20,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

Louisiana