Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Idaho
There are only two things you need to legally drive a motorcycle in Idaho. One is a motorcycle driver’s license and the other is adequate liability insurance. Both are really important unless you want to find yourself in serious trouble with the law. Many people might think that motorcycle insurance is just a needless expense and doesn’t really matter. But consider these facts. Obviously, no one plans for an accident. But they do happen. And if you’re faced with a damaged or totally wrecked motorcycle, would you be able to repair or replace it out of pocket? Then think about possible injuries. Medical expenses can financially ruin you. The inability to pay medical bills is one of the leading causes of bankruptcy filings in America. Be smart and protect yourself and your assets with Idaho motorcycle insurance. You’ll be glad you did.

Motorcycle Riding in Idaho
Idaho requires applicants for a motorcycle license to be at least 21 years old. This process requires passing a written knowledge and motorcycle skills test. Individuals who are below 21 years of age may apply for a license after completing an approved motorcycle rider training course. Successful completion of this course may lead to the waiving of the motorcycle skills test if done within one year of when you apply for the motorcycle license.

Idaho law describes a motorcycle as any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle and no more than three wheels excluding tractors, motor-driven cycles, mopeds and motorbikes.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Written knowledge and Motorcycle Skills test
  • Title
  • Registration
  • Class D driver’s license
  • Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards labeling
  • Training course (if under 21)
  • Payment of applicable exam fees

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Idaho
To drive legally in Idaho, state law requires all owners of motorcycles to have liability insurance with minimum coverage amounts of:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $15,000 for property damage in one accident

Idaho